Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

On the death of SAID
Language, poetry, body, exile

Iranian-German writer SAID.
Iranian-German writer SAID. | Photo (detail): © Isolde Ohlbaum

SAID died on 15th May at the age of 73. In 2006, the Iranian-German writer received the Goethe Medal. An obituary.

By Martin Hielscher

When SAID visited the Verlag C.H.Beck publisher in the building on Ainmillerstraße in Munich, where eleven of his books and one audio book have been published, and where the small fiction department is also based, it was as if the pulse of the building started beating faster. From the colleague at reception, who has a Persian surname to which he responded immediately, to the trainee who had attended one of his readings, which he had remembered, to his entrance into my office – he was overwhelmingly present. Usually, as soon as he entered – he drank an espresso, I took his coat; for many years, until his first serious heart attack, he first smoked a cigarette – he would tell you an anecdote, a joke, an incident, an experience from one of his readings. He was always immaculately dressed, connected with you immediately, engaged you in conversation straight away, smiling, warm, close. And he was always about the essential things – SAID was never trivial, although he could be entertaining, approachable, humorous. The essential things – how could one describe it? Language, poetry, the body, exile, love, but also sexuality, song, including the religious kind, pain, persecution, degradation, but also paintings, music, friendship. 

SAID was born in Tehran in 1947; his parents had separated before he was born and he grew up with his father, left Iran at the age of 17, and lived in Munich from 1965 onwards. He had been involved in the student movement and recognised in the mullah regime that followed the 1979 Iranian Revolution, the same repression that had already existed under the Shah. When SAID had the opportunity to get to know his mother for the first time as an adult – “Landschaften einer fernen Mutter” (2001) bears witness to this – he had to admit in the end that this encounter had failed, as had a reconciliation with his country of origin. SAID loved and needed the Persian language and culture, but his home, if there was a home for him, became the German language. And he became one of the most remarkable German poets, whose lyrical language, indeed the language of all his texts – because in addition to poems and psalms, he also wrote children’s books, essays, stories, autobiographical prose, radio plays, pictorial reflections and much more – had a purity, a kind of stripped-down clarity, a sharpness, a richness of perception and imagery that nevertheless had nothing ornamental or baroque about it. He received the Goethe Medal for his services to German language and culture in 2006; for his commitment to persecuted and imprisoned writers, he was awarded the Hermann Kesten Medal of the PEN Center, Germany and functioned as the president of this organisation between 2000-2002. Among other awards, he received the Literary Prize of the state capital of Munich, the Adelbert von Chamisso Prize, the Friedrich Rückert Prize and Cross of Merit on ribbon of the Federal Republic of Germany.

There was something radical about SAID – from the indignation, clear-sightedness and pain of his “Aufzeichnungen aus meinem Exil” (“Notes from my exile”) which was published under the title “Der lange Arm der Mullahs” (“The long arm of the mullahs”) in 1995, as well as his “Psalmen” (“Psalms”, 2007); from his “Liebesgedichte” (“Love poems”, 1989) to the stories in “flüstern gegen die wölfe” (“whisper against the wolves”, 2021). His radicality was as true to pain as to the desire for closeness and the overwhelmingness of love; it never grew tired of raging against injustice, abuse of power and persecution as well as the joy in the beauty of language and the possibility we have to transcend ourselves and our loneliness through language, devotion and the quest, which SAID was concerned with, for a non-denominational spirituality. SAID died of a heart attack in his apartment on 15th May 2021.

lord
I believe in the flesh
its profligacy and its obstinacy
and if through this tête-à-tête
I arouse your empty place
I will be filled with the hope
that our dialogue will become a prayer
for the lonely

SAID : “Psalms” (2007)

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Zum Tod von SAID
Die Sprache, das Gedicht, der Körper, das Exil

Der iranisch-deutsche Schriftsteller SAID.
Der iranisch-deutsche Schriftsteller SAID. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Isolde Ohlbaum

Am 15. Mai verstarb SAID im Alter von 73 Jahren. 2006 erhielt der iranisch-deutsche Schriftsteller die Goethe-Medaille. Ein Nachruf.

Von Martin Hielscher

Wenn SAID in den Verlag C.H.Beck kam, wo elf seiner Bücher und ein Hörbuch erschienen sind, in das Gebäude an der Ainmillerstraße in München, in dem auch das kleine Belletristikprogramm angesiedelt ist, war es, als würde sich gleichsam der Pulsschlag des Gebäudes beschleunigen. Von der Kollegin am Empfang, die einen persischen Nachnamen hat, auf den er gleich reagierte, über den Volontär, der bei einer seiner Lesungen gewesen war, was er registriert hatte, bis zu seinem Eintritt in mein Arbeitszimmer – er war auf eine überwältigende Weise präsent. Meist erzählte er einem schon beim Eintreten – er bekam einen Espresso, ich nahm ihm den Mantel ab, viele Jahre, bis zu seinem ersten schweren Herzinfarkt, rauchte er erstmal eine Zigarette – eine Anekdote, einen Witz, eine Begebenheit, ein Lektüreerlebnis. Er war immer makellos gekleidet, stellte sofort eine Verbindung her, verwickelte einen gleich in ein Gespräch, lächelnd, warm, nah. Und immer ging es dabei gleich um das Wesentliche – SAID war nie belanglos, so unterhaltsam, zugewandt, komisch er sein konnte. Das Wesentliche, wie könnte man es nennen? Die Sprache, das Gedicht, der Körper, das Exil, die Liebe, gerade auch die sexuelle, der Gesang, auch der religiöse, Schmerz, Verfolgung, Entwürdigung, aber auch Bilder, Musik, Freundschaft. 

SAID, 1947 in Teheran geboren, dessen Eltern sich schon vor seiner Geburt getrennt hatten und der bei seinem Vater aufwuchs, verließ den Iran mit 17 Jahren, lebte seit 1965 in München, hatte sich in der Studentenbewegung engagiert und erkannte im Mullah-Regime nach der Revolution 1979 im Iran die gleiche Repression, wie es sie schon unter dem Schah gegeben hatte. Als SAID als erwachsener Mann erstmals die Gelegenheit hatte, seine Mutter etwas kennenzulernen – „Landschaften einer fernen Mutter“ (2001) legt davon Zeugnis ab –, musste er am Ende begreifen, dass diese Begegnung gescheitert war und ebenso auch eine Versöhnung mit seinem Herkunftsland. SAID liebte und brauchte die persische Sprache und Kultur, aber seine Heimat, wenn es denn Heimat für ihn gab, wurde die deutsche Sprache. Und er wurde einer der bemerkenswertesten deutschen Dichter, dessen lyrische Sprache, ja die Sprache all seiner Texte, – denn er schrieb neben Gedichten und Psalmen auch Kinderbücher, Essays, Erzählungen, autobiographische Prosa, Hörspiele, Bildbetrachtungen und vieles mehr – eine Reinheit, eine Art abgebeizte Klarheit hatte, etwas Zugespitztes, ein Empfindungs- und Bildreichtum, der doch nichts Ornamentales oder Barockes hatte. Für seine Verdienste um die deutsche Sprache und Kultur erhielt er 2006 die Goethe-Medaille, für sein Engagement für verfolgte und inhaftierte Schriftsteller und Schriftstellerinnen die Hermann Kesten-Medaille des PEN-Zentrums Deutschland, dessen Präsident er auch von 2000-2002 war. Er erhielt unter anderen den Literaturpreis der Landeshauptstadt München, den Adelbert-von-Chamisso-Preis, den Friedrich-Rückert-Preis und das Verdienstkreuz am Bande der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

SAID hatte etwas Radikales – von der Empörung, der Klarsicht und dem Schmerz seiner „Aufzeichnungen aus meinem Exil“, die 1995 unter dem Titel „Der lange Arm der Mullahs“ erschienen, bis zu seinen „Psalmen“ (2007), von „Liebesgedichte“ (1989) bis zu den Geschichten in „flüstern gegen die wölfe“ (2021). Eine Radikalität, die dem Schmerz ebenso die Treue hält wie dem Verlangen nach Nähe und der Überwältigung durch die Liebe, die sich die Empörung über Ungerechtigkeit, Machtmissbrauch und Verfolgung ebenso wenig abhandeln lässt wie die Freude an der Schönheit der Sprache und der Möglichkeit, uns selbst und unsere Einsamkeit durch die Sprache, die Hingabe und die Suche nach einer nichtkonfessionellen Spiritualität, die SAID umtrieb, zu übersteigen. Am 15. Mai 2021 starb SAID in seiner Wohnung an einem Herzinfarkt.

herr
ich glaube an das fleisch
seine verschwendung und seine unbelehrbarkeit
und wenn ich durch dieses zwiegespräch
deinen leeren platz erwecke
so bin ich voller hoffnung
daß unser gespräch ein gebet werde
für die einsamen

SAID : „Psalmen“ (2007)

Top