Future Young Entrepreneurs 2016 The Future starts today – a startup-project for students

PYE Key Visual
© Goethe-Institut

An app that prepares for surviving the jungle, a web portal to find schoolbooks in second hand bookshops, a bike lock that can be closed and opened with a fingerprint: The startup-project „Future Young Entrepreneurs“ trained students aged 15-18 from India, Indonesia, Malawi, the Netherlands, Romania, Vietnam and Germany in the basic skills of entrepreneurship. The preparatory phase included workshops about design thinking, how to draw up business plans, on intercultural business communication and the rhetorical art of the elevator pitch. “The elevator pitch required students to present their start-up idea to a jury in just two minutes as if they were talking during a quick ride on a lift”, explains project manager Irle.
 
Between November 2015 and March 2016 national pitching competitions took place. The two best teams of each country were chosen to continue their journey to the international finals in Berlin in September 2016. Vietnam sent in the teams Lunat and Jurvival. Both teams came up with an app, one for fashion and one for digital learning about nature. The ten power-girls from the Olympia Schools in Hanoi prevailed their brilliant startup-ideas with success: The team Jurvival made it with their digital learning game to second place worldwide. Their app makes users capable of surviving in the jungle while also conveying lots of facts about the ecology of the Asian country. “We spend up to eight hours a day using smart phones and tablets”, explains pupil Nguyen Thao Nguyen. “Why not use this time wisely?” The third place prize went to a team from Bambino Private Secondary School in Malawi. They want to spread knowledge about their homeland with the Cedar Cultural Center. The first place was awarded to a team from New Delhi whose PeekaBook web portal won over the jury. PeekaBook helps pupils of little means find the schoolbooks they need in second hand bookshops.

The pitches were evaluated by an expert jury of three consisting of Cosima Stahr, manager of the United Nations SEED program promoting entrepreneurship for sustainable development, Anabel Ternès, professor of e-business at the SRH Academy in Berlin and Felix Scharf, business innovation manager at Volkswagen AG. The aspects they assessed included whether the business idea solves an existing problem in a creative way, whether it fulfils sustainability criteria, how it handles existing resources and, of course, whether the business plan is viable.
 
The project’s focus was, however, neither on competitiveness nor on the prospects of profits from the pupils’ projects. Instead, it was on multilingualism and associated professional mobility, in other words the future prospects of the participants from around the world and their contemporaries.

In cooperation with
Olympia Schools


Co-funded by
Erasmus+ Program

Future Young Entrepreneurs 2016 Die Zukunft beginnt heute – Ein Startup-Projekt für Schüler

PYE Key Visual
© Goethe-Institut

Eine App, die einen für das Leben in der Wildnis trainiert, ein Webportal, um Second-Hand-Läden für Schulbücher ausfindig zu machen, ein Fahrradschloss, das per Fingerabdruck geschlossen und geöffnet werden kann: Im Startup-Projekt „Future Young Entrepreneurs“ erwarben Schüler zwischen 15 und 18 Jahren aus Indien, Indonesien, Malawi, den Niederlanden, Rumänien, Vietnam und Deutschland die Grundlagen des Unternehmerseins. Zur Vorbereitungsphase gehörten Workshops zum Thema Design Thinking, zur Erstellung von Geschäftsplänen, interkultureller Geschäftskommunikation sowie zur rhetorischen Kunst des Elevator Pitches. „Beim Elevator-Pitch müssen die Schüler ihre Startup-Idee in nur zwei Minuten vor einer Jury präsentieren. Wie bei einem Gespräch im Fahrstuhl“, erklärt Projektleiterin Miriam Irle.

Zwischen November 2015 und März 2016 fanden nationale Pitching-Wettbewerbe statt. In Vietnam qualifizierten sich die Teams Lunat mit einer Fashion- und Jurvival mit einer Spiele-App für das internationale Finale in Berlin. Die 10 Power-Schülerinnen der Olympia Schools traten im September 2016 in Berlin gegen die zwölf Gewinnerteams der anderen sechs Länder an. Mit Erfolg: Das Team Jurvival erreichte mit einer App, die den Nutzer auf das Überleben im Dschungel vorbereiten soll, den zweiten Platz. „Bis zu acht Stunden täglich verbringen wir mit Smartphones und Tablets“, stellte die Schülerin Nguyen Thao Nguyen fest. Ihre App soll dazu beitragen, diese Zeit sinnvoll zu nutzen und Wissen über die Natur und die Ökologie Vietnams zu erwerben. Den dritten Platz belegte eine Gruppe der Bambino Private Secondary School aus Malawi, die mit dem Cedar Cultural Center zu einem breiteren Wissen über ihre Heimat beitragen will. Über den ersten Platz schließlich durfte sich ein Team aus Neu Delhi freuen, dessen Webportal PeekaBook die Jury begeistern konnte. PeekaBook hilft Schülern und Studenten mit wenig Geld, in Second-Hand-Buchläden das benötigte Lehrmaterial ausfindig zu machen.

Bewertet wurden die Pitches in Berlin von einer dreiköpfigen Fachjury, bestehend aus Cosima Stahr, Managerin des SEED-Programms der Vereinten Nationen zur Förderung nachhaltigen Unternehmertums, Anabel Ternès, unter anderem Professorin für E-Business an der SRH Hochschule Berlin sowie Felix Scharf, Business Innovation Manager bei der Volkswagen AG. Unter anderem schauten sie darauf, ob die Geschäftsidee auf kreative Weise ein bestehendes Problem löst, ob sie Kriterien der Nachhaltigkeit erfüllt, wie mit vorhandenen Ressourcen umgegangen wird – und natürlich, ob der Businessplan sich umsetzen ließe.
 
Der Fokus des Projektes „Future Young Entrepreneurs“ lag dabei allerdings weder auf dem Konkurrenzgedanken, noch auf dem Profitversprechen der entwickelten Vorhaben. Vielmehr standen die Mehrsprachigkeit und die damit verbundene berufliche Mobilität, sprich die Zukunftsperspektive der Beteiligten aus aller Welt und ihrer Altersgenossen im Vordergrund. 
 
In Kooperation mit
Olympia Schools


Ko-finanziert
Erasmus+ Program