Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Hack Your Culture”
Show Me Your Collection

Collage - Show Me Your Collection |Njoki Ngumi, Cristiana Serejo, Medhavi Gandhi, Lisistrata Lusandiana
Collage - Show Me Your Collection | Photos (details): © private, N. Ngumi, C. Serejo, M. Gandhi, L. Lusandiana

For “Hack Your Culture” by the Goethe-Institut, three representatives of cultural institutions in Brazil, Indonesia and Kenya met to discuss digital challenges.

By Tânia Caliari

In early November 2020, representatives from three museums and archives in Brazil, Indonesia and Kenya came together as part of the “Hack Your Culture” hackathon organised by the Goethe-Instituts in Brazil, Indonesia and South Africa to talk about digital transformation and cultural heritage in the global south. It became clear that the process of digitising collections and the creation of virtual audience formats in the museum sector were propelled during the Covid-19 pandemic, offering great potential for interaction between the institutions and their visitors.
Moderator Medhavi Gandhi of the Heritage Lab India turned the discussion to the Covid-19 pandemic at the very start. “When we were hit by the pandemic, in the first few weeks there were no cultural events taking place. As time passed, we were forced to have strategies to cope with the situation. It reminded us that creating events online could be much more affordable, easier and faster,” said Lisistrata Lusandiana, director of the Indonesian Visual Art Archive.

Not everyone has access to the Internet

Cristiana Serejo, deputy director of the Museu Nacional in Rio de Janeiro, confirmed that the pandemic is an opportunity to advance the digitisation process. She noted: “In June 2020, the Museu Nacional celebrated its 202nd anniversary. Our staff decided to create short, informative videos for this. But initially nobody knew how to shoot and edit videos. That was a big challenge and I think we learned a lot from it.”
Njoki Ngumi from The Nest Collective in Kenya emphasised that the restrictions in social life demonstrated that not everyone has access to the Internet, although it should be a universal human right. She advocated going beyond the forms of digital interaction that became established during the pandemic and trying to offer more complete virtual experiences, for example using virtual reality.

What people are really interested in

When asked what had priority for them and their institutions with regard to digital transformation, the participants unanimously stated that the expansion of digital infrastructure and digital skills were fundamental. “I think these two factors are required for expanding access to cultural heritage,” said Njoki Ngumi. In addition, digitisation opens up the possibility of getting to know the museum public using digital data. As an example, Ngumi added that most search engine queries in Kenya were on the subjects such as sports and sex. “Which museum has done an interesting sports engagement? You can do an exhibition about sex that is family friendly. I think that beginning with the data and then asking ourselves what are people really interested in and how to plug into that is a way of aligning our interests and our lives.”
For Cristiana Serejo from Brazil’s Museu Nacional, which was destroyed by a devastating fire in 2018, digital offerings also promote the audience’s sense of belonging. “I believe it’s necessary to make people feel that they belong to this museum,” she said. Lusandiana agreed and emphasised that cultural institutions seemed very far away for many people and that digital media could bring them closer. In addition, making collections accessible via the Internet offers scholars, researchers and interested parties worldwide the opportunity to interact with the data.

Decolonisation of institutions

Ngumi added that in countries with a colonial past, the people’s relationship to the museums of the colonisers was something “inherited.” Direct interaction with the cultural institutions through simplified digital access enables people to reshape this relationship. On the subject of the decolonisation of institutions, Serejo added that the digitisation of collections would make it possible to bring objects from Brazilian culture scattered around the world together with objects from the museum’s own collection.
After the major fire of 2018, in which the collection of the Museu Nacional was almost completely lost, many donations from the indigenous population of Brazil reached the museum in order to rebuild the collection. Digital platforms also played a central role in this. “It is fascinating to see how the indigenous communities teamed up with our scientific team to restore, at least in part, the collection of the Museu Nacional,” said Serejo. “This is a completely different process than at the time of Portuguese colonisation.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Hack Your Culture“
Zeig mir deine Sammlung

Collage - Zeig mir deine Sammlung | Njoki Ngumi, Cristiana Serejo, Medhavi Gandhi, Lisistrata Lusandiana
Collage - Zeig mir deine Sammlung | Fotos (Ausschnitte): © privat, N. Ngumi, C. Serejo, M. Gandhi, L. Lusandiana

Im Rahmen von „Hack Your Culture“ des Goethe-Instituts kamen drei Vertreterinnen von Kulturinstitutionen in Brasilien, Indonesien und Kenia zusammen, um die Herausforderungen des Digitalen zu diskutieren.

Von Tânia Caliari

Anfang November 2020 kamen im Rahmen des Hackathons „Hack Your Culture“ der Goethe-Institute in Brasilien, Indonesien und Südafrika Vertreterinnen von drei Museen und Archiven in Brasilien, Indonesien und Kenia zusammen, um über digitalen Wandel und Kulturerbe im globalen Süden zu sprechen. Dabei wurde deutlich: Der Prozess der Digitalisierung von Sammlungen und die Entstehung virtueller Publikumsformate im Museumsbereich wurden während der Covid-19-Pandemie vorangetrieben und bieten großes Potenzial für die Interaktion zwischen den Institutionen und ihren Besucher*innen.
Gleich zu Beginn brachte die Moderatorin Medhavi Gandhi, Heritage Lab Indien, das Gespräch auf die Covid-19-Pandemie. „Als die Pandemie kam, fielen in den ersten Wochen die Kulturveranstaltungen aus. Aber wenige Monate später hatten wir eine digitale Strategie auf die Beine gestellt und merkten, dass Online-Events günstiger und leichter zu bewerkstelligen sind“, so Lisistrata Lusandiana, Direktorin des Archivs der Visuellen Künste Indonesiens.

Der Zugang zum Internet ist nicht für alle eine Selbstverständlichkeit

Die Vizedirektorin des Museu Nacional in Rio de Janeiro, Cristiana Serejo, bestätigte, dass die Pandemie eine Chance sei, den Digitalisierungsprozess voranzubringen. „Im Juni 2020 feierte das Nationalmuseum seinen 202. Geburtstag. Unsere Mitarbeiter*innen hatten die Idee, dafür kurze, informative Videos zu erstellen. Aber keiner kannte sich zunächst aus mit dem Drehen und Editieren von Videos. Das war eine große Herausforderung und ich finde, wir haben dabei viel dazugelernt.“
Die Kenianerin Njoki Ngumi von The Nest Collective betonte, die Einschränkung des sozialen Lebens habe deutlich gemacht, dass Zugang zum Internet nicht für alle etwas Selbstverständliches ist, obwohl es ein allgemeines Menschenrecht sein sollte. Sie plädierte dafür, über die Formen der digitalen Interaktion, die sich während der Pandemie etabliert haben, hinauszugehen und zu versuchen, vollständigere virtuelle Erlebnisse anzubieten, etwa mit Virtual Reality.
 

Was die Leute wirklich sehen wollen

Auf die Frage, was für sie und ihre Einrichtungen im Hinblick auf den digitalen Wandel Priorität habe, äußerten die Teilnehmerinnen einhellig, dass der Ausbau der Internet-Infrastruktur und von Expertise im Bereich Digitalisierung grundlegend seien. „Aus meiner Sicht ist der Ausbau des Zugangs zum Kulturerbe durch diese beiden Faktoren bedingt“, so Njoki Ngumi. Zudem eröffne die Digitalisierung die Möglichkeit, das Museumspublikum anhand digitaler Daten kennenzulernen. Ngumi fügte an, dass sich in Kenia die meisten Suchmaschinen-Anfragen auf die Themen Sport und Sex bezögen. „Welches Museum hat schon einmal etwas Spannendes zum Thema Sport gebracht? Ist es möglich, eine familientaugliche Ausstellung zum Thema Sex zu gestalten? Diese Fragen können wir den Leuten stellen und uns dann zu diesen Themen engagieren. Wir sollten bei den Daten anfangen und uns fragen, was die Leute wirklich sehen wollen.“
Für Cristiana Serejo vom brasilianischen Museu Nacional, das 2018 durch einen verheerenden Brand zerstört wurde, fördern digitale Angebote auch das Zugehörigkeitsgefühl des Publikums. „Ich bin der Auffassung, dass es notwendig ist, bei den Menschen das Gefühl zu wecken, zu diesem Museum dazuzugehören.“ Dem stimmte auch Lusandiana zu und betonte, dass Kulturinstitutionen für viele Menschen sehr weit weg erschienen und digitale Medien Nähe herstellen könnten. Zudem böte die Zugänglichmachung von Sammlungen über das Internet Wissenschaftler*innen, Forscher*innen und Interessierten weltweit die Möglichkeit, mit den Daten zu interagieren.

Dekolonisierung der Institutionen

Ngumi ergänzte, dass in Ländern mit einer kolonialen Vergangenheit das Verhältnis der Menschen zu den Museen der Kolonisator*innen etwas „Ererbtes“ sei. Die direkte Interaktion mit den Kulturinstitutionen durch einen vereinfachten digitalen Zugang ermögliche es den Menschen, dieses Verhältnis neu zu gestalten. Zum Thema Dekolonisierung der Institutionen fügte Serejo an, dass es durch die Digitalisierung von Sammlungen möglich werde, weltweit verstreute Objekte der brasilianischen Kultur mit Objekten aus der eigenen Sammlung zusammenzubringen.
Nach dem Großbrand von 2018, bei dem die Sammlung des Museu Nacional fast vollständig verloren ging, erreichten viele Schenkungen aus der indigenen Bevölkerung Brasiliens das Museum, um die Sammlung neu aufzubauen. Auch dabei spielten digitale Plattformen eine zentrale Rolle. „Es ist sehr interessant zu sehen, wie sich die indigenen Gemeinschaften mit unserem wissenschaftlichen Team zusammengetan haben, um die Sammlung des Museu Nacional zumindest in Teilen wiederherzustellen“, so Serejo. „Das ist ein vollkommen anderer Prozess als zur Zeit der portugiesischen Kolonisierung.“

Top