World / Stage Dramaturges’ Paradise

Maria Milisavljević, Susanna Fournier, Zainabu Jallo, Santiago Sanguinetti und Pat To Yan.
Maria Milisavljević, Susanna Fournier, Zainabu Jallo, Santiago Sanguinetti und Pat To Yan. | Photo: Konrad Fersterer

Five young playwrights from different continents came together for an entire season to develop plays. They tell of opening and closing oneself, of the differences and the in-between spaces that make encounters possible in the first place. This summer, all of the works, which have been translated into German with the support of the Goethe-Institut, will premier at the Marstall in Munich.

What happens when you bring authors from different continents together for a conversation? How do these five people, all between the ages of 30 and 40, react to each other? And what perceptions of the present-day coalesce from the different perspectives of Susanna Fournier from Canada, Zainabu Jallo from Nigeria, Maria Milisavljevic from Germany, Santiago Sanguinetti from Uruguay and Pat To Yan from Hong Kong?

Maria Milisavljević, Santiago Sanguinetti and Pat To Yan at the writing workshop. Maria Milisavljević, Santiago Sanguinetti and Pat To Yan at the writing workshop. | Photo: Konrad Fersterer

The right chemistry

“The whole thing is like a chemistry experiment,” says Sebastian Huber, chief dramaturge at Munich’s Residenztheater. “At first we weren’t so sure: Will there be any reaction at all? Or are the differences perhaps too big?” A kick-off workshop in November 2017 eliminated any doubts. It soon proved it was the right chemistry. The playwrights had arrived with outlines and first drafts of plays. In their discussions about them, similarities quickly became apparent.

“Inside or outside? We and the unknown!” These are the extremes that he and his colleagues worked with, explains Pat To Yan. Depending on their origin, the topic has a different sense of urgency. In Hong Kong, for example, Pat To Yan fights censorship, which strictly limits his growth. So it’s not surprising that at the Munich Residenztheater he feels as if he were in a dramaturges’ paradise. Zainabu Jallo from Nigeria contributes a very tangible picture of the plights that drive people to risk their lives to cross borders. Of course, it’s not without irony and is very telling about our present that borders emerged as a connecting theme. In the work process, this bitter realisation certainly formed a solid foundation that the writers could build upon together.

At the world/stage work meeting. At the world/stage work meeting. | Photo: Konrad Fersterer

The authors had time to write their plays until March 2018. The Goethe-Institut arranged to have them translated into German. Then the directorial teams joined in to rehearse the plays with the ensemble of the Residenztheater. Together they fine-tuned the dramaturgy and dialogues. In the early summer, rehearsals finally began.

Wars, crises, apocalyptic outlook

Pat To Yan’s Bis ans Ende ihrer Tage (To the End of Their Days), for example, tells the story of a pair of siblings who, after an unspecified disaster, stray into a restricted zone. Susanna Fournier adapted the myth of Antigone, and in Auf ewig unser Gestern (Forever Our Yesterday), Maria Milisavljevic composed a symphony of voices with "in which the boundaries blur between the present and the past, home-comers and home-seekers."

Taken together, the result is a profoundly grim picture of this world: wars, crises, apocalyptic outlook. "Sure, that’s uncomfortable for the audience," says Zainabu Jallo, but thinking about the state of the world is the prerequisite for changing anything. "And," adds Maria Milisavljevic, "we write beyond the end!" Theatre can’t change the world, "but it can give space to ideas that reality stifles."

Scene from "Antigone lebt" (Antigone lives). Scene from "Antigone lebt" (Antigone lives). | Photo: Konrad Fersterer In the encounter with such ideas, the theatre offers a utopian space. But it also enables encounters between people in the real and tangible sense. This is especially true of the Welt / Bühne (World / Stage) project: First it gathered theatre-makers from all over the world in Munich. Now they create a new melange with the local audience. The experiment continues. What energies will this encounter process release? We’ll see.

Welt / Bühne Im Paradies der Dramaturgen

Maria Milisavljević, Susanna Fournier, Zainabu Jallo, Santiago Sanguinetti und Pat To Yan
Maria Milisavljević, Susanna Fournier, Zainabu Jallo, Santiago Sanguinetti und Pat To Yan | Foto: Konrad Fersterer

Fünf junge Autoren und Autorinnen aus verschiedenen Kontinenten sind für eine gesamte Spielzeit zusammengekommen und haben gemeinsam Stücke entwickelt. Sie erzählen vom Sich-Öffnen, Sich-Verschließen, von den Unterschieden und den Zwischenräumen, die eine Begegnung erst ermöglichen. Diesen Sommer werden alle Werke, die durch Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts ins Deutsche übersetzt wurden, im Münchner Marstall uraufgeführt.

Was passiert, wenn man Autorinnen und Autoren von verschiedenen Erdteilen miteinander ins Gespräch bringt? Wie reagieren diese fünf Menschen, alle im Alter zwischen 30 und 40 Jahren, aufeinander? Und welche Perspektive auf die Gegenwart puzzelt sich da zusammen, aus den unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen von Susanna Fournier aus Kanada, Zainabu Jallo aus Nigeria, Maria Milisavljević aus Deutschland, Santiago Sanguinetti aus Uruguay und Pat To Yan aus Hongkong?

Maria Milisavljević, Santiago Sanguinetti und Pat To Yan in der Schreibwerkstatt Maria Milisavljević, Santiago Sanguinetti und Pat To Yan in der Schreibwerkstatt | Foto: Konrad Fersterer

Die Chemie stimmt

„Das Ganze gleicht einem chemischen Experiment“, sagt Sebastian Huber, Chefdramaturg am Münchner Residenztheater. „Anfangs waren wir uns gar nicht sicher: Kommt es überhaupt zu einer Reaktion? Oder sind die Unterschiede womöglich zu groß?“ Ein Auftakt-Workshop im November 2017 beseitigte alle Zweifel. Schnell erwies sich: Die Chemie stimmt. Die Dramatikerinnen und Dramatiker waren mit Stückskizzen und ersten Entwürfen angereist. Im Austausch darüber zeichneten sich rasch Gemeinsamkeiten ab.
 
„Drinnen oder draußen? Wir und das Fremde!“, das seien die Gegensätze, an denen er und seine Kolleginnen und Kollegen sich abarbeiteten, erklärt Pat To Yan. Wobei das Thema, je nach Herkunft, unterschiedliche Dringlichkeit hat. In Hongkong etwa kämpft Pat To Yan mit der Zensur, die seiner Entfaltung enge Grenzen setzt. Kein Wunder also, dass er sich am Münchner Residenztheater so fühlt, als wäre er im Paradies der Dramaturgen. Die Nigerianerin Zainabu Jallo bringt ein sehr konkretes Bild von der Not mit, die Menschen dazu bewegt, ihr Leben aufs Spiel zu setzen, um Grenzen zu überwinden. Dass sich Grenzen als verbindendes Thema herausstellten, ist natürlich nicht ohne Ironie und erzählt viel über unsere Gegenwart. Im Arbeitsprozess bildete diese bittere Erkenntnis freilich eine tragfähige Basis, auf der sich gemeinsam aufbauen ließ.

Beim Welt/Bühne Arbeitstreffen Beim Welt/Bühne Arbeitstreffen | Foto: Konrad Fersterer

Bis März 2018 hatten die Autoren und Autorinnen Zeit, ihre Texte auszuarbeiten. Das Goethe-Institut sorgte für die Übersetzungen ins Deutsche. Dann stießen die Regie-Teams dazu, um die Stücke mit dem Ensemble des Residenztheaters einzustudieren. Gemeinsam wurde noch einmal an Dramaturgie und Dialogen gefeilt. Im Frühsommer schließlich starteten die Proben. 

Kriege, Krisen, Endzeitstimmung

Pat To Yans „Bis ans Ende ihrer Tage“ etwa erzählt von einem Geschwisterpaar, das nach einer nicht näher definierten Katastrophe durch eine Sperrzone irrt. Susanna Fournier hat den Antigone-Mythos überschrieben und Maria Milisavljević mit „Auf ewig unser Gestern“ eine Stimmensinfonie komponiert, in der die Grenzen zwischen Gegenwart und Vergangenheit, Heimkehrern und Heimatsuchern verschwimmen.

 Zusammengenommen ergibt das ein reichlich düsteres Bild dieser Welt: Kriege, Krisen, Endzeitstimmung. „Klar ist das ungemütlich für die Zuschauer“, findet Zainabu Jallo, aber das Nachdenken über den Zustand der Welt sei nun mal die Voraussetzung dafür, etwas daran zu ändern. „Und“, ergänzt Maria Milisavljević, „wir schreiben über das Ende hinaus!“ Theater könne die Welt nicht verändern, „aber es kann Ideen Raum geben, die die Realität erstickt.“

Szene aus „antigone lebt“ Szene aus „antigone lebt“ | Foto: Konrad Fersterer In der Begegnung mit solchen Ideen öffnet das Theater einen utopischen Raum. Real und konkret ermöglicht es aber auch die Begegnung von Menschen. Für das Projekt „Welt / Bühne“ gilt das in besonderem Maße: Erst versammelte es Theatermacher aus aller Welt in München. Nun gehen die mit dem Publikum vor Ort eine neue Gemengelage ein. Das Experiment geht weiter. Welche Energien setzt dieser Begegnungsprozess frei? Ausgang offen.