Book Launch "Epic Annette" with Anne Weber & Tess Lewis

Anne Weber (author) and Epic Annette book cover © Hermance Triay (Anne Weber photo) & The Indigo Press (book cover)

Tue, 06.09.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Book Launch: Epic Annette

We are delighted to present, in cooperation with the Institut Français in London, the new English translation of the prose poem Epic Annette by Anne Weber (published by The Indigo Press). The book, which won the German Book Prize 2020, was originally published both in German (Annette, ein Heldinnenepos)  and French (Annette, une épopée).  Discussing the title in front of a live audience will be author Anne Weber, translator Tess Lewis, and publisher Susie Nicklin.

Epic Annette is the extraordinary true story of Annette Beaumanoir: brilliant and fierce, she was a medical student living in a world at war who, aged 19, joined the French Resistance and saved the lives of two Jewish children in Paris on the eve of their deportation to the camps.

Dramatic Escape

As a doctor and mother devoted to justice and equality, Annette was later found guilty of treachery for supporting the Algerian FLN in France and was sentenced to ten years in prison. The story of her dramatic escape, trial in absentia and decades in exile, separated from her children, resembles that of the great heroes whose love for individuals had to compete with their destiny and love of humanity.

Epic Annette will remain with you forever. With this gripping personal tale of heroism and grief, author Anne Weber's work recalls Homer in her ability to conjure a titan in an epic poem. 

Book Tickets Through Eventbrite

Anne Weber © Hermance Triay ANNE WEBER is a German-French author, translator into both French and German and self-translator. She studied in Paris and has worked for several publishers. Anne started writing and publishing in French, but immediately translated her first book Ida invente la poudre into German as Ida erfindet das Schießpulver. Since then, she has written each of her books in French and German.
In 2005 she received the 3Sat award at the Festival of German Language Literature. For her translation of Pierre Michon's work she received the Europäischer Übersetzerpreis Offenburg. She was awarded the 2020 German Book Prize for Annette, ein Heldinnenepos which has sold more than 200,000 copies.

Tess Lewis © Sarah Shatz TESS LEWIS has received many accolades and awards, including two PEN Translates grants and has been shortlisted for British prizes including the Schlegel-Tieck award (2019 for Lutz Seiler's Kruso, published by Scribe) and the Oxford/Weidenfeld Translation Prize.

Susie Nicklin © Sarah Hickson


SUSIE NICKLIN
began her career at The Bodley Head publishers and co-founded foreign rights specialist The Marsh Agency in 1993. She was Director of English PEN from 2002 – 2005, and inaugurated its translation programme (now PEN Translates). She was Director of Literature at the British Council from 2005 – 2013, creating international literary partnerships and events.  
From 2015 – 2019 she was the owner of award-winning independent bookshop Dulwich Books, and she produced and directed ten literary festivals in that time. She founded The Indigo Press in 2018.

 

Back

Buchvorstellung "Annette, ein Heldinnenepos" mit Anne Weber und Tess Lewis

Anne Weber (Autorin) and Epic Annette book cover © Hermance Triay (Anne Weber Bild) & The Indigo Press (Buchcover)

Di, 06.09.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Preisgekröntes Werk in englischer Übersetzung

Wir freuen uns sehr, die englische Übersetzung der Gewinnerin des Deutschen Buchpreises 2020 in Kooperation mit dem Institut Français in London vorstellen zu dürfen. Epic Annette von Anne Weber wurde ursprünglich auf Deutsch (Annette, ein Heldinnenepos) und auf Französisch (Annette, une épopée) veröffentlicht. Im Herbst 2022 erscheint nun die englische Version bei The Indigo Press. Die Autorin Anne Weber, die Übersetzerin Tess Lewis und die Verlegerin Susie Nicklin werden das Buch vor einem Live-Publikum diskutieren.

Epic Annette ist die außergewöhnliche wahre Geschichte von Annette Beaumanoir: Die brilliante und kämpferische Medizinstudentin schloss sich im Alter von 19 Jahren der französischen Résistance an und rettete zwei jüdischen Kindern in Paris das Leben, die deportiert werden sollten.

Dramatische Flucht

Als Ärztin und Mutter, die sich für Gerechtigkeit und Gleichheit einsetzte, wurde Annette später wegen Unterstützung der algerischen FLN in Frankreich des Verrats für schuldig befunden und zu zehn Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt. Die Geschichte ihrer dramatischen Flucht, ihres Prozesses in Abwesenheit und ihres jahrzehntelangen Exils, getrennt von ihren Kindern, ähnelt der Geschichte großer Held*innen, deren Liebe zu einzelnen Menschen mit ihrem Schicksal und ihrer Liebe zur gesamten Menschheit konkurrieren musste.

Epic Annette wird Ihnen für immer in Erinnerung bleiben. Mit dieser fesselnden persönlichen Geschichte von Heldentum und Trauer erinnert die Autorin Anne Weber an Homer, der einen Titanen in ein episches Gedicht zu zaubern verstand. 

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen

Anne Weber © Hermance Triay ANNE WEBER ist eine deutsch-französische Autorin, Übersetzerin ins Französische und Deutsche und Selbstübersetzerin. Sie hat in Paris studiert und für verschiedene Verlage gearbeitet. Anne begann auf Französisch zu schreiben und zu veröffentlichen, übersetzte aber gleich ihr erstes Buch Ida invente la poudre ins Deutsche als Ida erfindet das Schießpulver. Seitdem hat sie jedes ihrer Bücher auf Französisch und Deutsch geschrieben. 
Im Jahr 2005 erhielt sie den 3Sat-Preis beim Festival der deutschsprachigen Literatur. Für ihre Übersetzung des Werks von Pierre Michon erhielt sie den Europäischen Übersetzerpreis Offenburg. Für Annette, ein Heldinnenepos, das sich mehr als 200.000 Mal verkauft hat, wurde sie mit dem Deutschen Buchpreis 2020 ausgezeichnet.

Tess Lewis © Sarah Schatz TESS LEWIS hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Preise erhalten, darunter zwei PEN-Translations-Stipendien, und stand auf der Shortliste für britische Preise, darunter der Schlegel-Tieck-Preis (2019 für Lutz Seilers Kruso, erschienen bei Scribe Verlag) und der Oxford/Weidenfeld Translation Prize.




Susie Nicklin © Sarah Hickson SUSIE NICKLIN begann ihre Karriere beim Verlag The Bodley Head und war 1993 Mitbegründerin der auf Foreign Rights spezialisierten Agentur The Marsh Agency. Von 2002 bis 2005 war sie Direktorin des English PEN und rief dessen Übersetzungsprogramm ins Leben (heute PEN Translates). Von 2005 bis 2013 war sie Direktorin für Literatur beim British Council, wo sie internationale literarische Partnerschaften und Veranstaltungen aufbaute.  
Von 2015 bis 2019 war sie Inhaberin der preisgekrönten unabhängigen Buchhandlung Dulwich Books und hat in dieser Zeit zehn Literaturfestivals organisiert und geleitet. Im Jahr 2018 gründete sie The Indigo Press.

 

Zurück