“Enter Africa” – Megagame-Workshop Gamify your City-Future!

Participants of the Megagame-Workshop in Addis Abeba
Participants of the Megagame-Workshop in Addis Abeba | Photo: Kirsten Juchem

“Welcome to Africa’s Future” were the words welcoming participants from 15 African countries to a workshop at the Goethe-Institut in Addis Abeba. The goal of the week: developing a game together. The focus was on the question of how to actively anticipate the transformation of African megacities. 

Can gaming and gamification enable new forms of participation? Are game mechanics a useful tool for designing future scenarios for our cities?

This was to be found out on the Megagame-Workshop. The workshop is part of “Enter Africa”, a two-years project, which fosters analogue and digital game development in Sub-Saharan Africa. 15 Goethe-Instituts thereby empower young people to actively anticipate the transformation of African megacities in the context of globalization and digitalization as well as the consequences of this development for identities and cultures. After each of the teams has created a location-based app game that deals with a specific challenge of their cities - supported by the two experience designers Bethlehem Anteneh and Dagmawi Bedilu – they have now come together for the first time to incorporate their visions and ideas in one game.

Games on pollution and resource management

Intercultural exchange and the search for common topics were particularly important during the workshop. An international evening, which saw the newly founded “Enter Africa” band perform songs from all corners of the African continent, illustrated the diversity and commonalities of the participating countries. Other examples were objects, which participants brought to present their countries: In that context, different variants of a bean game came from Ghana, Rwanda and Uganda. Overlaps also exist between the topics of the location-based games: They address challenges, such as pollution and resource management, transportation and infrastructure, identity and cultural questions, but also innovation capacity and creativity of urban African youths.

Music from all over Africa Music from all over Africa | Photo: Bemnet Fekadu

A game from 15 African countries  

Finding connecting elements and a common ground between them through a democratic, participatory process was a crucial step in the creation of the megagame. At the same time, the participants were in contact with their teams at home to involve them in the decisions. What became obvious was how much the participants feel the urge to talk about and convey African issues in a positive way – which approach would be better-suited for this than a game that involves people from so many African countries in the development process?

The story of the Megagame takes shape The story of the Megagame takes shape | Photo: Janne Lilkendey

Together for the Megagame

Towards the end of the workshop, the narrative structure of the megagame became more and more tangible: Fictional kingdoms trade with their resources. They open or enforce their borders and play out their specific powers in order to build strong cultures. Thereby, the players can find out, which forms of cooperation can lead to a livable and successful society. Valuable input on game mechanics came from Christoph Deeg, a gaming expert from Germany who has been part of the project for the last year. What represents randomness, what a strategic choice for the players? What are the incentives for collaboration or competition – or even sabotage? The ideas were transferred into a first prototype with the help of Steven Tu from South Africa, who has been chosen as the designer of the megagame, and who quickly created a first version of the board and cards.

The Megagame is to be presented in 2019 at the A Maze Festival in Berlin The Megagame is to be presented in 2019 at the A Maze Festival in Berlin | Photo: Bemnet Fekadu

„I never felt more African“

Now, apart from the location-based games, the megagame will be further developed so that it will be ready for launch at the A Maze Festival in Berlin as well as the Gamescom in Cologne in 2019. On top of that, the megagame and the 15 location-based games will be presented at different occasions across the African continent throughout the next year. Beyond that, the “Enter Africa” network shall grow together in the future. “I never felt more African”, said one of the participants during the workshop – summarizing what the initiators of the project wished for regarding ownership and participation.
 
Participating institutes include:
Accra/Ghana, Addis Abeba/Ethiopia, Kampala/Uganda, Daressalam/Tansania, Kigali/Rwanda, Windhoek/Namibia, Johannesburg/South Africa, Nairobi/Kenya, Ouagadougou/Burkina Faso, Kinshasa/ DRC, Lomé/Togo, Abidjan/Côte d’Ivoire, Dakar/Senegal, Yaoundé/Cameroon, Lagos/Nigeria

„Enter Africa” – Megagame-Workshop Das Spiel der Zukunft

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Megagame-Workshop in Addis Abeba
Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Megagame-Workshop in Addis Abeba | Foto: Kirsten Juchem

„Welcome to Africa’s Future” – mit diesen Worten begrüßte das Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus 15 afrikanischen Ländern zu einem siebentägigen Workshop, um gemeinsam ein Spiel zu entwickeln. Im Mittelpunkt stand die Frage, wie sich der Wandel afrikanischer Megastädte aktiv gestalten lässt.

Können Gaming und Gamification neue Formen der Partizipation ermöglichen? Sind Spielmechaniken ein hilfreiches Werkzeug, um Zukunftsszenarien für unsere Städte zu entwerfen?

Dies galt es auf dem Megagame-Workshop herauszufinden. Der Workshop ist Teil von „Enter Africa“, einem zweijährigen Projekt, das analoge und digitale Spieleentwicklung in Subsahara-Afrika fördert. 15 Goethe-Institute ermöglichen damit jungen Menschen, sich durch Spiele aktiv mit der Transformation afrikanischer Megastädte auseinanderzusetzen. Welche Konsequenzen haben diese Entwicklungen im Kontext der Globalisierung und Digitalisierung für Kulturen? Nachdem die Länderteams bisher ortsbezogene Spiele für ihre Städte entwickelt haben, sind sie jetzt zum ersten Mal zusammengekommen, um ihre Visionen und Ideen in einem Gesamtspiel zu bündeln. Unterstützung kam dabei von den beiden Experience Designern Bethlehem Anteneh und Dagmawi Bedilu aus Äthiopien.

Spiele zu Umweltverschmutzung und Ressourcenmanagement

Der interkulturelle Austausch und die Suche nach gemeinsamen Themen waren während des Workshops besonders wichtig. Vor allem ein internationaler Abend, an dem eine neugegründete „Enter Africa“-Band Lieder aus allen Himmelsrichtungen des afrikanischen Kontinents darbrachte, verdeutlichte die Diversität, aber auch die Gemeinsamkeiten der beteiligten Länder. Diese spiegelten sich auch in Objekten wider, die die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer mitgebracht hatten. Dabei wurden verschiedene Varianten des Bohnenspiels sowohl aus Ghana als auch aus Ruanda und Uganda präsentiert. Weitere Überschneidungen zeigten sich in den ortsbezogenen Spielen: Alle thematisieren Herausforderungen wie Umweltverschmutzung und Ressourcenmanagement, Verkehr und Infrastruktur, aber auch Identitätsfragen, kulturelle Aspekte und die Kreativität junger Afrikanerinnen und Afrikaner.

Musik aus allen Himmelsrichtungen Musik aus allen Himmelsrichtungen | Foto: Bemnet Fekadu

Ein Spiel aus 15 afrikanischen Ländern

Diese Ideen in einem demokratischen Prozess zu einem Narrativ für das Megagame zu vereinen, war eine der großen Herausforderungen von „Enter Africa“. Dabei wurde besonders das Bedürfnis deutlich, afrikanische Themen auf positive Weise zu vermitteln. Und welcher Weg eignet sich dafür besser als ein Spiel, an dem Menschen aus vielen afrikanischen Ländern zusammenarbeiten?

Die Story des Megagames nimmt Gestalt an Die Story des Megagames nimmt Gestalt an | Foto: Janne Lilkendey

Gemeinsam zum Megagame

Zum Ende des Workshops wurde die Story des Megagames immer konkreter: Fiktive Königreiche handeln in dem Spiel mit ihren Ressourcen. Sie öffnen oder verstärken ihre Grenzen, um schließlich starke Kulturen aufzubauen. So erproben die Spielerinnen und Spieler die Frage, welche Formen der Kooperation zu einer lebenswerten, erfolgreichen Gesellschaft führen können. Wertvolle Hinweise hinsichtlich der Spielmechaniken kamen von Christoph Deeg, einem Gaming-Experten aus Deutschland, der das Projekt seit einem Jahr begleitet. Welche Spielzüge sind zufällig, wann können die Spieler strategisch entscheiden? Diese Mechaniken wurden von Steven Tu aus Südafrika, der als Designer des Megagames ausgewählt wurde, in einen ersten Prototyp des Spiels übersetzt – der getestet und verbessert werden konnte.

Das Megagame soll 2019 auf dem A MAZE. Festival in Berlin präsentiert werden Das Megagame soll 2019 auf dem A MAZE. Festival in Berlin präsentiert werden | Foto: Bemnet Fekadu

„I never felt more African“

Nun wird neben den ortsbezogenen Spielen auch das Megagame weiterentwickelt, damit es 2019 auf dem A MAZE. Festival in Berlin und der Gamescom in Köln vorgestellt werden kann. Außerdem werden die Spiele zu verschiedenen Festivals auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent präsentiert. Das „Enter Africa“-Netzwerk soll darüber hinaus bestehen bleiben und weiter zusammenwachsen. „I never felt more African“, sagte einer der Teilnehmer während des Workshops – er fasste damit zusammen, was sich die Initiatorinnen des Projekts im Hinblick auf Ownership und Partizipation gewünscht hatten. 
 
Beteiligte Goethe-Institute sind:
Accra/Ghana, Addis Abeba/Äthiopien, Kampala/Uganda, Daressalam/Tansania, Kigali/Ruanda, Windhoek/Namibia, Johannesburg/Südafrika, Nairobi/Kenia, Ouagadougou/Burkina Faso, Kinshasa/ DRC, Lomé/Togo, Abidjan/Elfenbeinküste, Dakar/Senegal, Yaoundé/Kamerun, Lagos/Nigeria