Film Screenings Jürgen Böttcher - Short Film Programme One: Part 1

Jürgen Böttcher: Laundry Women Jürgen Böttcher: Laundry Women © DEFA-Stiftung, Werner Kohlert

Sun, 27.10.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

A selection of Jürgen Böttcher's early films, from Three of Many (1961) his personal portrait of three artist friends in Dresden, to Laundry Women (1972), his second film about women at work.

The screening will be introduced by Diana Mavroleon.

 
Three of Many (Drei von vielen)
 
Böttcher’s first film for the state-run production company DEFA (Studio for News Reels and Documentary Films), it was also his first key film, a rarely personal work in which he used the opportunity to present a portrait of three of his artist friends from Dresden. Even though it showed workers making art and thus followed the “Bitterfeld Path” declared by the GDR government in 1959, it was immediately banned on completion and remained unseen until 1988. His depiction of the creative worker was too informal and individualistic. Three of Many links three essential elements of Böttcher’s biography: his relationship to Dresden as well as to his WW2 and post-war experience; the connection to his parallel life as a painter; his love of jazz.
 
GDR 1961, b/w, DCP (35mm), 33 mins. With English subtitles.
 
 
Furnace Makers (Ofenbauer)
 
In this explicitly observational work, Böttcher documents how in the Ironworks Combine East, a new blast furnace, over 65 metres high and weighing almost 2000 tons, is moved by 18 metres to replace its predecessor. Instead of taking the usual 80 days, the goal is to complete the task in half the time. The film thus implicitly illustrates an important propagandistic theme of the GDR - workers exceeding a planned objective through camaraderie, Herculean work and meticulous planning. The film was much admired by state officials and awarded the Silver Dove at the important International Leipzig Documentary and Short Film Week. Böttcher, however, avoids all drama and from the opening shot onwards, Böttcher’s signature becomes increasingly apparent: no mood-building music over the titles, minimum propagandistic phraseology in the commentary, authentic/original sounds from the construction site, action led by the workers themselves, direct observation, (revealing Böttcher’s close relationship to cinema verité), and a choreographic approach through the dynamics of montage.
 
GDR 1962, b/w, DCP (35mm), 15 mins. With English subtitles.
 
 
The Party Secretary (Der Sekretär)
 
Regarded by Böttcher as his penance for making the banned Three of Many, this is the portrait of Grimmer, a selfless Party secretary serving in the Chemical Combine Buna in Saxony, where he is trying to support the mainly female workforce through understanding and training. Grimmer seems out of place with his authentic idealism, appears as an almost novelistic character scarcely existing in the industrial reality of the GDR.
 
GDR 1967, b/w, DCP (35mm), 29 mins. With English subtitles.
 
 
Laundry Women (Wäscherinnen)
 
Again Böttcher takes up the theme of portraying people engaged in a collective work effort. Here it is apprentices in the large-scale, state-run laundry VEB Revatex in Berlin whom Böttcher observes across steam-filled work areas. Sound is used in layers and to punctuate the images. At ease with themselves and Böttcher’s questions, the women use the space they are given to speak their own language and to express their small and large concerns in life, including criticism of their work place: ”Finally, one could hear a few more truthful words, at least a few small bits of truth, even if only through gestures.” (Jürgen Böttcher). 
 
GDR 1972, b/w, DCP (35mm), 23 mins. With English subtitles.
 
 
Total Running Time: 100 minutes


Diana Mavroleon works with experimental and documentary film; a programme maker for Resonance Radio, a founder member of European Media Arts Network and a correspondent for S.E. Asia. She is currently researching a documentary feature on: ‘The impact of globalization on the hereditary musicians of the Thar Desert in Western Rajasthan’. Diana is also a qualified bio-dynamic gardener and landscape/garden designer.

 

Back

Film Jürgen Böttcher Kurzfilme - Programm 1: Teil 1

Jürgen Böttcher: Wäscherinnen Jürgen Böttcher: Wäscherinnen © DEFA-Stiftung, Werner Kohlert

So, 27.10.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

Eine Auswahl von Jürgen Böttchers frühen Kurzfilmen, von seinem persönlichen Portrait dreier Dresdener Künstlerfreunde, Drei von vielen (1961), bis zu Wäscherinnen (1972) seinem zweiten Film über berufstätige Frauen in der DDR.  

Mit einer Einführung von Diana Mavroleon.


Drei von vielen
 
Böttchers erster Film im DEFA Studio für Wochenschauen und Dokumentarfilme ist ein Schlüsselfilm, ein sehr persönliches Werk, in dem er drei seiner Dresdner Künstlerfreunde portraitiert. Obwohl er hier Arbeiter zeigt, die sich künstlerisch betätigen und damit dem 1959 stattlich befürworteten „Bitterfelder Weg“ entsprach, wurde der Film sofort nach seiner Fertigstellung verboten und erst 1988 zum ersten Mal öffentlich gezeigt. Böttchers Darstellung des kreativen Arbeiters war dann doch zu informell und individualistisch. Drei von vielen verbindet drei wesentliche Elemente in Böttchers Biografie: seine Beziehung zu Dresden und seinen Erfahrungen im Zweiten Weltkriegs und in der Nachkriegszeit, seine parallele Karriere als Maler und seine Liebe zum Jazz.
 
DDR 1961, s/w, DCP (35mm), 33 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
 

Ofenbauer
 
In diesem ersten Film Böttchers über Menschen bei der Arbeit dokumentiert der Regisseur, wie im Eisenhüttenkombinat Ost an der Oder ein neuer über 65 Meter hoher und fast 2000 Tonnen schwerer Hochofen um 18 Meter auf den Platz des Vorgängerofens verschoben wird. Anstatt in den üblichen 80 Tagen soll die Aufgabe in der Hälfte der Zeit vollbracht werden. Damit illustriert der Film implizit ein wichtiges propagandistisches Thema in der DDR - Arbeiter, die durch Kameradschaft, Anstrengung und sorgfältige Planung ein geplantes Ziel überschreiten. Der Film wurde dementsprechend von offiziellen Stellen gelobt und bei der wichtigen Internationalen Leipziger Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmwoche mit der Silbernen Taube ausgezeichnet. Böttcher vermeidet jedoch jedes Drama. Es liegt keine stimmungsbildende Musik über den Titeln, der Kommentar ist eher faktisch, den Soundtrack bilden die originalen Geräusche von der Baustelle, die Arbeiter handeln eigenständig. Die Betonung liegt ganz auf der Beobachtung (hier zeigt sich Böttchers Nähe zum Cinema Verité) und deren choreografischen Dynamisierung im Schnitt.
 
DDR 1962, s/w, DCP (35mm), 15 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.

 
 
Der Sekretär
 
Böttcher verstand diesen Film über einen engagierten Parteisekretär als Buße für seinen verbotenen Films Drei von vielen. Grimmer ist Sekretär im sächsischen Chemiekombinat Buna, wo er geduldig und mit Verständnis, die hauptsächlich weibliche Belegschaft durch Dialog und Interesse sowie durch die Ermutigung zu Weiterbildung unterstützt. Grimmer scheint mit seinem authentischen Idealismus fehl am Platz zu sein, erscheint als fast romanhafter Charakter, der in der industriellen Realität der DDR kaum existierte.

DDR 1967, s/w, DCP (35mm), 29 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
 
 
Wäscherinnen
 
Wieder greift Böttcher das Thema kollektiv zusammen arbeitende Menschen auf. Hier sind es Auszubildende in der staatlichen Großwäscherei VEB Revatex in Berlin, die Böttcher durch mit Dampf gefüllte Hallen beobachtet. Die vor Ort gefundenen Geräusche werden übereinander gelagert und zur Rhythmisierung der Bilder verwendet. Die Frauen wirken gelöst und reagieren entspannt auf Böttchers Fragen. Sie sprechen ihre eigene Sprache und nutzen den Raum, den der Film ihnen bietet, um über ihre kleinen und großen Sorgen zu sprechen, auch Kritik an ihrem Arbeitsplatz zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

DDR 1972, s/w, DCP (35mm), 23 mins. Mit englischen Untertiteln.

Dauer: 100 Minuten

Diana Mavroleon arbeitet mit Experimental- und Dokumentarfilm. Sie macht Programme für Resonance Radio, ist Gründungsmitglied des European Media Arts Network und ist Korrespondentin für S.E. Asia. Zurzeit recherchiert sie für einen Dokumentarfilm über ‘den Einfluss der Globalisierung auf die traditionellen Musiker in der Thar Wüste im Western Rajasthan’. Daneben ist sie auch als qualifizierte biodynamische Gärtnerin und Landschafts-/Gartendesignerin tätig.  


 
 

Zurück