Residency Goethe at LUX
Resident Artist 2017:
Liz Rosenfeld

Liz Rosenfeld Photo: Liz Rosenfeld © Alexa Vachon

Mon, 01.05.2017 -
Mon, 31.07.2017

LUX + GOETHE-INSTITUT LONDON

LUX + Goethe-Institut London


We are pleased to announce Liz Rosenfeld as the first artist in residence for the newly established Goethe at LUX Residency.

Liz Rosenfeld is a Berlin based artist utilizing disciplines of film, video and live performance, to convey a sense of past and future histories. Rosenfeld is invested in concepts of how history can be queered and experienced through the moment and the ways in which it is lived and remembered. She explores how we identify ourselves with in/out community and social poly-relationship configurations.
 
Rosenfeld is part of the queer/feminist Berlin based moving image production collective NowMomentNow, and is also one of the founding members of the food-performance group foodGASM, a satellite project of nowMomentnow, which explores the intersection of creative labor, food and industry.
 
Since her move to Berlin in 2008, Rosenfeld continues to work as a performer, dramaturge and film/video director. She has received several grants from the city of Berlin in support of her performance and film work. She is currently working with the Berlin-based production company AMARID BIRD Films on her new film works. Her film work is represented and distributed by Video Data Bank.
 
Her work has been screened and performed internationally at venues including Tate Modern, the Hayward Gallery, the V&A,  Rivington Place  (all in London) // The C/O Gallery, The Hebbel am Ufer Theatre (both in Berlin),the Kunsthaus Dresden, the  Hammer Museum (Los Angeles), The Kitchen (New York City). She has been profiled in publications including Art Review and Camera Obscura, as well as Missy Magazine. She received her Master of Fine Arts from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in 2005, followed by a Master in Performance Studies from Tisch School of The Arts at New York University in 2007. Rosenfeld is currently working on her first solo performance work, If You Ask Me What I Want, I’ll Tell You. I Want Everything, premiering at Sophiensaele, Berlin in November 2017.

As the Goethe-Institut Artist in Residence at LUX, Liz Rosenfeld will continue her creative body of research that she has been working on for the last year and half regarding the themes and characters in her first feature film, a futuristic queer speculative fiction work called FOXES. During her time at LUX, Liz will conduct extensive research regarding the changing queer and ecological history of Hampstead Heath, with the intention of creating live queer-eco walking tours of this historic park. Together, with LGBTQI youth, Liz will present a live cinematic performance, where each teenager will be asked to inhabit the main character of her film, Ruby, a 16 year old girl coming out as part of the last generation of humans on earth. As part of these cinematic performances the various guises of Ruby will take the audience on a journey through Hampstead Heath, providing a glimpse into the future that Ruby is growing up in. Through this work, Liz hopes to investigate how the demise and destruction of the natural ecology of public space effects and has potentially erased queer history and queer public meeting spaces.
 
Newly established in 2017, the Goethe at LUX residency is for artists based in Germany and working with moving image to be undertaken in London. The residency is offered by the Goethe-Institut London and LUX, the UK agency for the support and promotion of artists’ working with the moving image in London, UK.
 

(Back) to event series

Back

Residenz Goethe at LUX
Resident Artist 2017:
Liz Rosenfeld

Liz Rosenfeld Foto: Liz Rosenfeld © Alexa Vachon

Mo, 01.05.2017 -
Mo, 31.07.2017

LUX + GOETHE-INSTITUT LONDON



Wir freuen uns, Liz Rosenfeld als erste Künstlerin der neu etablierten Goethe at LUX Residency ankündigen zu können.

Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin Liz Rosenfeld nutzt Film, Video und Live-Performances, um ein Gefühl für vergangene und zukünftige Interpretationen von Geschichte zu vermitteln. Rosenfelds besonderes Interesse liegt auf den Fragestellungen, wie Geschichte von einem queeren Standpunkt verstanden und im Moment erfahren werden kann, in welcher Weise sie gelebt und erinnert wird. Sie untersucht, wie wir unsere Identität inner-/außerhalb unserer Community und unserer komplexen sozialen Beziehungskonfigurationen definieren.
 
Rosenfeld gehört zu dem Berliner queeren/feminstischen Filmproduktionskollektiv NowMomentNow und ist ein Gründungsmitglied der Performance-Gruppe foodGASM, einem Satellitenprojekt von NowMomentNow, das die Schnittstelle von kreativer Arbeit, Nahrungsmitteln und Industrie erforscht.
 
Seit ihrem Umzug nach Berlin im Jahr 2008 arbeitet Rosenfeld als Performerin, Dramaturgin und Film- und Videoregisseurin. Ihre Performances sowie ihre filmische Arbeit wurden durch mehrere Stipendien der Stadt Berlin unterstützt. Zurzeit arbeitet sie mit der Berliner Produktionsfirma AMARID BIRD Films an ihren neuen Filmprojekten. Ihre filmischen Arbeiten werden durch Video Data Bank in New York repräsentiert.
 
Ihre Arbeiten wurden u.a. von folgenden Museen und Galerien präsentiert: Tate Modern, Hayward Gallery, Victoria & Albert Museum, Rivington Place (alle in London) // C/O Gallery, Hebbel am Ufer (beide in Berlin) // Kunsthaus Dresden // Hammer Museum (Los Angeles) und The Kitchen (New York City). Ihr künstlerisches Profil erschien in Zeitschriften wie Art Review, Camera Obscura oder Missy Magazine. Rosenfeld schloss ihr Studium an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago 2005 mit einem Master of Fine Arts ab und erhielt ihren Master in Performance Studies an der Tisch School of the Arts an der New York City University im Jahr 2007. Rosenfeld bereitet zurzeit ihre erste Solo-Perfomance If You Ask Me What I Want, I’ll Tell You. I Want Everything vor, die im November 2017 in den Sophiensaelen in Berlin ihre Premiere haben wird.
 
Als Residenzkünstlerin beim Goethe-Institut und bei LUX wird Liz Rosenfeld Themen und Charaktere für ein Projekt weiterentwickeln, an dem sie seit anderthalb Jahren arbeitet – der queere, futuristisch-spekulative Film Foxes, ihr erster Spielfilm. Während der Residenz wird Rosenfeld sich intensiv mit der queeren und ökologischen Geschichte des im Norden London gelegenen Parks Hampstead Heath beschäftigen, um zu diesen Themen konzipierte, organisierte Spaziergänge durch die historische Parklandschaft zu erarbeiten. Zusammen mit sich als LGBTQI identifizierenden Jugendlichen wird Rosenfeld eine filmische Performance präsentieren, bei der jeder der Teenager in die Rolle der Hauptfigur von Foxes schlüpfen wird: Ruby ist 16 Jahre alt und erlebt als einer der letzten auf der Erde überlebenden Menschen ihr Coming-Out. Im Rahmen dieser filmischen Performances werden die verschiedenen Ruby-DarstellerInnen zu Fremdenführern, die die Zuschauer mit auf eine Reise durch Hampstead Heath nehmen, um ihnen einen Einblick in die Zukunft zu geben, in der Ruby aufwachsen wird. Mit dieser Arbeit möchte Rosenfeld untersuchen, wie das Verschwinden und die Zerstörung der natürlichen Ökologie öffentlicher Räume möglicherweise zur Auslöschung queerer Geschichte und queerer öffentlicher Treffpunkte beigetragen hat.
 
Die 2017 etablierte Goethe at LUX Residency richtet sich an in Deutschland lebenden Künstler und Künstlerinnen, die mit dem Bewegtbild arbeiten. Die Residenz wird vom Goethe-Institut London in Zusammenarbeit mit LUX angeboten, der in London angesiedelten, britischen Organisation für die Unterstützung und Förderung von KünstlerInnen, die mit dem Bewegtbild arbeiten.
 


(Zurück) zur Veranstaltungsreihe

Zurück