The Power of Reproduction Printed graphics in the land of the gauchos

Helena Kanaan’s performance piece “Ritidomas,” performed by Augustē, Bela Leindecker, Maria Galant, Sandro Aliprandini
Helena Kanaan’s performance piece “Ritidomas,” performed by Augustē, Bela Leindecker, Maria Galant, Sandro Aliprandini | Photo: Fabio Alt

The Power of Reproduction, a project by the Goethe-Institut Porto Alegre, invites visitors to undertake an artistic and theoretical examination of today’s concept of duplication. Now fourteen German and Brazilian artists are exploring various facets of replication in the digital age at the Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul.

It is no coincidence that the work of artist Thomas Kilpper is positioned at the centre of the large exhibition hall of Porto Alegre’s Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul, considering that it is the most reminiscent of what printed graphics are commonly understood to be. On a waving banner, red capital letters on a green and red background spell out the motto “Another world is necessary.” In between we recognise portraits of people from contemporary history: the former US President Lyndon B Johnson or the Brazilian environmental activist José Lutzenberger.

Kilpper carved the scenery into the parquet floor of the Brazilian artist’s residence Vila Flores and “printed” the picture with his own feet on a canvas over it.  

The lobby of the Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul The lobby of the Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul | Photo: Fabio Alt

Presence and absence

The nine Brazilian and five German artists that Gregor Jansen, director of the Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, assembled in the art museum in southern Brazil under the title O Poder da Multiplicação – The Power of Reproduction show that artistic reproduction is far from limited to classic techniques such as woodblock printing or etching.
 
German artist Hanna Hennenkemper sprinkles the old tools on her printing plates with resin dust to give the impression of an archaeological artefact. Regina Silveira, the Grande Dame of Brazilian art, interweaves traditional graphic techniques with newer industrial printing techniques such as offset, heliography and microfilm to address questions of light and shade, presence and absence, power and domination.

The exhibition at the Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul The exhibition at the Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul | Photo: Fabio Alt

Political aspirations

How strongly duplication technologies are still associated with political aspirations is demonstrated by the works of the Brazilian artist Xadalu. He commemorates the indigenous community, oppressed for centuries by the Portuguese colonisers, with the silkscreen-printed head of a Guarani, which he has posted all over Porto Alegre. A group of Guarani with whom Xadalu regularly collaborates contributed a colourful musical performance to the packed opening of the show on Tuesday night.
 
At first glance, Porto Alegre seems to be an unusual choice of venue. The metropolis of four million inhabitants is the capital of the Brazilian state of Rio Grande do Azul, which is considered the land of the gauchos. But printed graphics have been produced in Rio Grande do Sul ever since the mid-nineteenth century. Initiated by the German immigrants, many printing clubs emerged here in the 1950s that became the model for similar initiatives for collective artistic work throughout South America.

Gregor Jansen conversing with the artist Hélio Fervenza Gregor Jansen conversing with the artist Hélio Fervenza | Photo: Fabio Alt

The future of reproduction in the digital age

The exhibition is a continuation of the project The Power of Printmaking, with which the Goethe-Institut Porto Alegro presented historical positions of Brazilian printing art from 1960 to 2015 two years ago. With The Power of Reproduction, the discourse now opens into the present-day. “We want to discuss the future of reproduction in the digital age,” institute director Marina Ludemann says, explaining the motivation behind her ambitious long-term project on the locally rather unknown shared cultural heritage of Germany and Brazil.
 
“That which withers in the age of mechanical reproduction is the aura of the work of art.” This statement by Walter Benjamin in his famous essay “The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction” has not proven true. Otherwise, art lovers would not continue to forms queues in front of the real Mona Lisa in the Louvre in Paris.

In front of the work “TB – Early Birds AR” by Tim Berresheim In front of the work “TB – Early Birds AR” by Tim Berresheim | Photo: Fabio Alt In Porto Alegre, the artist Tim Berresheim demonstrates that a reproductive technology can also develop its very own aura. Using complicated calculations, he transferred his 2012 series of drawings “The Early Birds” to a three-dimensional image space that can be controlled using an app. If you stand in front of the large wall in the central exhibition hall wearing 3-D glasses viewing the beak of one of the huge birds, you might think you see the “strange web of space and time” that fascinated Benjamin in his day.

Die Macht der Vervielfältigung Druckgrafik im Land der Gauchos

Helena Kanaans Performance „Ritidomas“, aufgeführt von Augustē, Bela Leindecker, Maria Galant, Sandro Aliprandini
Helena Kanaans Performance „Ritidomas“, aufgeführt von Augustē, Bela Leindecker, Maria Galant, Sandro Aliprandini | Foto: Fabio Alt

Das Projekt „Die Macht der Vervielfältigung“ des Goethe-Instituts Porto Alegre lädt zu einer künstlerischen und kunsttheoretischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem heutigen Begriff der Reproduktion ein. Nun beleuchten 14 deutsche und brasilianische Künstlerinnen und Künstler im Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul verschiedene Facetten der Vervielfältigung im digitalen Zeitalter.

Es ist kein Zufall, dass die Arbeit des Künstlers Thomas Kilpper im Zentrum der großen Ausstellungshalle von Porto Alegres Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul steht. Erinnert sie doch am ehesten an das, was gemeinhin unter Druckgrafik verstanden wird: In roten Großbuchstaben auf einem wehenden Banner zieht sich das Motto „Another world is necessary“ über eine grün-rote Bildfläche. Dazwischen sind Porträts von Personen der Zeitgeschichte zu erkennen: der ehemalige US-Präsident Lyndon B. Johnson etwa oder der brasilianische Umweltaktivist José Lutzenberger.

Kilpper schnitzte die Szenerie in den Parkettfußboden der brasilianischen Künstlerresidenz Vila Flores und „druckte“ das Bild mit den eigenen Füßen auf eine darüber gelegte Leinwand.  

Die Eingangshalle des Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul Die Eingangshalle des Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul | Foto: Fabio Alt

Anwesenheit und Abwesenheit

Die neun brasilianischen und fünf deutschen Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die Gregor Jansen, Direktor der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, unter dem Titel „O Poder da Multiplicação - Die Macht der Vervielfältigung“ in dem Kunstmuseum im Süden Brasiliens versammelt hat, zeigen, dass sich künstlerische Reproduktion längst nicht mehr auf die klassischen Techniken wie Holzdruck oder Radierung beschränkt.

Die deutsche Künstlerin Hanna Hennenkemper beregnet ihre mit alten Werkzeugen belegten Druckplatten mit Harzstaub, um den Eindruck eines archäologischen Artefakts zu erwecken. Regina Silveira, die Grande Dame der brasilianischen Kunst, kreuzt traditionelle Grafik-Techniken mit neueren, industriellen Druckverfahren wie Offset, Heliografie oder Mikrofilm, um Fragen von Licht und Schatten, Anwesenheit und Abwesenheit, Macht und Herrschaft zu thematisieren.

Die Ausstellung im Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul Die Ausstellung im Museu de Arte do Rio Grande do Sul | Foto: Fabio Alt

Ein politischer Anspruch

Wie stark mit den Reproduktionstechniken immer noch ein politischer Anspruch verbunden ist, zeigen die Arbeiten des brasilianischen Künstlers Xadalu. Mit dem im Siebdruck-Verfahren hergestellten Kopf eines Guarani, den er überall in Porto Alegre plakatiert hat, will er an die jahrhundertelang von den portugiesischen Kolonisatoren unterdrückte, indigene Gemeinschaft erinnern. Eine Gruppe Guarani, mit denen Xadalu regelmäßig zusammenarbeitet, steuerte eine farbenprächtige Musikperformance zu der übervollen Eröffnung der Schau am Dienstagabend bei.

Porto Alegre erscheint als Veranstaltungsort auf den ersten Blick ungewöhnlich. Der brasilianische Bundesstaat Rio Grande do Azul, dessen Hauptstadt die Metropole mit vier Millionen Einwohnern ist, gilt als Land der Gauchos, wie die Cowboys hier heißen. Seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts gibt es aber auch Druckgrafik in Rio Grande do Sul. Angestoßen durch die deutschen Einwanderer entstanden hier in den fünfziger Jahren viele Druckclubs, die zum Vorbild ähnlicher Initiativen für kollektives künstlerisches Arbeiten in ganz Südamerika wurden.

Gregor Jansen im Gespräch mit dem Künstler Hélio Fervenza Gregor Jansen im Gespräch mit dem Künstler Hélio Fervenza | Foto: Fabio Alt

Die Zukunft der Reproduktion im digitalen Zeitalter

Die Ausstellung führt das Projekt „The Power of Printmaking“ weiter, mit dem das Goethe-Institut Porto Alegro vor zwei Jahren historische Positionen der brasilianischen Druckkunst von 1960-2015 präsentiert hatte. Mit „Die Macht der Vervielfältigung“ schließt der Diskurs nun in die Gegenwart auf. „Wir wollen die Zukunft der Reproduktion im digitalen Zeitalter diskutieren“, erklärt Institutsleiterin Marina Ludemann die Motive hinter ihrem ambitionierten Langzeitprojekt über das hierzulande eher unbekannte, gemeinsame kulturelle Erbe zwischen Deutschland und Brasilien.

„Was im Zeitalter der technischen Reproduzierbarkeit des Kunstwerks verkümmert, das ist seine Aura.“ Die Feststellung Walter Benjamins in seinem berühmtem Aufsatz „Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner Reproduzierbarkeit“ hat sich nicht bewahrheitet. Sonst würden die Kunstfreunde nicht weiter Schlange vor der echten Mona Lisa im Pariser Louvre stehen.

Vor der Arbeit „TB – Early Birds AR“ von Tim Berresheim Vor der Arbeit „TB – Early Birds AR“ von Tim Berresheim | Foto: Fabio Alt Und dass auch die Reproduktionstechnik eine ganz eigene Aura entwickeln kann, zeigt in Porto Alegre der Künstler Tim Berresheim. Er hat seine Serie von Zeichnungen „The Early Birds“ von 2012 mit Hilfe komplizierter Berechnungen in einen dreidimensionalen Bildraum überführt, den man mit einer App ansteuern kann. Wenn man vor der großen Wand der zentralen Ausstellungshalle hinter der 3-D-Brille den Schnabel eines der riesigen Vögel vor Augen hat, meint man, das „sonderbare Gespinst aus Raum und Zeit“ zu sehen, das schon Benjamin faszinierte.