Matthew Ruppert House
German Roots in Washington

  • The façade of the Matthew Ruppert House, August 2010. Image credit: Goethe-Institut Washington/William Gilcher
    The façade of the Matthew Ruppert House, August 2010.
Matthew Ruppert emigrated from Herbstein, in the hills of the Vogelsbergkreis in today's Bundesland of Hesse as a child and joined the American military at age twenty-one, just one year before John Brown's raid on Harper's Ferry, where he was wounded in the attack. After the Civil War, he kept a successful tavern at 1003 Seventh Street NW. In 1904, he commissioned architect Julius Wenig to design this house at 611 K Street NW.  

Ruppert died May 3, 1919, aged 83. The house at 611 K Street NW has been a commercial building for many years and currently houses a hair salon (2010). The Ruppert family continues to be active in Washington life.

 

Julius Wenig, Architect

Julius Wenig was born in Frankfurt am Main in 1872. He came to the United States when he was 17 years old. After a brief time in Chicago, he came to Washington, where he had a successful career as an architect, designing, building, or remodeling many buildings, including the Mercantile Savings Bank on 10th Street NW, Georgetown’s Kesher Israel Synagogue (1931), a number of row houses and commercial buildings on Capitol Hill and elsewhere, movie theaters, and other buildings. For many years, he served as treasurer of the Washington chapter of the American Institute of Architects. He was a member of St. Mary Mother of God Church and died in 1940 in Washington.

Matthew Ruppert House
Wenig Rowhouses, 1400, 1402, 1404 First Street, SW
Mercantile Savings Bank

Matthew Ruppert Haus
Deutsche Spuren in Washington

 

  • Die Fassade des Matthew Ruppert House, August 2010. Image Credit: Goethe-Institut Washington/William Gilcher
    Die Fassade des Matthew Ruppert House, August 2010.


Matthew Ruppert emigrierte als Kind aus Herbstein, das in den Hügeln des Vogelsbergkreises im heutigen Hessen liegt. Er trat im Alter von 21 Jahren der amerikanischen Armee bei; ein Jahr später schon wurde er bei John Browns Angriff auf Harper’s Ferry verwundet. Nach dem Bürgerkrieg führte Ruppert eine erfolgreiche Kneipe in der Seventh Street 1003. Im Jahr 1904 erteilte Matthew Ruppert dem deutschstämmigen Architekten Julius Wenig den Auftrag für den Hausbau in der K Street NW 611.

Ruppert starb am 3. Mai 1919 im Alter von 83 Jahren. Das Haus in der K Street war lange Jahre für kommerzielle Zwecke genutzt worden; zurzeit befindet sich darin ein Friseursalon (seit 2010). Die Ruppert Familie ist in Washington weiterhin aktiv am öffentlichen Leben beteiligt.

 

Julius Wenig, Architekt

Julius Wenig wurde 1872 in Frankfurt am Main geboren. Er kam als Siebzehnjähriger in die USA. Nach einer kurzen Zeit in Chicago kam er nach Washington, wo er eine erfolgreiche Karriere als Architekt machte. Er entwarf, baute und renovierte zahlreiche Gebäude, darunter die Mercantile Savings Bank auf der 10th Street NW, Georgetowns Kesher Israel Synagogue (1931), einige Reihenhäuser und Geschäftsgebäude auf dem Capitol Hill und anderswo, Kinos und weitere Gebäude. Über viele Jahre diente Wenig als Schatzmeister der Washingtoner Abteilung des AIA (American Institute of Architects). Er war Mitglied der St. Mary Mother of God Church und starb 1940 in Washington. 

Matthew Ruppert House
Mercantile Savings Bank
Wenig Rowhouses, 1400, 1402, 1404 First Street, SW