Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

Concerthall Beethoven

Mon, 03/09/2020

12:00 PM

Goethe-Institut Chicago

3rd Concert 2020

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Kirill Petrenko
Soloist: Daniel Barenboim

Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C minor, op. 37

Daniel Barenboim piano

Josef Suk
Symphony No. 2 in C minor, op. 27 “Asrael”

In his Third Piano Concerto, Beethoven knew how to stage the pianist (himself) triumphantly. For after 111 orchestral bars, the piano begins with an imperial demonstration of power, as the soloist measures the entire keyboard in three attempts, then chisels the main theme - forte and unisono - into the keys: a manual act of strength of piled up octaves, followed immediately by a self-contained piano reflection.
After the break, the Second Symphony - Asrael - by the Czech composer Joseph Suk, whose orchestral works Kirill Petrenko included in his repertoire early on, is on the program. Suk, pupil and son-in-law of Antonín Dvořák, became one of the most important Czech composers of the dawning modern age.