Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Internationale Deutscholympiade
“BE THERE!” Digitally Worldwide

IDO took place in the digital space for the first time
IDO took place in the digital space for the first time | Illustration: Goethe-Institut e.V.

From 3 to 7 August, the Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO), the world’s largest contest for the German language, took place in the digital space for the first time. But how do you organise a competition with more than 120 pupils from 60 countries and 17 time zones?

By Aimée Torre Brons

The in-person event in Dresden was already in the starting blocks when, within a few months, it had to be converted to a completely digital format. The participants came from countries ranging from New Zealand, Japan and India to Kazakhstan, Finland and Portugal, to South Africa, Peru and Canada. Dividing up the online contest for three language levels (A2, B1 and B2) into 17 time zones with tailor-made group assignments for all participants was a mammoth task in itself.

The Goethe-Institut Dresden served as the live studio, creative office and hub of media attention. It was where all the threads came together; digital programmes that tied into the city were developed, the contest was co-supervised by numerous jurors and the daily live stream programme with studio guests on site was broadcast around the world at 1 p.m. (CEST). That was six in the morning for 17-year-old Abraham from Mexico and eight in the evening for Hana, also 17, from Japan. But that didn’t stop either of them from being there.

The Goethe-Institut Dresden served as the live studio The Goethe-Institut Dresden served as the live studio | Photo (detail): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Dahn

Digital dancing, chatting in German

Winningly moderated by the Dresden artist and entertainer Falk Töpfer, the live stream quickly became a popular format. And who would have imagined that so many of the pupils at their screens would be willing to take part in the dance workshop with break-dancer Philip “Lehmi” Lehmann from the Dresden breakdance group The Saxonz? A new star in the entertainment world was born with the improvised dance performance by presenter Falk Töpfer. From then on, the pupils in the chat group clamoured, “Please, Falk, dance!” In between was intensive communication and networking, sometimes in Latin for fun. The favourite language, however, remained German, because, as Keta Kalandadze from Georgia (1st place in level B2) said, “the German language has managed to bring people from every corner of the world together and enable them to establish new relationships.”

Even television was there

Under the motto “BE THERE! – IDO is coming to you,” the competition offered numerous opportunities for encounters and networking. Participants introduced themselves in online videos, talked about their country and thus also promoted intercultural competence amongst one another. Everyone had already introduced themselves in profiles on the project website where one could find out that computer enthusiast Eban Ebssa (1st place in level A2) from the USA learned via the German language, “that a ‘Handschuh’ really is a shoe for your hand!” She also told the MDR television team about it in a Skype interview.

In general, media interest in the international youngsters and the IDO was very high. Aryan from India was interviewed on the national news programme Tagesschau, participants from all five continents told the taz “why we like to speak German” and Khang from Vietnam told the local Sächsische Zeitung what he loves about Germany. Like almost all of the participants, he hopes to study here one day. This year, the IDO, which has long been an “export hit” for the German language and Germany as an educational location, turned out to be a media “import hit.” It was characterised by creativity, innovativeness and learning opportunities for everyone involved. “You’re my favourite subject,” one participant wrote in the chat at the end. And Falk danced once more for everyone.

Aimée Torre Brons is a freelance cultural and media manager as well as an author and editor. She was responsible for the project presswork for IDO 2020.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Internationale Deutscholympiade
Weltweit digital „DABEI SEIN!“

Zum ersten Mal fand die Internationale Deutscholympiade digital statt
Zum ersten Mal fand die Internationale Deutscholympiade digital statt | Illustration: Goethe-Institut e.V.

Vom 3. bis zum 7. August fand die Internationale Deutscholympiade (IDO), der weltweit größte Wettbewerb der deutschen Sprache, erstmals im digitalen Raum statt. Doch wie veranstaltet man einen Wettbewerb mit mehr als 120 Schüler*innen aus über 60 Ländern und 17 Zeitzonen?

Von Aimée Torre Brons

Die Präsenzveranstaltung in Dresden hatte bereits in den Startlöchern gestanden und wurde nun innerhalb weniger Monate komplett auf ein digitales Format umgestellt. Von Neuseeland, Japan und Indien über Kasachstan, Finnland und Portugal bis hin zu Südafrika, Peru und Kanada reichte der Radius der Teilnehmer*innenländer. Allein die Einteilung des Online-Wettbewerbs für drei Sprachstufen (A2, B1 und B2) in 17 Zeitzonen mit passgenauen Gruppenzuordnungen für alle Teilnehmer*innen war eine Mammutaufgabe.

Live-Studio, Kreativ-Zentrale und Knotenpunkt der medialen Aufmerksamkeit war das Goethe-Institut Dresden. Hier kamen alle Fäden zusammen, wurden digitale Programmangebote mit Rückbezug zur Stadt entwickelt, der Wettbewerb von zahlreichen Juror*innen mitbetreut und täglich das Livestream-Programm mit Studio-Gästen vor Ort um 13 Uhr (MESZ) in die Welt gesandt. Dann war es für den 17-jährigen Abraham aus Mexiko sechs Uhr früh und für die gleichaltrige Hana aus Japan schon 20 Uhr abends. Aber das hat beide nicht davon abgehalten, dabei zu sein.

Das Live-Studio im Goethe-Institut Dresden Das Live-Studio im Goethe-Institut Dresden | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Dahn

Digital tanzen, auf Deutsch chatten

Charmant moderiert vom Dresdner Künstler und Entertainer Falk Töpfer avancierte der Livestream schnell zum beliebten Format. Und wer hätte gedacht, dass beim Tanz-Workshop mit Breakdancer Philip „Lehmi“ Lehmann von der Dresdner Breakdance-Gruppe The Saxonz viele der Schüler*innen allein vor ihren Bildschirmen mitmachen würden. Spätestens bei der improvisierten Tanzeinlage von Moderator Falk Töpfer war ein neuer Stern am Entertainment-Himmel geboren. Von da an hieß es nur noch „Bitte, Falk soll tanzen!“ im Chat. Zwischendurch wurde sich intensiv ausgetauscht und vernetzt, gerne auch mal zum Spaß auf Latein. Lieblingssprache blieb aber Deutsch, denn, so Keta Kalandadze aus Georgien (1. Platz in der Stufe B2), „die deutsche Sprache hat geschafft, Menschen aus jeder Ecke der Welt zusammenzubringen und ihnen neue Beziehungen zu ermöglichen.“

Das Fernsehen war auch dabei

Unter dem Motto „DABEI SEIN! – Die IDO kommt zu dir“ bot der Wettbewerb zahlreiche Chancen der Begegnungen und Vernetzung: In Online-Videos stellten sich Teilnehmer*innen vor, erzählten von ihrem Land und förderten so ganz nebenbei die interkulturelle Kompetenz untereinander. Bereits auf der Projektwebsite hatten sich alle in Steckbriefen vorgestellt und so konnte man erfahren, dass der computerbegeisterten Eban Ebssa (1. Platz in der Stufe A2) aus den USA erst durch die deutsche Sprache klargeworden war, „dass ein Handschuh wirklich ein Schuh für die Hand ist!“ Das hat sie auch dem MDR-Fernsehteam in einem Skype-Interview erzählt.

Überhaupt war das Medieninteresse an dem internationalen Nachwuchs und der IDO sehr groß. So kam Aryan aus Indien in der Tagesschau zu Wort, Teilnehmer*innen aus allen fünf Kontinenten erzählten in der taz, „warum es schön ist, deutsch zu sprechen“ und Khang aus Vietnam verriet der Sächsischen Zeitung, was er an Deutschland liebt. Er möchte – wie übrigens fast alle Teilnehmer*innen – gerne einmal hier studieren. Die IDO, längst ein Exportschlager für die deutsche Sprache und den Bildungsstandort Deutschland, erwies sich in diesem Jahr als medialer Importschlager. Kreativität, Innovationskraft und Lernchancen für alle Beteiligten zeichneten sie aus. „Ihr seid mein Lieblingsfach“, schrieb eine Teilnehmerin zum Schluss in den Chat. Und am Ende hat Falk dann auch noch einmal für alle getanzt.

 

Aimée Torre Brons ist freie Kultur- und Medienmanagerin sowie Autorin und Redakteurin; für die IDO 2020 betreute sie die projektbezogene Pressearbeit.

Top