Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Covered Culture in Yokohama
More Than the Hum of Its Parts

The composer Brigitta Muntendorf and the dramaturge Moritz Lobeck
The composer Brigitta Muntendorf and the dramaturge Moritz Lobeck | Photo (detail): © Pia Henkel

Composer Brigitta Muntendorf and dramaturge Moritz Lobeck created the audio-visual installation “Covered Culture,” commissioned by the Goethe-Institut. In an interview with “The Latest at Goethe”, they talk about the importance of Beethoven in the twenty-first century and a possible parallel to Neil Young.

By Carla Jamatte

What awaits visitors in the audio-visual installation “Covered Culture”?

Lobeck/Muntendorf: “Covered Culture” can be presented in a black box as well as in a white cube and also works as a site-specific installation. The visitors to the Duolon Museum of Modern Art with a view over the roofs of Shanghai were received very differently than in the dance studio in Berlin’s Radialsystem or the hypermodern LOOP Alt Space in Seoul. Its stops at the KAGAN Art Hotel for Kyoto Experiment or at TPAM – Performing Arts Meeting in Yokohama, where “Covered Culture” turned the impressive neoclassical lobby of a former bank building into an acoustic and visual projection space, are yet another experience.

The specific histories and varying designs of these spaces emphasise a central idea of the installation consisting of ten loudspeakers and video projections. Visitors in quite different places become part of a community, for a moment they can be members of a virtual, humming chorus. They are voices and choruses that could hardly be more different, and almost all were recorded in different locations, like the experimental pop singer SHII of China and the voice acrobat Maki Ota of Japan, the opera chorus of the German National Theatre Weimar and the Beijing Queer Chorus.

The montage of these single, softly humming and intimate voices and their images is an attempt to develop an anthem based on the idea of a hyperculture that is neither sung in unison nor belted loudly. It also critically questions our understanding of celebratory cultures. The entire installation is musically based on a quote from the “Ode to Joy.” Humming – a mainly private, personal act and also deliberately rather inartistic and limited in range – eludes attributions of nationality, gender, age and musical genre. At the same time – and this is what makes it so special – it refers to the chorus that grows out of the private and fragile and cannot get rid of this “origin.” Even when lots of people hum, there is no pathos.

The lobby of BankART Temporary in Yokohama The lobby of BankART Temporary in Yokohama | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Tokyo
Many musicians from Germany, China, Korea and Japan collaborated on the creation of “Covered Culture.” The result is a virtual chorus. How did it work?

Lobeck/Muntendorf: We developed processes with each of the ensembles and singers, with rehearsals and recording in remotely controlled settings essentially shaping the project. While we were rehearsing and recording on stage with the opera chorus in Weimar, we worked with the singers and performers in Asia on screens and with chat software and developed all of the audio and video recordings with teams on site. In addition, we had already launched an open call at the end of 2019 and received audio and video recordings from amateurs and professionals who hummed to fragments of Beethoven’s ode based on a given audio score and electronic sounds.

These processes clearly needed more time for preparation, coordination, rehearsals and planning but we were completely amazed at how intensively a process can be influenced even on a small screen and at such great distances and how many unforeseen things can still foil our plans. For example, we unintentionally walked the night streets of Beijing with the Beijing Queer Chorus during a rehearsal, because a member of the chorus forgot to turn off the cell phone camera during rehearsals via video chat.
„Covered Culture“ in Yokohama „Covered Culture“ in Yokohama | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Tokyo
“Covered Culture” was created for the 250th birthday of Ludwig van Beethoven. What significance does Beethoven have in the twenty-first century?

Lobeck/Muntendorf: When 10,000 people sing the “Ode to Joy” at a mega-event organised by Japan’s largest whiskey manufacturer in Osaka, it seems that the anthem in this form has a perhaps less common appeal in Japan’s culture. In several interviews and documentaries about this event, conductors, singers and audience talk about how connecting and assertive this anthem is, how liberating from individual aberrations and how intoxicating in its collective pathos.

But this pathos is precisely the problem: The Nazis played the Ninth Symphony on Hitler’s birthday, it was the national anthem of the apartheid regime in Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe), and NATO selected it for the opening of its Brussels headquarters. If Beethoven were alive today, he probably would have objected just like Neil Young did when Trump used “Rockin’ in the Free World” for his election campaign ... Perhaps our idea of having fragments of Beethoven’s anthem hummed by a chorus could in a way reset these problematic appropriations.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Covered Culture“ in Yokohama
Mehr als das Summen ihrer Teile

Die Komponistin Brigitta Muntendorf und der Dramaturg Moritz Lobeck
Die Komponistin Brigitta Muntendorf und der Dramaturg Moritz Lobeck | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Pia Henkel

Die Komponistin Brigitta Muntendorf und der Dramaturg Moritz Lobeck schufen im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts die audiovisuelle Rauminstallation „Covered Culture“. Im Interview mit „Goethe aktuell“ sprechen sie über die Bedeutung Beethovens im 21. Jahrhundert – und eine mögliche Parallele zu Neil Young.

Von Carla Jamatte

Was erwartet Besucher*innen in der audiovisuellen Rauminstallation „Covered Culture“?

Lobeck/Muntendorf: „Covered Culture“ kann in Black Box wie White Cube präsentiert werden und auch als Site-Specific Installation funktionieren. So wurden die Besucher*innen im Duolon Museum of Modern Art mit Blick über die Dächer von Shanghai ganz anders empfangen als im Tanzstudio im Berliner Radialsystem oder dem hypermodernen Museumsraum des LOOP Alt Space in Seoul. Wieder anders prägend sind die Stationen im KAGAN Art Hotel für Kyoto Experiment oder bei TPAM – Performing Arts Meeting in Yokohama, wo mit „Covered Culture“ die eindrucksvolle klassizistische Vorhalle eines ehemaligen Bankgebäudes zum akustischen und visuellen Projektionsraum wurde.

Gerade die spezifischen Geschichten und verschiedenen Gestaltungen dieser Räume betonen eine zentrale Idee der Installation aus zehn Lautsprechern und Videoprojektionen: Besucher*innen werden an verschiedensten Orten zum Teil einer Gemeinschaft, für einen Moment können sie Mitglieder eines virtuellen, summenden Chores sein. Es sind Stimmen und Chöre, die unterschiedlicher kaum sein könnten, und die nahezu alle an unterschiedlichen Orten aufgenommen wurden, wie zum Beispiel die chinesische experimentelle Popsängerin SHII oder die japanische Stimmakrobatin Maki Ota, der Opernchor des Deutschen Nationaltheaters Weimar oder der Beijing Queer Chorus.  

Diese individuellen, leise summenden und intimen Stimmen und ihre Abbilder sind in ihrer Montage nicht nur ein Versuch, eine Hymne aus dem Gedanken einer Hyperkultur zu entwickeln, die weder einstimmig noch laut gebrüllt wird, sie befragen auch kritisch unser Verständnis von Feierkulturen – der ganzen Installation liegt ja musikalisch ein Zitat der „Ode an die Freude“ zugrunde. Das Summen als primär privater und persönlicher Akt, als zudem bewusst eher Unkünstlerisches und Limitiertes in seinen Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten entzieht sich Zuschreibungen von Nationalität, Geschlecht, Alter und musikalischen Genres. Gleichzeitig – und das macht es so besonders – verweist es auf das Chorische, das aus dem Privaten und Fragilen erwächst und diese „Herkunft“ nicht mehr los wird. Auch wenn viele Menschen summen, entsteht kein Pathos.

Die Vorhalle des BankART Temporary in Yokohama Die Vorhalle des BankART Temporary in Yokohama | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Tokyo
Zahlreiche Musiker*innen aus Deutschland, China, Korea und Japan kooperierten während des Entstehungsprozesses von „Covered Culture“. Entstanden ist ein virtueller Chor. Wie gestaltete sich die Zusammenarbeit?

Lobeck/Muntendorf: Wir haben mit allen Formationen und Sänger*innen eigene Arbeitsprozesse entwickelt, wobei Proben und Recording als Remote-Control-Setting das Projekt essentiell prägten. Während wir mit dem Opernchor in Weimar auf der Bühne probten und aufnahmen, haben wir mit den Sänger*innen und Performer*innen in Asien über Screens und Chatsoftware gearbeitet und alle Audio- und Videoaufnahmen mit Teams vor Ort entwickelt. Zudem hatten wir bereits Ende 2019 einen Open Call gestartet und so Audio- und Videoaufnahmen von Laien und Profis zugeschickt bekommen, die anhand einer vorgegebenen Audio-Partitur und elektronischen Klängen zu Fragmenten von Beethovens Ode gesummt haben.

Diese Prozesse brauchten ganz klar mehr Zeit für Vorbereitung, Absprache, Proben und Planung – aber wir waren völlig erstaunt darüber, wie intensiv sich ein Arbeitsprozess auch über einen kleinen Bildschirm und so große Distanzen gestalten lässt und wie viel Unvorhergesehenes dennoch die Pläne durchkreuzen kann. So sind wir zum Beispiel mit dem Beijing Queer Chorus während einer Probe ungewollt durch die nächtlichen Straßen in Beijing gelaufen, da ein Mitglied des Chores während der Proben über Video-Chat die Handykamera versehentlich nicht ausgeschaltet hatte.
„Covered Culture“ in Yokohama „Covered Culture“ in Yokohama | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Tokyo
„Covered Culture“ wurde anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags von Ludwig van Beethoven entwickelt. Welche Bedeutung kommt Beethoven im 21. Jahrhundert zu?

Lobeck/Muntendorf: Wenn in Osaka 10.000 Japaner*innen in einem vom größten Whisky-Hersteller Japans veranstalteten Mega-Event die „Ode an die Freude“ singen, dann scheint in dieser Hymne eine Attraktion zu liegen, die in der japanischen Kultur in dieser Form vielleicht seltener vertreten ist. In zahlreichen Interviews und Dokumentationen zu diesem Event sprechen Dirigent, Sänger*innen und Publikum darüber, wie verbindend und zuversichtlich diese Hymne wirkt, wie befreiend von individuellen Verirrungen und wie berauschend im kollektiven Pathos.
Doch gerade dieses Pathos ist nicht unproblematisch – die Nazis haben die Neunte zu Hitlers Geburtstag gespielt, im Apartheid-Regime in Rhodesien (heute Simbabwe) wurde sie zur Nationalhymne, die Nato hat sie zur Eröffnung des Brüsseler Hauptquartiers ausgewählt. Beethoven hätte heute wahrscheinlich ähnliche Mails wie Neil Young an Trump geschrieben, als dieser „Rockin' in the Free World“ in seinem Wahlkampf benutzte … Vielleicht könnte unsere Idee, Fragmente aus Beethovens Hymne einem summenden Chor zu überlassen, ja wie ein Reset dieser eher problematischen Aneignungen funktionieren.

Top