Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Goethe Medal awarded
“Their art connects cultures”

The award winners: Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa, Wen Hui ( f.l.t.r.)
The award winners: Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa, Wen Hui ( f.l.t.r.) | Photos (details): f.l.t.r.: © Max Mbakop, © Kaz Ishikawa, © Richy Wong

The Goethe Medal was awarded on 28th August as an official badge of honour of the Federal Republic of Germany. A digital award ceremony was held to honour Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa and Wen Hui for their contributions to international cultural exchange.

“Culture is a special kind of juice – in the global community’s web” was the motto of this year’s award ceremony. Christina von Braun, cultural scientist and vice-president of the Goethe Institute, explains: “Artists are among the most important protagonists in the digital communication apparatus that, although it connects us with each other, can also turn us against each other. They teach us to see and read with different eyes as well as to hear with different ears. In other words, they are mediators of the ability to differentiate that we need in our interconnected world.”
 
This year, social economist and president of the cultural organisation doual’art, Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell from Cameroon, composer Toshio Hosokawa from Japan and dancer and choreographer Wen Hui from China received the prestigious award. The winners of the 2021 Goethe Medal were honoured at a digital ceremony created in cooperation with Deutsche Welle, Germany’s international broadcasting corporation.
The Goethe Institute’s President Carola Lentz opened the ceremony with an exhortation by 2017 Goethe Medal winner Urvashi Butalia from India: “‘Freedom of expression has never been as important as it is today. We need transparency and the ability to take criticism, and we need to learn from each other’. I am very pleased that we are honouring the cultural and civic engagement of Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa and Wen Hui with the Goethe Medal today.”
 
The award winners were once again unable to come to Germany this year due to the coronavirus pandemic. Only dancer and choreographer Wen Hui was in Weimar, where Carola Lentz awarded her the Goethe Medal in the Anna Amalia Library after the digital ceremony was broadcast. Carena Schlewitt, theatre scholar and artistic director of the European Centre for the Arts HELLERAU, honoured her with a laudation. Art historian and curator Mahret Ifeoma Kupka gave the laudatory speech for Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell and conductor Alexander Liebreich did so for Toshio Hosokawa. The audience watched the award ceremonies and film portraits of this year’s award winners via livestream.
 
A special programme dedicated to the 2021 Goethe Medal award ceremony also took place as part of the Weimar Art Festival. Among other things, the MUSIKFABRIK ensemble performed the concert “Stunden-Blumen – Vertical Time Study” by award winner Toshio Hosokawa, Wen Hui gave the world premiere of her dance performance “I am 60” and Carola Lentz discussed international cultural work in times of the coronavirus pandemic with the director of the Weimar Art Festival, Rolf C. Hemke.

Livestream video: Digital ceremony in honour of the winners of the 2021 Goethe Medal

Livestream video (YouTube): Digital ceremony in honour of the winners of the 2021 Goethe Medal

The award winners:

Social economist and president of the cultural organisation doual’art, Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell from Cameroon, was honoured for her forward-looking ideas on coming to terms with colonial injustice as well as for her civic engagement and international cultural work.

Toshio Hosokawa from Japan, one of the best-known composers of contemporary music, is being honoured for his distinctive musical language, which he creates based on the tension between “Western” and traditional Japanese culture.

Wen Hui, choreographer and co-founder of the Living Dance Studio, among the dance theatre avant-garde in China, is being honoured for her impressive search (not limited by official narratives) for traces at the interface of art, theatre, dance and documentary film.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille
„Ihre Kunst verbindet die Kulturen.“

Die Preisträger*innen: Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa, Wen Hui (v.l.n.r.)
Die Preisträger*innen: Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa, Wen Hui (v.l.n.r.) | Fotos (Ausschnitte): v.l.n.r.: © Max Mbakop, © Kaz Ishikawa, © Richy Wong

Am 28. August wurde die Goethe-Medaille als offizielles Ehrenzeichen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland verliehen. In einem digitalen Festakt wurden Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa und Wen Hui für ihr Engagement im internationalen Kulturaustausch ausgezeichnet.

„Kultur ist ein besonderer Saft – im Netz der globalen Gemeinschaft“ hieß das Motto der diesjährigen Preisvergabe. Christina von Braun, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Vizepräsidentin des Goethe-Instituts, erläutert: „Künstler*innen gehören zu den wichtigsten Akteur*innen des digitalen kommunikativen Apparates, der uns miteinander verbindet, aber auch gegeneinander lenken kann. Sie lehren uns, mit anderen Augen zu sehen und zu lesen, mit anderen Ohren zu hören, das heißt, sie sind Mittler jener Differenzierungsfähigkeit, derer wir in der vernetzten Welt bedürfen.“
 
Dieses Jahr wurden die Sozialökonomin und Präsidentin der Kulturorganisation doual’art, Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell aus Kamerun, der Komponist Toshio Hosokawa aus Japan und die Tänzerin und Choreografin Wen Hui aus China mit dem renommierten Preis ausgezeichnet. Die Preisträger*innen der Goethe-Medaille 2021 wurden mit einem in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Welle entstandenen digitalen Festakt geehrt.
Die Präsidentin des Goethe-Instituts Carola Lentz eröffnete die Veranstaltung mit einem Appell der Goethe-Medaille-Preisträgerin 2017 Urvashi Butalia aus Indien: „‚Niemals zuvor hatte die Meinungsfreiheit so viel Gewicht wie heute. Wir brauchen Transparenz und Kritikfähigkeit, und wir müssen voneinander lernen‘. Ich freue mich sehr, dass wir heute das kulturelle und zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement von Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell, Toshio Hosokawa und Wen Hui mit der Goethe-Medaille auszeichnen.“
 
Auch in diesem Jahr konnten die Preisträger*innen aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie nicht gemeinsam nach Deutschland kommen. Einzig Tänzerin und Choreografin Wen Hui war in Weimar, wo ihr in der Anna Amalia Bibliothek nach der Übertragung des digitalen Festakts die Goethe-Medaille durch Carola Lentz verliehen wurde. Carena Schlewitt, Theaterwissenschaftlerin und Intendantin des Europäischen Zentrums der Künste HELLERAU, ehrte sie mit einer Laudatio. Auf Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell hielt die Kunstwissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin Mahret Ifeoma Kupka die Laudatio, auf Toshio Hosokawa der Dirigent Alexander Liebreich. Das Publikum konnte via Livestream die Würdigungen mitsamt Filmporträts der diesjährigen Preisträger*innen mitverfolgen.
 
Im Rahmen des Kunstfests Weimar fand darüber hinaus ein besonderes Programm zur Vergabe der Goethe-Medaille 2021 statt. Unter anderem führte das Ensemble MUSIKFABRIK das Konzert „Stunden-Blumen – Vertical Time Study“ des Preisträgers Toshio Hosokawa auf, Wen Hui zeigte die Uraufführung ihrer Tanz-Performance „I am 60“ und Carola Lentz diskutierte mit dem Leiter des Kunstfests Weimar, Rolf C. Hemke über internationale Kulturarbeit in Zeiten der Pandemie.

Live-Stream-Video auf YouTube: Digitaler Festakt zu Ehren der Preisträger*innen der Goethe-Medaille 2021 | Goethe-Institut

Die Preisträger*innen:

Die Sozialökonomin und Präsidentin der Kulturorganisation doual'art Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell aus Kamerun wurde für ihre zukunftsweisenden Ideen zur Aufarbeitung kolonialen Unrechts sowie für ihr zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement und internationales kulturelles Schaffen geehrt.

Toshio Hosokawa aus Japan, einer der bekanntesten Komponisten zeitgenössischer Musik, wird geehrt für seine unverwechselbare Musiksprache, die er aus der Spannung zwischen „westlicher“ und traditioneller japanischer Kultur schafft.

Wen Hui, Choreografin und Mitbegründerin des Living Dance Studios, zählt zur Avantgarde des Tanztheaters in China und wird dafür geehrt, dass sie an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Theater, Tanz und Dokumentarfilm in ihren Stücken eine eindrückliche Spurensuche betreibt, jenseits offizieller Narrative.

Top