Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Interview with Johannes Ebert
“Stimuli That Germany Needs”

Johannes Ebert, Secretary-General of the Goethe-Institut, in an interview with “The Latest at Goethe”
Johannes Ebert, Secretary-General of the Goethe-Institut, in an interview with “The Latest at Goethe” | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut

The coronavirus pandemic also left a mark on the year 2020 for the Goethe-Institut. In his interview with “The Latest at Goethe”, Secretary-General Johannes Ebert nonetheless is optimistic about the future and speaks about the focuses the Goethe-Institut will set in its international cultural and language work in 2021.

By Alexander Behrmann

The Goethe-Institut contributes to peaceful and understanding coexistence in the world, says Secretary-General of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert, adding, “And that’s only possible through encounters, encounters and more encounters.” In 2020, they mainly took place in the digital space. In its cultural programmes, the Goethe-Institut developed digital and hybrid formats with broad coverage. By setting up an international aid fund together with the Federal Foreign Office, it was also able to support cultural and educational organisations abroad. There were also innovations in language work: Online language courses significantly intensified worldwide and in November 2020, the Goethe-Institut was named the best digital language teaching institute.

Interview with Johannes Ebert: “Stimuli That Germany Needs” | Goethe-Institut e.V.
English subtitles can be displayed © YouTube Interview in German language. English subtitles can be displayed.
  

A globally embedded society

However, revenue did fall due to the global restrictions. It was possible to mitigate the consequences with interim aid from the government and constant realignments. At the Annual Press Conference, Ebert noted, “We’re quite pleased about the digital formats we were able to implement at such short notice this year, for example the kulturama livestreaming platform or Danachgedanken, an intellectual archive of the coronavirus pandemic. Next year, we’ll also partially digitise the Kultursymposium Weimar, which will be shedding light on the topic of ‘Generations’ from an international perspective from 16 to 17 June 2021.” Since German society is globally embedded, Ebert noted in the interview with The Latest at Goethe, we need to find out what debates are taking place in other societies. The Kultursymposium Weimar brings people from culture, politics, business and science from all over the world together to discuss a big question. “It really offers stimuli that Germany needs.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Johannes Ebert im Interview
„Impulse, die Deutschland braucht“

Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“
Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut

Das Jahr 2020 war auch für das Goethe-Institut geprägt von der Corona-Pandemie. Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert blickt im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“ dennoch optimistisch in die Zukunft und spricht darüber, welche Schwerpunkte das Goethe-Institut in seiner internationalen Kultur- und Spracharbeit 2021 setzt.

Von Alexander Behrmann

Das Goethe-Institut leiste einen Beitrag zu einem friedlichen und verständnisvollen Zusammenleben auf der Welt, sagt der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert: „Und das geht nur über Begegnungen, Begegnungen, Begegnungen.“ Diese fanden 2020 vorwiegend im digitalen Raum statt. In den Kulturprogrammen entwickelte das Goethe-Institut reichweitenstarke digitale und hybride Formate. Durch die Einrichtung eines Internationalen Hilfsfonds gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt konnte es zudem Organisationen aus Kultur und Bildung im Ausland unterstützen. Innovationen gab es auch in der Spracharbeit: Weltweit wurden die Online-Sprachkurse deutlich intensiviert; im November 2020 wurde das Goethe-Institut dafür als bestes digitales Sprachlehrinstitut ausgezeichnet.

Johannes Ebert im Interview: Impulse, die Deutschland braucht | Goethe-Institut e.V.

Eine global eingebettete Gesellschaft

Dennoch sind durch die weltweiten Einschränkungen Einnahmen weggebrochen. Durch Überbrückungshilfen der Regierung und eine kontinuierliche Neuausrichtung konnten die Folgen jedoch abgemildert werden. Auf der Jahrespressekonferenz sagte Ebert dazu: „Wir sind sehr zufrieden mit den digitalen Formaten, die wir in diesem Jahr in kürzester Zeit realisieren konnten, etwa mit der Livestreaming-Plattform ,kulturama‘ oder den ,Danachgedanken‘, die ein intellektuelles Archiv der Corona-Pandemie geworden sind. Im kommenden Jahr werden wir teilweise auch das Kultursymposium Weimar digitalisieren, das vom 16. bis 17. Juni 2021 das Thema ,Generationen‘ aus internationalen Perspektiven beleuchtet.“ Da Deutschland eine global eingebettete Gesellschaft sei, so Ebert im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“, müssten wir erfahren, welche Debatten in anderen Gesellschaften stattfinden. Das Kultursymposium Weimar bringe Menschen aus Kultur, Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft aus der ganzen Welt zusammen, um eine große Frage zu diskutieren. „Hier gibt es wirklich Impulse, die Deutschland braucht.“

Top