Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Franco-German cultural institute opens in Palermo
Kultur Ensemble

The “Kultur Ensemble” is the new Franco-German cultural institute in Palermo. The Künstlerhaus Atelier Panormos – la Bottega is an integral part of this.
The “Kultur Ensemble” is the new Franco-German cultural institute in Palermo. The Künstlerhaus Atelier Panormos – la Bottega is an integral part of this. | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Palermo

The Franco-German cultural institute was opened in Palermo under the name “Kultur Ensemble”, the first bilateral cultural institute based on the Aachen Treaty.

Cultural cooperation represents an essential element of the Franco-German friendship. To deepen this commitment even further and address the challenges of the 21st century together, the Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel and the French President Emmanuel Macron signed the Aachen Treaty on 22 January 2019. In the field of culture, one of the ways in which Franco-German cooperation can be strengthened is through joint cultural institutes. Up until now, there has been a Franco-German cultural centre in Ramallah, run by the Goethe-Institut and the Institut français since 2004. The first Franco-German cultural institute has now been opened in Palermo under the name “Kultur Ensemble”. Present at the inauguration were the Minister of State at the Federal Foreign Office Michelle Müntefering, the French Secretary of State Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne, the Italian Secretary of State Benedetto della Vedova and Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut.

Pioneer of cultural integration in Europe

At the opening, the Minister of State at the Federal Foreign Office Michelle Müntefering said: “We are delighted about the opening of the Franco-German cultural institute in Palermo. It is an important step in the implementation of the Aachen Treaty of 22 January 2019. We are creating a joint cultural platform, stepping up our cooperation and taking responsibility for Europe. The past year has shown us how much we need contact with each other and that challenges are easier to overcome when we face them together. In partnership with our Italian partners, the Franco-German cultural institute will be a pioneer in promoting cultural integration in Europe, internally and externally.”

Speaking on behalf of the French, the Secretary of State Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne said: “I am really pleased today to be able to open the world’s first Franco-German cultural institute: The Künstlerhaus Atelier Panormos – la Bottega represents the first step taken by the 'Kultur Ensemble' initiative.”

Europe reimagined

Johannes Ebert, Secretary General and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Goethe-Institut highlighted the special importance of the opening in Italy: “European cooperation is a top priority for the Goethe-Institut. It is a great opportunity to very specifically test out this innovative and intensive form of European cooperation in daily work. It is symbolic that our first cooperation – the 'Kultur Ensemble' – has started with a joint building in Palermo: Firstly in Italy, a founding EU member state, and secondly in Sicily, where Europe has always met with other cultures. Because these days, if Europe wants to be successful, there has to be internal cohesion and the willingness to cooperate with the world. 'Kultur Ensemble' embodies both of these aspects. I am particularly happy that our Franco-German-Italian residency programme, with its studio character, focuses so strongly on artistic cooperation – because Europe must continually be reimagined and reflected upon. The arts are essential for this.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Erstes Deutsch-Französisches Kulturinstitut in Palermo eröffnet
Kultur Ensemble

Das „Kultur Ensemble“ ist das neue Deutsch-Französische Kulturinstitut in Palermo. Das Künstlerhaus Atelier Panormos – la Bottega ist ein Bestandteil hiervon.
Das „Kultur Ensemble“ ist das neue Deutsch-Französische Kulturinstitut in Palermo. Das Künstlerhaus Atelier Panormos – la Bottega ist ein Bestandteil hiervon. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Palermo

Unter dem Namen „Kultur Ensemble“ wurde in Palermo das Deutsch-Französische Kulturinstitut eröffnet, das erste bilaterale Kulturinstitut auf der Grundlage des Aachener Vertrags.

Die kulturelle Zusammenarbeit stellt einen wesentlichen Bestandteil der deutsch-französischen Freundschaft dar. Um dieses Engagement noch weiter zu vertiefen und den Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts gemeinsam zu begegnen, haben die deutsche Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und Frankreichs Präsident Emmanuel Macron am 22. Januar 2019 den Aachener Vertrag unterzeichnet. Für den Bereich Kultur ist darin die Stärkung der deutsch-französischen Zusammenarbeit unter anderem durch gemeinschaftliche Kulturinstitute vorgesehen. Bisher gab es ein Deutsch-Französisches Kulturzentrum, das seit 2004 in Ramallah vom Goethe-Institut und dem Institut français betrieben wird. Nun wurde das erste Deutsch-Französische Kulturinstitut (DFKI) unter dem Namen „Kultur Ensemble“ in Palermo eröffnet. Bei der Eröffnung anwesend waren die Staatsministerin im Auswärtigen Amt Michelle Müntefering, der französische Staatssekretär Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne, der italienische Staatssekretär Benedetto della Vedova sowie Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts.

Vorreiter des kulturellen Zusammenwachsens von Europa

Die Staatsministerin im Auswärtigen Amt Michelle Müntefering sagte anlässlich der Eröffnung: „Wir freuen uns über die Eröffnung des Deutsch-Französischen Kulturinstituts in Palermo. Sie ist ein wichtiger Schritt bei der Umsetzung des Aachener Vertrags vom 22. Januar 2019. Wir schaffen eine gemeinsame kulturelle Plattform, intensivieren unsere Zusammenarbeit und übernehmen Verantwortung für Europa. Gerade das vergangene Jahr hat gezeigt, wie sehr wir Begegnungen brauchen und dass wir zusammen Herausforderungen besser meistern. In Kooperation auch mit unseren italienischen Partnern wird das DFKI ein Vorreiter dabei sein, das kulturelle Zusammenwachsen Europas nach innen und außen weiter voranzubringen.“

Von französischer Seite betonte der Staatssekretär Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne: „Ich freue mich sehr, heute das erste Deutsch-Französische Kulturinstitut der Welt eröffnen zu dürfen: Das Künstlerhaus Atelier Panormos – la Bottega stellt den ersten Akt der Initiative ,Kultur-Ensemble' dar."

Europa neu imaginieren

Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär und Vorstandsvorsitzender des Goethe-Instituts, betonte die besondere Bedeutung der Eröffnung in Italien: „Die europäische Zusammenarbeit hat für das Goethe-Institut eine hohe Priorität. Es ist eine große Chance, diese innovative und intensive Form der europäischen Zusammenarbeit ganz konkret in der täglichen Arbeit zu erproben. Dass wir die erste Kooperation ,Kultur-Ensemble' mit einem gemeinsamen Gebäude in Palermo beginnen, hat Symbolkraft: In Italien als EU-Gründungsland einerseits und in Sizilien andererseits, wo Europa schon immer mit anderen Kulturen zusammentrifft. Denn wenn Europa erfolgreich sein will, geht es gerade in heutigen Zeiten um inneren Zusammenhalt und die Bereitschaft zur Zusammenarbeit mit der Welt. Beides verkörpert „Kultur Ensemble“. Besonders froh bin ich, dass unser deutsch-französisch-italienisches Residenzprogramm mit seinem Ateliercharakter sich so stark auf die künstlerische Zusammenarbeit fokussiert – denn Europa muss immer wieder neu imaginiert und reflektiert werden. Dafür sind die Künste unerlässlich."

Top