Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

International Relief Fund 2020
Let the spark fly

Let the spark fly and hold on to it. Outreach Foundation Johannesburg
Let the spark fly and hold on to it. Outreach Foundation Johannesburg | Photo (detail): © Earl Abrahams

The Outreach Foundation in Jo­hannes­burg does neighbourhood work in the city centre. With funds from the International Relief Fund of the Goethe-Institut, the German Federal Foreign Office and other foundations and cultural intermediary organisations, it was possible to continue an intergenerational theatre project that would not have existed in this form due to Corona.

By Kwanele Sosibo

From Pietersen Street in the thick of Hillbrow, you might miss the Outreach Foundation building complex, even if you know where you are going. On my visit on a Saturday noon in early November, I am escorted into the exact rehearsal building by a pair of ice-cream eating semi-adolescents who weren’t even going there. It is a clear sign that the Outreach Foundation, nestled among high-rise apartments and office blocks, and built on an old church site, enjoys a level of fame among youths, and with good reason. 
 
The foundation’s Performance Arts Programme, tied to the Hillbrow Theatre, sits at the south end of a Lutheran Church compound, flanking Edith Cavell street. It comprises a group of heritage buildings that are dwarfed by a face-brick old age home complex. Once in the submerged courtyard, I go up a flight of stairs leading to a rehearsal room at the back of the compound, where I encounter a group of about a dozen masked children going through a high-octane piece of choreography by Big Boy Ndlovu. Ndlovu, an alumni of the performance arts program himself, is now among its facilitators. He leads from the front, counting out steps of a stop-start routine with energetic emphasis. Periodically, he pulls back to observe, then rejoins again. “Five, six, seven, eight…” After a while, the kids pause to catch their breath. 

Cultural work under corona conditions Cultural work under corona conditions | Photo (detail): © Earl Abrahams
They are to shoot a dance sequence by some of their peers next, each manning their own phones and minding the technical demands of each shot. Jessica Denyschen discusses camera angles in a manner that suggests a level of proficiency. “If you are doing a silhouette, you should know where to be in relation to the light,” she advises. The digital arm of this dance, drama and music curriculum is only a few months old, aimed at encouraging the youths to explore their post-Covid-19 environment.
 
As Denyschen speaks, Gcebile Dlamini, a facilitator, is co-ordinating with a different group of students via zoom. After the filming, the students take turns being critiqued. She is either pleased with the results or light on criticism. After the session, the students end their day with an R&B tinged rendition of "Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika" (political anthem as well as part of the national anthem of South Africa, editor's note).
 
As they pack up, Qhama Olivia Jack is the first student I interview. She is a student at the nearby St Endas Secondary School in Hillbrow. “I joined in 2018 for drama,” she says.“But I didn’t know there was dance too. At first I was like, ‘Ag, I’m not here to dance, I’m here to act.’  But then I just got comfortable and I forced myself to dance, which I really love now and I’m just learning different things within the space.”
 
Rozelle Philander, formerly of the Northern Cape, joined the group after losing her grandmother, who, more than her parents, was a fervent supporter of her aspirations in the dramatic arts. “I never got to properly mourn her,” she says from the courtyard outside of their rehearsal space. “When I’m on stage doing what I love. I feel like I’m honouring her. I feel a kind of peace.”
Theatre workshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg Theatre workshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg | Photo (detail): © Earl Abrahams
Others are bouyed by affirmation. “For me, it was just how they spoke to me,” says Tshepang Lebello, a 19-year-old Hillbrow resident. “Everything was different in the way they spoke to me. They taught me how to communicate more with people and feel comfortable talking to them.”
 
Dlamini, a director with the project since 2012, says she uses a lot of personal storytelling as a device to get her students to open up. “I work a lot with personal narratives,” says the actress who also lives in Hillbrow. “When they speak about living in town, in flats, I can say, ‘This is how I grew up. What do you think about this, this and that?’ Then we have debates and conversations, and then it sparks from there.”
 
Dlamini tries to keep the space dynamic. The kids regularly watch theatre shows (which they critique), travel and perform overseas and host other performance art groups for discussions and performances. Above and beyond the challenges of belligerent parents who sometimes pull their children off the programme and a dropout rate she attributes to the challenges of adolescence, it is watching the kids move from timidness to confidence that makes it all worthwhile. English subtitles can be displayed © YouTube
Outreach Foundation Hillbrow | Video: © Eugene Alberts, Goethe-Institut e.V.
Interview in German language. English subtitles can be displayed.
 
 
Her colleague Gerard Bester, a manager in the wider Outreach Foundation and a director with the performance arts programme, is generally a garullous, amiable figure. His pensive streak only shows up when we discuss funding. He intimates that within the broader foundation, the role of the performance arts programme is being reassessed, with a possibility that priority may be given to the skills development segments of the foundation. In a sense, work he has thrown himself into for well over a decade faces being scuppered.
 
For projects like the intergenerational programme they conduct with the nearby old age home (an affiliate of the Outreach Foundation), the Goethe-Institut threw them an unexpected lifeline with relief funding.
 
“It’s very rare to receive a phone call inviting you to submit a proposal, and that we had been one of the selected organisations in South Africa,” he says. “It was a wonderful acknowledgment of the previous work we’d done with the Institut and their continued faith in what we do. Covid-19 has made 2020 a year of extreme loss, disruption and uncertainty. So the Relief Fund was about giving us support to reimagine projects that we were going to do this year, projects that would not have happened.”
 
With that thorn averted for now, Bester’s mischievous smile returns, and he turns his attention to Hillbrow’s living history, possibly his favourite subject. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Internationaler Hilfsfonds 2020
Den Funken überspringen lassen

Den Funken überspringen lassen und festhalten, Theaterworkshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg
Den Funken überspringen lassen und festhalten, Theaterworkshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Earl Abrahams

Die Outreach Foundation in Jo­hannes­burg leistet Quartier­sarbeit im Zentrum der Stadt. Mit Mitteln aus dem Internationalen Hilfs­fonds des Goethe-Instituts, des Aus­wärtigen Amts und weiterer Stiftungen und Kulturmittlerorganisationen konnte ein ge­ne­ration­en­über­grei­fen­des Theater­projekt fortgesetzt werden.

Von Kwanele Sosibo

Von der Pietersen Street im Herzen von Hillbrow aus übersieht man das Gebäude der Outreach Foundation, selbst wenn man weiß, wo man suchen muss. Bei meinem Besuch an einem Samstagmittag Anfang November eskortieren mich zwei Eis essende Halbwüchsige an mein Ziel. Sie waren nicht einmal selbst auf dem Weg dorthin, aber offenbar genießt die zwischen Hochhäusern und Bürogebäuden auf einem alten Kirchenareal gelegene Outreach Foundation eine gewisse Wertschätzung und Bekanntheit unter Jugendlichen.
 
Das dem Hillbrow Theatre angegliederte Performance Arts Programme von Outreach ist am südlichen Ende des Grundstücks untergebracht, unmittelbar an die Edith Cavell Street angrenzend. Es umfasst eine Gruppe historischer Gebäude, die von einem aus Backstein errichteten Altenheim-Komplex überschattet werden. Einmal in dem versteckten Hof angelangt, gehe ich über eine Treppe hinauf zum Proberaum. Dort begegnet mir eine Gruppe von etwa einem Dutzend maskentragender Kinder, die eine sehr dynamische Choreografie von Big Boy Ndlovu proben. Ndlovu, selbst Absolvent des Programms für darstellende Künste, gehört mittlerweile zu dessen Lehrern. Er steht vorn und zählt die Schritte einer sich wiederholenden Übung. Ab und an geht er nach hinten und beobachtet, kommt wieder zurück. „Fünf, sechs, sieben, acht ... “ Nach einer Weile halten die Kinder inne, um Luft zu holen.

Kulturarbeit unter Coronabedingungen Kulturarbeit unter Coronabedingungen | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Earl Abrahams
Als Nächstes werden sie die Tanzsequenz einer anderen Gruppe drehen, wobei alle ihre eigenen Telefone benutzen und sich selbst um die technischen Anforderungen der einzelnen Aufnahmen kümmern. Jessica Denyschen bespricht die Kameraeinstellungen auf eine Weise, die auf ein hohes Level an Professionalität schließen lässt. „Wenn man eine Silhouette einfängt, sollte man wissen, wo man sich in Bezug auf die Lichtquelle befinden muss“, rät sie. Der digitale Zweig dieses Tanz-, Theater- und Musiklehrplans ist erst wenige Monate alt und soll die Jugendlichen dazu anregen, ihr Covid-19-beeinflusstes Leben und Umfeld zu erkunden.
 
Während Denyschen spricht, organisiert sich Gcebile Dlamini, ebenfalls Tutorin, mit einer anderen Gruppe von Schüler*innen via Zoom. Nach den Dreharbeiten werden die Schüler*innen abwechselnd eingeschätzt. Sie ist entweder mit den Ergebnissen zufrieden oder äußert leichte Kritik. Nach der Sitzung beenden die Schüler*innen ihren Tag mit einer R&B-gefärbten Version von „Nkosi Sikelel' iAfrika“ (politische Hymne wie auch Teil der Nationalhymne Südafrikas, Anm. der Red.).
 
Als sie zusammenpacken, ist Qhama Olivia Jack die erste Studentin, die ich interviewe. Sie ist Schülerin der nahegelegenen St. Endas Secondary School in Hillbrow. „Ich bin 2018 wegen der Schauspielerei hierher gekommen“, sagt sie, „aber ich wusste nicht, dass sie auch Tanz anbieten. Zuerst dachte ich, ich bin nicht hier, um zu tanzen, sondern um zu schauspielern. Aber dann habe ich mich eingewöhnt und mich gezwungen, zu tanzen. Ich liebe es wirklich und ich lerne hier einfach so viele verschiedene Dinge.“
 
Rozelle Philander, die früher am Nordkap lebte, schloss sich der Gruppe an, nachdem sie ihre Großmutter verloren hatte, die im Gegensatz zu ihren Eltern ihre Bestrebungen in der darstellenden Kunst stets mit Begeisterung unterstützt hatte. „Ich konnte nie richtig um sie trauern“, sagt sie auf dem Hof außerhalb des Proberaums. „Wenn ich auf der Bühne stehe und das tue, was ich liebe, habe ich das Gefühl, sie zu ehren. Ich fühle eine Art Frieden.“
Theaterworkshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg Theaterworkshop Outreach Foundation Johannesburg | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Earl Abrahams
Andere werden mit Zuspruch überhäuft. „Für mich war es die Art und Weise, wie sie mit mir gesprochen haben“, sagt Tshepang Lebello, ein 19-jähriger Einwohner von Hillbrow. „Sie haben mir beigebracht, wie ich mehr mit Menschen kommuniziere und mich dabei wohlfühle.“
 
Dlamini, die das Projekt seit 2012 leitet, erklärt, dass sie persönliche Geschichten als Mittel einsetzt, um ihre Schüler*innen dazu zu bringen, sich zu öffnen. „Wenn sie über ihr Leben in der Stadt, in den Wohnungen sprechen, kann ich ihnen erzählen, wie ich aufgewachsen bin, sie fragen, was sie darüber denken. Dann wird debattiert und geredet, und der Funke springt über.“
 
Dlamini versucht, das Programm dynamisch zu halten. Die Kinder sehen sich regelmäßig Theateraufführungen an (die sie rezensieren), reisen und haben Auftritte oder veranstalten Gespräche und Aufführungen mit anderen Theatergruppen. Abgesehen von den Herausforderungen streitlustiger Eltern, die ihre Kinder plötzlich aus dem Programm nehmen, und einer Abbruchquote, die sie den Launen des Erwachsenwerdens zuschreibt, sieht sie, wie die Kinder ihre Schüchternheit  ablegen und selbstbewusster werden.
Outreach Foundation Hillbrow | Video: © Eugene Alberts, Goethe-Institut e.V.
Ihr Kollege Gerard Bester, ein Manager der Outreach Foundation und Co-Direktor des Programms für darstellende Künste, ist eine redselige, liebenswürdige Person, die allerdings sehr ernst wird, wenn es um Finanzielles geht. Er deutet an, dass das Programm für darstellende Künste innerhalb der Stiftung neu bewertet wird. Es könnte passieren, dass den Bereichen zur Entwicklung von praktischen Fertigkeiten mehr Priorität eingeräumt wird. In gewisser Weise droht die Arbeit, in die er mehr als zehn Jahre investiert hat, zu scheitern.
 
Für Projekte wie das generationenübergreifende Programm, das sie mit dem nahegelegenen Altenheim (einer Tochtergesellschaft der Outreach Foundation) durchführen, kam in diesem Jahr der Ungewissheiten und finanziellen Instabilität der Internationale Hilfsfonds 2020 wie eine unerwartet zugeworfene Rettungsleine.
 
„Es kommt sehr selten vor, dass man einen Anruf erhält, in dem man aufgefordert wird, einen Vorschlag einzureichen“, bekräftigt er. „Es war eine wunderbare Anerkennung der Arbeit, die wir mit dem lokalen Goethe-Institut geleistet haben, und Ausdruck ihres Vertrauens in das, was wir tun. Corona hat das Jahr 2020 in ein Jahr extremer Verluste, Störungen und Unsicherheit verwandelt. Der Hilfsfond hat uns dabei unterstützt, Projekte zu überdenken, die wir in diesem Jahr durchführen wollten. Projekte, die es sonst nicht gegeben hätte.“
 
Nachdem dieser Dorn vorerst gezogen ist, kehrt Besters verschmitztes Lächeln zurück. Er richtet seine Aufmerksamkeit auf die lebendige Geschichte Hillbrows. Möglicherweise sein Lieblingsthema.

Top