Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“J Art Call Center”
Art on Call

Artists and journalists during phone calls at “J Art Call Center”.
Artists and journalists during phone calls at “J Art Call Center”. | Photo (detail): © Masahiro Hasunuma

At the semi-annual meeting of the Deutscher Bühnenverein (German Theatre Association), around 60 directors of German theatres and orchestras reconsidered the question of where and how they should position themselves in times of political upheaval. The Goethe-Institut Tokyo also took up the topic and discussed it as part of its series “theater anders denken – a new look at theatre”.

By Goethe-Institut Tokyo

The background to the discussion is the closure of part of the Aichi Triennale, the largest Japanese art triennial in Nagoya, in August 2019, where the safety of employees and visitors could no longer be guaranteed due to threats of violence. These threats were directed against the presentation of previously censored works in a special exhibition, for example a work on Japan’s responsibility for war and a sculpture about the “comfort women,” Korean women who were forced to serve as prostitutes for Japanese soldiers – both highly controversial topics in Japan and declared taboo by some.

“ReFreedom Aichi”

The closing of this special exhibition with the above-mentioned works was seen above all by the participating international artists as “buckling” by the artistic directors in the face of the violent complainants. They thus removed their works. When the Japanese Office for Cultural Affairs subsequently cancelled the promised triennial subsidy, a fierce debate grew on issues of freedom of art and expression in Japan. Among other things, the ReFreedom Aichi initiative was launched with the aim of making the special exhibition accessible again.
Over 7 days, about 700 calls were answered. Over 7 days, about 700 calls were answered. | Photo (detail): © Masahiro Hasunuma

Changing power relationships

“We’ve been working with many of the artists involved here for a long time,” says Peter Anders, director of the Goethe-Institut in Tokyo, “Ultimately, the question is how power relations in public discourse change due to violence and hatred in social media and the consequences this has for artists, but also for cultural institutions in general.” On 25 January 2020, Japanese theatre director Akira Takayama, who has also worked in Germany, presented his reaction to the events to a broad audience at the Goethe-Institut Tokyo.

7 days, 700 calls

Takayama’s “J Art Call Center” project came into being in response to the flood of complaint calls to the city administration. While the staff there had to adhere to a manual, Takayama used crowdfunding to raise the necessary funds and brought 31 artists, curators, gallery owners and journalists together. They answered over 700 calls within 7 days. In the “J Art Call Center”, mainly “so-called regular people” met the staff environment of the Aichi Triennale. Takayama described how he initially aimed to change the callers’ minds. “But I quickly realized that it wouldn’t work. How can I, convinced that my own opinion is correct, convince someone else that they are wrong? That’s when I simply started listening.”
The official logo of the project. The official logo of the project. | Design: © Washio Tomoyuki

Reformist force

What he heard was that in Japan’s consensus-minded society, there was an enormous reformist force to endure the dissent. Accordingly, the telephone line in “J Art Call Center” realised a central aspect of Akira Takayama’s work: It connected people who would otherwise have stayed in their affirmative social bubbles. The director had already created similar discursive platforms in Germany with McDonald’s Radio University and the Wagner Project.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„J Art Call Center“
Bei Anruf Kunst

Kunstschaffende und Journalist*innen während der Telefonate bei „J Art Call Center“.
Kunstschaffende und Journalist*innen während der Telefonate bei „J Art Call Center“. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © Masahiro Hasunuma

Auf der Halbjahrestagung des Deutschen Bühnenvereins erörterten rund 60 Intendant*innen deutscher Theater und Orchester die Frage, wo und wie sie sich in Zeiten politischer Umbrüche positionieren sollten. Auch das Goethe-Institut Tokyo griff das Thema auf und diskutierte im Rahmen der Reihe „theater anders denken“.

Von Goethe-Institut Tokyo

Hintergrund der Diskussion ist die Schließung eines Teiles der Aichi-Triennale, der größten japanischen Kunst-Triennale in Nagoya im August 2019, auf der die Sicherheit der Mitarbeiter*innen und Besucher*innen aufgrund von Gewaltandrohungen nicht mehr gewährleistet werden konnte. Diese Drohungen richteten sich gegen die Präsentation von bereits früher zensierten Werken in einer Sonderausstellung, zum Beispiel eine Arbeit zur Kriegsverantwortung Japans sowie eine Skulptur zu den „Comfort Women“, jenen Koreanerinnen, die den japanischen Soldaten als Prostituierte dienen mussten - beides in Japan höchst umstrittene, von manchen zum Tabu erklärte Themen.

„ReFreedom Aichi“

Die Schließung dieser Sonderausstellung mit den genannten Arbeiten wurde vor allem von den teilnehmenden internationalen Künstler*innen als ein „Einknicken“ der künstlerischen Leitung vor den gewaltandrohenden Beschwerdeträgern gewertet. Sie zogen daraufhin ihre Arbeiten ab. Als anschließend das japanische Amt für kulturelle Angelegenheiten die bereits zugesagte Subvention für die Triennale strich, entwickelte sich eine heftige Debatte zu Fragen der Kunst- und Meinungsfreiheit in Japan. Unter anderem wurde die Initiative „ReFreedom Aichi“ ins Leben gerufen mit dem Ziel, die Sonderausstellung wieder zugänglich zu machen.
In 7 Tagen wurden etwa 700 Anrufe entgegengenommen. In 7 Tagen wurden etwa 700 Anrufe entgegengenommen. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © Masahiro Hasunuma

Machtverhältnisse im Wandel

„Mit vielen der hier engagierten Künstler und Künstlerinnen arbeiten wir seit langem zusammen,“ so Peter Anders, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo: „Letztlich geht es um die Frage, wie sich Machtverhältnisse im öffentlichen Diskurs durch Gewalt und Hass in den sozialen Medien verändern, und welche Konsequenzen das für Kunstschaffende, aber auch für Kultureinrichtungen insgesamt hat.“ Am 25. Januar 2020 stellte der auch in Deutschland tätige, japanische Theaterregisseur Akira Takayama seine Reaktion auf die Vorgänge einem breiten Publikum im Goethe-Institut Tokyo vor. 

7 Tage, 700 Anrufe

Takayamas Projekt „J Art Call Center“ entstand als Reaktion auf die Flut der Beschwerdeanrufe an die Stadtverwaltung. Während sich die dortigen Mitarbeiter*innen an ein Handbuch halten mussten, warb Takayama die nötigen Mittel per Crowdfunding ein und brachte 31 Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen, Galerist*innen und Journalist*innen zusammen. Innerhalb von 7 Tagen beantworteten sie über 700 Anrufe. Im „J Art Call Center“ trafen vor allem „sogenannte normale Menschen“ auf das personelle Umfeld der Aichi Triennale. Takayama schilderte, dass er die Anrufer*innen zunächst umstimmen wollte: „Ich habe aber schnell gemerkt, dass das nicht funktioniert. Wie kann ich, der überzeugt ist, dass seine eigene Meinung richtig ist, jemand anderen davon überzeugen, dass er falsch liegt? Deshalb habe ich angefangen, einfach nur zuzuhören.“
Das offizielle Logo des Projekts. Das offizielle Logo des Projekts. | Design: © Washio Tomoyuki

Reformerische Kraft

Es war herauszuhören, dass es in der japanischen Konsensgesellschaft schon eine enorme reformerische Kraft darstelle, den Dissens auszuhalten. Entsprechend realisierte die Telefonleitung in „J Art Call Center“ einen zentralen Aspekt von Akira Takayamas Werk: Sie verband Menschen, die sonst in ihrer affirmativen sozialen Blase geblieben wären. Ähnliche diskursive Plattformen hatte der Regisseur bereits in Deutschland mit „McDonald’s Radio University“ und „Wagner Project“ geschaffen.

 

Top