Music +++ Postponed +++ The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

Concerthall Beethoven

Mon, 04/06/2020

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

4th Concert 2020

Due to growing concerns about Covid-19 (Coronavirus) we have decided to cancel the event. The concert broadcast will be rescheduled. Thank you for your understanding.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle
Soloist: Jonathan Kelly

Richard Strauss
Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra in D major, o. op. 144

Jonathan Kelly oboe

Ludwig van Beethoven
Christus am Ölberge (Christ on the Mount of Olives), Oratorio, op. 85

Iwona Sobotka soprano
Benjamin Bruns tenor
David Soar baritone
Rundfunkchor Berlin, Simon Halsey chorus master

Christus am Ölberge is the only oratorio by Ludwig van Beethoven. The work was first performed in Vienna on April 5, 1803, a Tuesday during Holy Week, but was not published until 1811. Therefore it carries the relatively high opus number 85 in Beethoven's catalogue of works. Beethoven sent his pupil Ferdinand Ries with the trombone parts to the rehearsing orchestra on the morning of the premiere day, after he had worked them out the night before. Prince Karl Lichnowsky, who was present at the rehearsals, provided the exhausted musicians with sandwiches, cold meat and wine.