Film Screening In Georgia

In Georgia © DEFA Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Fri, 08.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

A rare screening of Jürgen Böttcher’s beautiful 1987 travelogue to the director’s dream destination. A tribute to a country and its people and to the first glance of an encounter.

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT!

The screening is organised in partnership with Life Through Cinema, home of the Georgian Film Festival since 2010.

After the screening please share your impressions and join us for a reception with Georgian wine kindly provided by Les Caves de Pyrene and Pheasant’s Tears.


One of Jürgen Böttcher’s most personal projects, this is the record of a journey that he undertook in 1987 together with his then regular cameraman Thomas Plenert and the sound technician Ebehard Pfaff. It was Böttcher’s first film shot abroad and a project he had been dreaming of ever since discovering the work of the Georgian painter Nico Pirosmani in an exhibition in Berlin in the 1960s. Following an exploratory visit a year earlier, they went on their second trip to shoot, see new locations, to gather new impressions and meet new people. It was spontaneity and immediacy they were after on their journey, which took them from the ancient capital of Mtskheta, via the region of Adjara on the Black Sea to the villages of the Upper Svanetian Caucasus. As Böttcher says in the beginning of the film: “Rather than a comprehensive film about Georgia, this film is perhaps a rural portrait, and is subjective as well. We didn't seek out the country’s many achievements, or political conflicts. We were guests for a short time, and in all the villages we visited, what we treasured most was the first glance of an encounter and the rhythm of a foreign language, without feeling the need to understand everything.” What Böttcher doesn’t mention here is their obvious enchantment with the country’s natural landscapes, so stunningly captured in the film's long panorama shots and, a rarity in Böttcher’s oevre, in beautifully vibrant colours.
 
In Georgia (In Georgien), GDR 1987, colour, 35mm, 105 mins. With English subtitles.
Directed by Jürgen Böttcher, Camera: Thomas Plenert, Sound: Eberhard Pfaff. Editor: Gudrun Plenert.

 
The screening will be introduced by Tamar Koplatadze, Oxford University.

Her introduction to this screening will explore how Jürgen Böttcher became interested in Georgia, then still a Soviet country not yet swept over by the wave of dissident movements, and highlight intriguing connections between Böttcher and famous Georgian artists and film directors, including Niko Pirosmani and Otar Iosseliani.
 
Tamar Koplatadze is a researcher at the University of Oxford focusing on literature and film from post-Soviet Caucasus and Central Asia. She is also interested in cross-cultural dialogues between the former Soviet Union and Western Europe. Tamar has discussed her research on various platforms, among them BBC Radio 3, The Calvert Journal, London Georgian Film Festival, Tyneside Georgian Film Festival, and GoViral Almaty festival of ideas.




This screening is organised in partnership with   Life Through Cinema


You may also be interested in the book launch of Englsh translation of award winning Georgian-born writer Nino Haratischvili's novel The Eighth Life on Thursday, 28 November 2019 at the Goethe-Institut. More information here.

 

Back

Film In Georgien

In Georgien © DEFA Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Fr, 08.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Böttchers filmischer Reisebericht aus dem Jahr 1987 beschreibt die Erfüllung eines lang gehegten Wunsches. Eine Hommage an ein Land und seine Menschen und den ersten Blick einer Begegnung.

Die Veranstaltung ist ausverkauft.

Unsere Partner bei dieser Veranstaltung ist Life Through Cinema, Veranstalter des Georgischen Film Festivals seit 2019.

Im Anschluss an den Film laden wir zu seinem Glas georgischen Weins ein gesponsert von Les Caves de Pyrene und Pheasant’s Tears.


Dieser sehr persönliche Film Jürgen Böttchers dokumentiert eine Reise, die er 1987 zusammen mit seinem Kameramann Thomas Plenert und dem Tontechniker Ebehard Pfaff unternahm. Es war Böttchers erster Film im Ausland und ein Projekt, von dem er geträumt hatte, seitdem er in den sechziger Jahren das Werk des georgischen Malers Nico Pirosmani in einer Ausstellung in Berlin entdeckt hatte. Nach einem erstem Erkundungsbesuch im Vorjahr folgte der eigentlich Trip für die Dreharbeiten - wieder neue Orte, Eindrücke und Begegnungen. Spontaneität und Unmittelbarkeit waren, was sie auf ihrer Reise suchten, die sie von der alten Hauptstadt Mzcheta über die Region Adscharien am Schwarzen Meer bis in die Bergdörfern Svanetiens im oberen Kaukasus führte. Wie Böttcher zu Beginn des Films kommentiert: „Das kann kein umfassender Film über Georgien sein, nur ein ländlicher Ausschnitt gewissermaßen, und subjektiv dazu. Wir suchten keine besonderen Errungenschaften, an denen das Land reich ist, auch keine politischen Konflikte. Gäste für kurze Zeit fanden und genossen wir als Kostbarstes überall in den Dörfern den ersten Blick der Begegnung, die Melodie der fremden Sprache, ohne alles verstehen zu wollen.“ Was Böttcher nicht erwähnt, ist ihre offensichtliche Faszination für die Natur und Landschaften Georgiens, die sie für den Film in langen Panoramaeinstellungen und – eine Seltenheit in Böttchers Werk  – in wunderschönen, leuchtenden Farben eingefangen haben.
 
In Georgien, DDR 1987, Farbe, 35mm, 105 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Jürgen Böttcher, Kamera: Thomas Plenert, Ton: Eberhard Pfaff. Schnitt: Gudrun Plenert.

 
Mit einer Einführung von Tamar Koplatadze, Oxford University.

In ihrer Einführung wird Tamar Koplatadze sowohl darauf eingehen, wie sich Jürgen Böttchers Interesse an dem damals noch sowjetischen Georgien entwickelte, als auch auf die Verbindungen zwischen Böttcher und berühmten georgischen Künstlern und Regisseuren, darunter Niko Pirosmani und Otar Iosseliani aufzeigen.

Tamar Koplatadze ist Researcher an der Oxford University mit dem Schwerpunkt Literatur und Film aus dem postsowjetischen Kaukasus und Zentralasien. Sie interessiert sich auch für den interkulturellen Dialog zwischen der ehemaligen Sowjetunion und Westeuropa. Tamar Koplatadze hat ihre Forschungsthemen auf diversen Plattformen präsentiert, u.a. auf BBC Radio 3, im Calvert Journal, dem London Georgian Film Festival, dem Tyneside Georgian Film Festival und dem GoViral Almaty Festival of Ideas.


DIE VERANSTALTUNG IST AUSVERKAUFT!


Die Veranstaltung wurde in Partnerschaft mit Life Through Cinema organisiert.


Vielleicht interessieren Sie sich auch für die Buchvorstellung der englischen Übersetzung von Das Achte Leben der preisgekrönten in Georgien geborenen Autorin Nino Haratischvili am Donnerstag, den 28. November 2019 im Goethe-Institut. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
 

Zurück