Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

An Interview with Klaus-Dieter Lehmann
“Creating formats that point to the future”

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut | Photo (detail): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Wrobbel

In an interview with “The Latest” at Goethe, president of the Goethe-Institut Klaus-Dieter Lehmann explains how the coronavirus pandemic is changing international cultural and language work, how the Goethe-Institut enables encounters even in the digital space, and how it is supporting its worldwide partners.

The coronavirus pandemic hasn’t changed the mission of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann said in the interview. Its task is still to create connections and enable encounters. But in times of travel and contact restrictions these encounters are happening in the digital space. The Goethe-Institut president cited the festival “Latitude” and the global arts calendar Kulturama.digital as examples of digital cultural and communication platforms.

In spite of such digital programmes, international cultural exchange is in danger, said Lehmann, for the existence of many cultural institutions around the world is threatened by the pandemic. He explained how the Goethe-Institut, the Federal Foreign Office and other partners aim to secure the existence of cultural institutions abroad with an aid fund and why it remains important to work sustainably during a crisis in the interview with “The Latest” at Goethe.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann im Interview
„Formate schaffen, die in die Zukunft weisen.“

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Wrobbel

Im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“ erklärt Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, wie die Corona-Pandemie die internationale Kultur- und Spracharbeit verändert, wie das Goethe-Institut auch im digitalen Raum Begegnungen ermöglicht und wie es seine Partner weltweit unterstützt.

Die Aufgabe des Goethe-Instituts habe sich durch die Corona-Pandemie nicht geändert, sagt Klaus-Dieter Lehmann im Interview. Es gehe nach wie vor darum, Verbindungen zu schaffen und Begegnungen zu ermöglichen. Nur finden diese Begegnungen – in Zeiten von Reise- und Kontaktbeschränkungen – im Digitalen statt. Als Beispiele für digitale Kultur- und Austauschformate nennt der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts das Festival „Latitude“ sowie den globalen Kulturkalender Kulturama.digital.

Trotz solcher Digitalangebote sei der internationale Kulturaustausch in Gefahr, so Lehmann, denn viele Kultureinrichtungen weltweit sind durch die Pandemie in ihrer Existenz bedroht. Wie das Goethe-Institut, das Auswärtige Amt und weitere Partner mit einem Hilfsfonds die Existenz von Kulturinstitutionen im Ausland sichern wollen und warum es auch in der Krise wichtig ist, nachhaltig zu arbeiten, erläutert Klaus-Dieter Lehmann im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“.

Top