Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize updated

Helen & Kurt Wolff
Translator's Prize

We are delighted to announce the 2024 Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize. Established in 1996 and newly funded by the Friends of Goethe New York, the Prize honors an outstanding literary translation from German into English published in the USA the previous year. The prizewinning translator receives $5,000 as well as a fully funded trip to the Frankfurt Book Fair.


The following titles, all published in the USA or Canada in 2023, were submitted for consideration for this year's Wolff Translator's Prize:

How to submit?

The 2024 Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize is now open for submissions. Please complete our Online Submission Form in order to submit a book. The deadline for submitting a completed application was March 31, 2024. 

Publishers in the USA and Canada are invited to submit five copies of a published translation from the German language into English for consideration. The translation must have been published (not only distributed) in the USA or Canada in 2023.

Past Prizewinners

25 Years Wolff Prize

Shelley Frisch, jury chair of the Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize, reflects on the 25 year history of the prize in 2021, its significance to literature in translation, and its role in honoring the Wolff family’s extraordinary legacy in publishing.

Alexander Wolff, grandson of Kurt Wolff and author of Endpapers: A Family Story of Books, War, Escape, and Home, elucidates his grandfather's perennial undertaking to establish himself as a publisher on both sides of the Atlantic.

About Helen & Kurt Wolff

Kurt Wolff, joined later by his wife Helen, was one of the most outstanding and innovative publishers in Germany of the 1920s. Helen and Kurt Wolff immigrated to New York in 1941, and founded Pantheon Books, a publishing house devoted mainly to the translation of German and other European literature.


Dean Whiteside
Translation Grant Program Liaison

Goethe-Institut New York
30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Our Partners

Frankfurter Buchmesse logo

Consulate General Germany New York

Goethe-Institut Photo: Loredana La Rocca

Translation Grant Program

The Goethe-Institut’s grant program “Translations of German Books into Other Languages” supports non-German publishers in publishing German-language literature, with the aim of making accessible to non-German speaking readers current works of contemporary literature, literature for children and young people, important academic titles and non-fiction works.

Gutekunst Prize FOG updated

Gutekunst Prize

The Gutekunst Prize of the Friends of Goethe New York is open to college students and to all translators under the age of 35 who, at the time the prize is awarded, have not yet published, nor are under contract for, a book-length translation.