Award & Concert MERCK-TAGORE AWARD 2019

Kris Manjapra © Foto von "German and Indian Intellectuals across Empire"

Sun, 20.10.2019

6:00 PM - 7:15 PM

Coomaraswamy Hall

Public Award Ceremony

The Merck-Tagore Award is sponsored by Merck Limited, India, granted by the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan India as represented by the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai.
This year the award will be presented to Professor Kris K. Manjapra for his contribution towards intercultural exchange between India and Germany.

The public award ceremony is scheduled for 20th October 2019 during the 50 year jubilee of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai, the award will be handed over by the jury, in presence of Dr. Stangenberg-Haverkamp from the Merck-Family.
The ceremony will consist of a laudation, a talk by the awardee and a cultural programme with Ulrike Almut Sandig & Alif.

About the Merck-Tagore Award

The Merck-Tagore Award was created in 2012 to honour the life and work of Rabindranath Tagore. During his visits to Germany, the Indian Nobel Laureate represented India as an ambassador and appealed for better understanding of India and its culture.
The Merck-Tagore Award was granted for the first time during the events marking the Tagore Year of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata in March 2012. It will be granted every two years on or around Tagore’s birthday, to a person who has made a special contribution to cultural exchange between Germany and India. It consists of an award medal, certificate and prize money supported by Merck Ltd. 
The 2012 Award was granted to Dr. Martin Kämpchen, the well-known writer on Indian culture, translator of Tagore and Ramakrishna from Bengali to German and journalist. The 2014 Award was granted to Prof. Dr. Pramod Talgeri, renowned former head of German at JNU Delhi, former head of EFLU Hyderabad, vice-president of the Indian Goethe-Association, and acting president of the Indo German teachers association. Indian psychoanalyst and writer Sudhir Kakar was the recipient of the third award in 2016.