Conversation Berlin Alexanderplatz (2020): Conversation with the Filmmaker

Qurbani/Grundmann Burhan Qurbani©Malik Vitthal/Roy Grundmann©Mark Hennessey

Sun, 03/28/2021

Online

Accompanying the film screening online March 19-21 and 26-28

Please pre-register Burhan Qurbani talks with Roy Grundmann, Professor of Film at Boston University about his new interpretation of Alfred Döblin’s classic novel. Qurbani’s award-winning adaption (Silver Bear at last year Berlinale, 5 German Film Awards) reimagines the petty criminal, Franz Biberkopf as an illegal immigrant from Guinea Bissau while Rainer Werner Fassbinder made the story relevant by simply presenting it as a period piece, leaving the audience to draw their own parallels between the divided Berlin of that time and the depressed Weimar Republic city of Doblin’s novel.

  Burhan Qurbani ©Malik Vitthal Burhan Qurbani was born in 1980 in Germany after his parents moved there in 1979 as political refugees from Afghanistan. His father was a civilian employee in the U.S. Army and so Burhan grew up in different cities all over Germany. In 2002, he started studying film directing at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. For his short films he received the Short Film Prize of German Film Critics, the German Camera Prize for best short and the “Black Pearl” for the best upcoming filmmaker at the Middle East International Film Festival in 2008. His graduation film, Shahada (2010), premiered in competition at the 60th Berlinale in 2010 and was critically acclaimed and awarded at many festivals around the world. His second feature, We are young. We are strong (2014) opened the competition at Rome IFF and Hof IFF and received multiple awards worldwide.



Roy Grundmann ©Mark Hennessey Before earning his graduate degrees in the United States, Roy Grundmann studied film and literature in Germany and England. Focusing on film in its modernist and postmodernist context, he publishes on American and European narrative cinema, international avant-garde film, film theory and cultural theory, and gay and lesbian film history and queer theory. He is the author of Andy Warhol’s Blow Job (Temple University Press), the editor of A Companion to Michael Haneke (Wiley-Blackwell), and a co-editor of the four-volume The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film. Grundmann is the curator of several landmark film series, including the first comprehensive retrospective of the films of Michael Haneke. Grundmann’s publications have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies. He is a contributing editor of Cineaste magazine.

Back

Diskussion Berlin Alexanderplatz (2020): Gespräch mit dem Filmemacher

Qurbani/Grundmann Burhan Qurbani©Malik Vitthal/Roy Grundmann©Mark Hennessey

So, 28.03.2021

14:00 Uhr - 14:30 Uhr
EST

online

Begleitend zum Film Streaming, 19.-21. und 26.-28. März

Bitte hier voranmelden Burhan Qurbani spricht mit Professor Roy Grundmann, der an der Boston University Film unterrichtet über seine Neuinterpretation eines der bedeutendsten Prosawerke des letzten Jahrhunderts. Qurbanis preisgekrönte Neuverfilmung von Berlin Alexanderplatz (Silberner Bär, Berlinale 2020 und 5 deutsche Filmpreise) macht aus Franz Biberkopf, dem unglückseligen Proletarier und Hauptfigur aus Döblins Roman, einen Geflüchteten aus Guinea-Bissau namens Francis. Während Fassbinder in seinem 15-stündigen TV Klassiker (1980) die Stimmung der 20er Jahre zwischen Exzess und Abgrund einfängt, verlegt Qurbani die Handlung in die Gegenwart.

Burhan Qurbani ©Malik Vitthal Burhan Qurbanis Eltern fliehen 1979 als politisch Verfolgte nach Deutschland. Durch die Arbeit seines Vaters bei der US Army wächst Burhan in verschiedenen deutschen Städten auf. Nach seinem Abitur 2000 sammelt er Erfahrungen am Staatstheater Stuttgart und am Stadttheater Hannover. 2002 nimmt er sein Studium Spielfilm-Regie an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg auf. Die hier von Burhan realisierten Kurzfilme werden auf vielen Filmfestivals auf der ganzen Welt ausgezeichnet. Shahada, Burhans Diplomfilm, läuft auf der 60. Berlinale 2010 im Wettbewerb. Der Film wird hier und auf vielen anderen internationalen Festivals mit Preisen gewürdigt. Als Teil des Omnibus-Projekts 20x Brandenburg, initiiert von Andreas Dresen, dreht Burhan die Kurz-Dokumentation Krieger ohne Feind. Das Projekt wird 2011 mit dem Grimme-Preis geehrt. Burhans zweiter Spielfilm Wir sind jung. Wir sind stark. eröffnet im Oktober 2014 sowohl den Wettbewerb der Internationalen Filmfestspiele in Rom als auch die Hofer Filmtage und wird mehrfach ausgezeichnet und erreichte in Deutschland über 100.000 Zuschauer.




Roy Grundmann ©Mark Hennessey Roy Grundmann studierte Literatur und Film in Deutschland und England bevor er seine Studien in den USA abschloss. Im Zentrum seiner Forschung steht der Film im modernistischen und post-modernistischen Kontext. Er veröffentlicht Beiträge zum europäischen und amerikanischen Kino, dem internationalen avant-garde Film, Filmtheorie und kulturelle Theorie, sowie schwule und lesbische Filmgeschichte. Sein Buch Andy Warhol’s Blow Job erschien bei Temple University Press. Er ist Herausgeber von A Companion to Michael Haneke (Wiley-Blackwell), und Mitherausgeber des vierbändigen Werks The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film. Grundmann kuratierte mehrere bahnbrechende Filmreihen, darunter die erste umfassende Retrospektive der Filme von Michael Haneke. Grundmanns Artikel erschienen in zahlreichen Fachzeitschriften und Anthologien. Er ist Mitherausgeber des Magazins Cineaste.

Zurück