“bauhaus imaginista” in New Delhi A thorough education

The symposium in New Delhi explores the Bauhau’s to educational movements in the Indian subcontinent.
The symposium in New Delhi explores the Bauhau’s to educational movements in the Indian subcontinent. | Photo: Tribhuwan Sharma

The symposium "Moving Away - Bauhaus Pedagogy" in New Delhi focused on Bauhaus pedagogy and its connection to other important educational concepts of the 20th century. With the involvement of local research, experts dealt with art, design and architecture on the Indian subcontinent.

The first Bauhaus exhibition didn’t take place in Germany, but in Calcutta, India, in 1922. That year, works by Bauhaus masters such as Paul Klee and Johannes Itten were shown beside artists of the Bengal School, including Nandalal Bose and Gaganendranath Tagore, who at the time were developing an Indian modernism that turned away from representational art making and Western colonial models alike. Some of these Bengali artists were affiliated with Rabindranath Tagore’s experimental school in Shantiniketan, which was founded the same year as the Bauhaus, in 1919.

The topic of Bauhaus Pedagogy attracts an interested audience to the symposium in New Delhi The topic of Bauhaus Pedagogy attracts an interested audience to the symposium in New Delhi | Photo: Tribhuwan Sharma

Pedagogy at the focus of Bauhaus research

In early December, the interdisciplinary project ‘Bauhaus Imaginista’ hosted a symposium in New Delhi exploring the Bauhau’s links to educational movements in the Indian subcontinent. ‘How can you take a transnational view of the Bauhaus and its legacy?’ This was the question asked by Grant Watson, artistic co-director of ‘Bauhaus Imaginista’, in his opening remarks at the symposium ‘Moving Away: Bauhaus Pedagogy’ in New Delhi. The symposium featured international art historians, designers, artists and educators reflecting upon the Bauhaus’s relationship to South Asian education, architecture and design. In her introductory remarks, art historian Kathleen James Chakraborty noted that the next wave of innovation in Bauhaus related research will focus above all on pedagogy – the way in which educators fostered their ideas to subsequent generations of students.

Exchange between the participants at the symposium "Moving Away - Bauhaus Pedagogy" Exchange between the participants at the symposium "Moving Away - Bauhaus Pedagogy" | Photo: Tribhuwan Sharma

Against Western colonial models 

The symposium focused on three schools in the Indian subcontinent that had links to the Bauhaus: Kala Bhavan Skantiniketan, a school founded – like the Bauhaus – in 1919, by the polymath Bengali poet and educator Rabindranath Tagore, the MSU Baroda and the National Institute of Design (NDI) in Ahmedabad. Anshuman Dasgupta, a researcher and professor based in Skantiniketan, explored the history of intellectual, political and artistic exchanges at Kala Bhavan Skantiniketan. Dasgupta quoted a 1921 letter from Tagore to William Rothenstein, a British artist and arts administrator who spent time in India, in which Tagore accounts for the idea that led to Kala Bhavan. Tagore wrote: ‘I made use of a western word, university… but I shall not allow his idea to be pinned to word like a dead butterfly in a foreign museum’. Indian art historian Geeta Kapur, a giant of Indian art history, responded to these histories with an account of Indian artist Kalpathi Ganpathi Subramanyan. Reading Tagore’s exchange with Mahatma Gandhi, Kapoor examined their attempts to wrestle an autonomous, intellectual Indian art history detached from Western-influenced colonial models.

Experts examine various educational institutions and their concepts Experts examine various educational institutions and their concepts | Photo: Tribhuwan Sharma

Bauhaus Pedagogy still alive

Later, the symposium took a turn to focus on current practices of design, urbanism and architecture, showing how this diverse spectrum of ideas finds its way into practice today. Speakers included the NDI’s former chairman of education S. Balaram, and two former NDI students, well-known Indian fashion and textile designers David Abraham and Mayank Mansingh Kaul. The day concluded with the architecture and urbanism research of Kazi Khaleed Ashraf and Saif Ul Haquefrom. Each showed how Bauhaus teachings, and their cosmopolitan reality, are well alive today.

„bauhaus imaginista“ in New Delhi Alles zugleich bedarf der gründlichen Bildung

Das Symposium in New Delhi thematisiert die Beziehung zwischen der Bauhauslehre und anderen Bildungskonzepten auf dem indischen Subkontinent
Das Symposium in New Delhi thematisiert die Beziehung zwischen der Bauhauslehre und anderen Bildungskonzepten auf dem indischen Subkontinent | Foto: Tribhuwan Sharma

Auf dem Symposium „Moving Away – Bauhaus-Pädagogik“ in New Delhi stand die Bauhaus-Pädagogik und deren Verbindung zu anderen bedeutenden Bildungskonzepten des 20. Jahrhunderts im Zentrum der Diskussion. Unter Einbeziehung lokaler Forschung befassten sich Expertinnen und Experten mit der Kunst-, Gestaltungs- und Architekturlehre auf dem indischen Subkontinent.

Die erste Bauhaus-Ausstellung fand nicht in Deutschland, sondern 1922 in Kalkutta, Indien, statt. Im gleichen Jahr wurden Werke von Bauhaus-Meistern wie Paul Klee und Johannes Itten neben Künstlern der bengalischen Schule gezeigt. Darunter Nandalal Bose und Gaganendranath Tagore, die damals eine indische Moderne entwickelten, die sich sowohl vom gegenständlichen Kunstschaffen als auch von westlichen Kolonialmodellen abgrenzte. Einige der bengalischen Künstler schlossen sich der experimentellen Schule von Rabindranath Tagore in Shantiniketan an, die 1919 im selben Jahr wie das Bauhaus gegründet wurde. 

Das Thema Bauhaus-Pädagogik lockt ein interessiertes Publikum zum Symposium in New Delhi Das Thema Bauhaus-Pädagogik lockt ein interessiertes Publikum zum Symposium in New Delhi | Foto: Tribhuwan Sharma

Die Pädagogik im Zentrum der Bauhaus-Forschung

Anfang Dezember fand im Rahmen des Großprojekts „bauhaus imaginista“ ein Symposium in New Delhi statt, das die Beziehungen zwischen der Bauhaus-Pädagogik und anderen Bildungskonzepten auf dem indischen Subkontinent untersuchte. „Wie gelingt uns ein transnationaler Blick auf Bauhaus und sein Vermächtnis?“ Mit dieser Frage eröffnete Grant Watson, Kurator von „bauhaus imaginista“, seine Rede auf dem Symposium „Moving Away: Bauhaus-Pädagogik“. An dem Symposium nahmen internationale Kunsthistoriker, Designerinnen, Künstler und Pädagoginnen teil, die über das Verhältnis von Bauhaus zur südasiatischen Bildung, zu Architektur und Design diskutierten. Die Kunsthistorikerin Kathleen James Chakraborty vertrat die Ansicht, dass sich der künftige Diskurs in der Bauhaus-Forschung vor allem der Pädagogik widmen werde – die Art und Weise, wie Pädagogen ihre Ideen an nachfolgende Generationen von Studierenden weitergegeben haben.

Austausch zwischen den Teilnehmenden auf dem Symposium „Moving Away – Bauhaus-Pädagogik“ Austausch zwischen den Teilnehmenden auf dem Symposium „Moving Away – Bauhaus-Pädagogik“ | Foto: Tribhuwan Sharma

Entgegen westlicher Kolonialmodelle

Im Mittelpunkt des Symposiums standen drei Schulen des indischen Subkontinents, die Verbindungen zum Bauhaus aufzeigten: Kala Bhavan Skantiniketan, eine Schule, die 1919 - wie das Bauhaus - vom bengalischen Dichter und Pädagogen Rabindranath Tagore gegründet wurde; die Maharaja Sayajirao University in Baroda (MSU) und das National Institute of Design (NDI) in Ahmedabad. Anshuman Dasgupta, Forscher und Professor aus Skantiniketan, beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte des intellektuellen, politischen und künstlerischen Austauschs in Kala Bhavan Skantiniketan. Dasgupta zitierte hierzu aus einem Brief von Tagore an William Rothenstein – ein britischer Künstler und Kunstadministrator, der einige Zeit in Indien verbrachte – in dem er seine Idee der Kala Bhavan Schule erläutert: „I made use of a western word, university … but I shall not allow its idea to be pinned to word like a dead butterfly in a foreign museum.“ Die indische Kunsthistorikerin Geeta Kapur, eine Koryphäe auf ihrem Gebiet, ergänzte dies mit einer Arbeit des indischen Künstlers Kalpathi Ganpathi Subramanyan. Indem sie aus der Korrespondenz zwischen Tagore und Mahatma Gandhi vorlas, stellte Kapur das Ringen der beiden Gelehrten um eine autonome, intellektuelle indische Kunstgeschichte losgelöst von westlich geprägten, kolonialen Modellen dar.

Expertinnen und Experten nehmen verschiedene Bildungsinstitutionen und deren Konzepte unter die Lupe Expertinnen und Experten nehmen verschiedene Bildungsinstitutionen und deren Konzepte unter die Lupe | Foto: Tribhuwan Sharma

Bauhauslehre noch immer lebendig

Zum Schluss konzentrierte sich das Symposium auf aktuelle Praktiken von Design, Urbanismus und Architektur und zeigte auf, wie diese vielfältigen Ideen ihren Weg in heutige Methoden gefunden haben. Zu den Referenten gehörten der ehemalige Bildungsvorsitzende des NDI, Singanapalli Balaram, sowie zwei ehemalige NDI-Studenten, David Abraham und Mayank Mansingh Kaul, bekannte indische Mode- und Textildesigner. Der Tag endete mit der Architektur- und Städtebauforschung von Kazi Khaleed Ashraf und Saif Ul Haquefefrom. Sie alle zeigten eindrücklich, wie lebendig die Bauhauslehre und ihre kosmopolitische Realität heute noch ist.