Translation grant
Translation Funding Programme

We seek to give international readers access to contemporary German-language fiction, non-fiction, and books for children and young adults. Since its inception nearly 50 years ago, our funding programme has provided financial support for the publication of roughly 6,000 books in 45 different languages.

A young woman working on her laptop © Goethe-Institut

Conditions of Funding

foreign publishers interested in translating German-language books

If your request is approved, we reimburse the publisher for part of the translation fees after publication of the translation. The programme focuses on current fiction, comics, books for children and young adults, and non-fiction books on current social issues.

  • Publishers abroad are eligible to apply for funding for translations of works by German-language authors that have already been published in German by a publisher
  • The translation must be from the German-language original.
  • The grant agreement must be concluded before the translation goes to press so that the printed book can include mention of the Goethe-Institut’s patronage and the Goethe-Institut logo.
  • The translations to be funded are selected by a six-person panel made up of two literary critics, one staffer from the copyrights & licensing department of a different publisher each year, and three staffers from the Goethe-Institut’s Literature & Translation Funding Division.
  • We award a grant to cover part of the translation fees after publication of the translation. However, we do not cover the translation fees in full or the costs of licensing, editing or printing the translation.
  • The foreign publisher must mention the Goethe-Institut’s patronage and print the Goethe-Institut logo on the copyright page – failing which, the grant will not be paid.
  • The amount of the grant will be based only on fees paid to the translator(s) before or upon publication of the translation.
  • We would like to make translations that also come out as e-books available for registered users to borrow from our Onleihe. The foreign publisher undertakes to provide us with the translation in EPUB format.

  • Licensing agreement with the rights holders
  • Contract with the translator
  • PDF of the German book or text
Additional information required: For further information about eligibility, applying and funding:

Please apply in German or English via the Goethe-Institut’s applications portal. The publisher must create an account on the portal before submitting a first application. When creating your account, select the user account type “Organisation/enterprise” and not “Individual person”.

We recommend starting the application process as early as possible. The applications portal will save your information as you go, so you can complete the form at any time before submitting the application.

If you have any questions about pending applications, please quote the application number you received upon submission.

Next application deadline

1 June 2022 for translations going to press in September 2022 or later

Our calls for proposals are open for a one-month period four times a year, with closing dates on 1 March, 1 June, 15 September and 1 December.

Further information

The Goethe-Institut logo for imprint in funded translations:
   
Currently funded translations
​​​​​​​

Übersetzungsförderung
Übersetzungsförderungsprogramm

Wir möchten einem internationalen Publikum den Zugang zu deutschsprachiger Gegenwartsliteratur, Sachbüchern und Büchern für Kinder und Jugendliche erleichtern. Unser Förderprogramm hat seit seiner Gründung vor fast 50 Jahren die Veröffentlichung von rund 6.000 Büchern in 45 Sprachen finanziell unterstützt.  

Eine junge Frau arbeitet am Laptop. © Goethe-Institut

Förderbedingungen

ausländische Verlage, die deutschsprachige Bücher übersetzen möchten 

Im Fall einer Bewilligung erstatten wir dem Verlag nach Erscheinen der Übersetzung einen Anteil der Übersetzungskosten. Den Schwerpunkt des Programms bilden aktuelle Belletristik, Comics, Kinder- und Jugendliteratur sowie Sachbücher zu aktuellen gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen.  

  • Bewerben können sich Verlage aus dem Ausland für Werke deutschsprachiger Autor*innen, die bereits bei einem Verlag publiziert sind 
  • Die Übersetzung muss aus dem deutschsprachigen Original erfolgen 
  • Das Projekt darf sich zum Zeitpunkt des Abschlusses des Fördervertrags noch nicht im Stadium der Drucklegung befinden, damit das Goethe-Institut als Förderer im Buch genannt werden und das Logo des Goethe-Instituts abgedruckt werden kann. 
  • Die Auswahl der zu fördernden Übersetzungen wird von einer sechsköpfigen Jury getroffen, die sich aus zwei Literaturkritiker*innen, einem/einer jährlich wechselnden Verlagsmitarbeiter*in aus dem Bereich Rechte & Lizenzen sowie drei Mitarbeiter*innen des Bereichs Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung des Goethe-Instituts zusammensetzt. 
  • Wir zahlen einen Zuschuss zu den Übersetzungskosten nach Erscheinen der fremdsprachigen Ausgabe. Eine vollständige Übernahme der Übersetzungskosten sowie die Finanzierung von Lizenz-, Druck- oder Redaktionskosten sind nicht vorgesehen. 
  • Der ausländische Verlag ist verpflichtet, im Impressum das Goethe-Institut als Förderer zu nennen und das Logo des Goethe-Instituts abzudrucken. (Sollte er dies versäumen, wird die Fördersumme nicht ausgezahlt.) 
  • Für die Festlegung der Fördersumme können nur Honorare herangezogen werden, die die Übersetzer*innen spätestens bei Erscheinen der Übersetzung ausgezahlt bekommen. 
  • Übersetzungen, die auch als E-Book erscheinen, möchten wir in unserer Onleihe für angemeldete Nutzer*innen zur Ausleihe zur Verfügung stellen. Der ausländische Verlag verpflichtet sich, uns die Übersetzung im EPUB-Format zur Verfügung zu stellen.  

  • Lizenzvertrag mit dem Rechteinhaber 
  • Vertrag mit dem Übersetzer oder der Übersetzerin
  • PDF des deutschen Buches oder Textes
Zusätzlich notwendige Angaben:
 Weitere Informationen zu Förderkriterien, Bewerbung und Förderung:  

Bitte bewerben Sie sich über das Goethe-Antragsportal, die Bewerbung ist in deutscher oder englischer Sprache möglich.  Vor Einreichen des ersten Antrags muss der antragsstellende Verlag einen Account erstellen. Wenn Sie den Account erstellen, bitte wählen Sie dabei einen Account für Organisationen / Unternehmen und nicht den Account für Individualpersonen. 
Wir empfehlen, mit dem Antragsprozess frühzeitig zu beginnen. Das Bewerbungsportal speichert Ihre Angaben, die Sie vor Absenden des Antrags jederzeit ergänzen können.   
 
Bitte geben Sie bei Fragen zu laufenden Anträgen Ihre Antragsnummer an, die Sie nach Absenden der Bewerbung erhalten.  
 

Nächster Bewerbungsschluss

15. September 2022 für Übersetzungen, die frühestens im Dezember 2022 in Druck gehen
 
Bewerbungen sind viermal jährlich jeweils einen Monat lang möglich, mit Einsendeschluss am 1. März, 1. Juni, 15. September und 1. Dezember. 

Weitere Informationen