Artist Residency for Mouse on Mars Composing in a Roundabout Way

Jan St. Werner from Mouse on Mars while composing in a roundabout way.
Jan St. Werner from Mouse on Mars while composing in a roundabout way. | Photo: Michael Akstaller

Where to go with the sound? With the support of the Goethe-Institut, the electro duo Mouse on Mars will be guest in an artist residency at the MIT in Boston. They explore new sound design and mixing technologies. We interviewed Jan St. Werner about multi-perspective experimenting and composing. 

Mouse on Mars have been guests at MIT since early March. What are your plans there?

We’re working on a surround sound implementation of our new album project Dimensional People. For one, we plan to set up a loudspeaker system that can distribute sounds accurately in a space through so-called wave field synthesis. We also want to work with anthropologists, cultural scientists, psychologists, ethnologists, physicists, visual artists and other people interested in sound on an alternative genealogy of sound in which several aspects of a different understanding of sound are discussed. That is, we’re working on the deconstruction of music in spatial, technical and theoretical contexts; we’re composing in a roundabout way.

How sound moves

What’s everyday life like in an artist residency? What are you dealing with?

Musically, we’re working directly on a spatial sound system by d&b Audiotechnik, which is being installed in a warehouse in Somerville. We experiment with the spatialisation and spatial movement of sounds, the perception of sounds and how they change in our awareness. We’ll share with various guests who are working on similar experiments. With Ben Bloomberg, for example, who’s inventing new diffusion techniques, or Nicole L’Huillier, who’s working on an interactive space that is also a sound instrument and light object. Other guests explore the cultural historical meanings of sound, space, dance, movement and waves.

You’re very experimental with your music: What are the unique opportunities offered to you at MIT?

At MIT they are very open to experiments whose applications have yet to be precisely defined. Here there are both young and experienced academics who want to share their knowledge and are open to new technologies and research approaches. As an experimental pop group, Mouse on Mars offers some starting points. Since I taught at MIT several times and know the structures of the institute, we can easily reach a large group of interested people and develop new methods of multi-perspective experimenting and composing.

Andi Toma and Jan St. Werner from Mouse on Mars. Andi Toma and Jan St. Werner from Mouse on Mars. | Photo: Michael Akstaller

Experimental impulses and sound interventions

You also co-organise the Dissolve Music Symposium. What is that about?

About a year ago, together with Ian Condry, a professor at the Global Studies and Languages Department, I began to develop plans for a sound symposium that would bring together academics from around the world to explore new experimental, social and cultural issues and discuss technical models. My students from the Dynamic Acoustic Research class at the Nuremberg Academy of Fine Arts will also participate in the programme with specially developed sound interventions.

An artist residency is also about making new contacts and looking at ideas in new contexts. How did the change of location inspire you and what will you take home with you?

In addition to the technical and academic opportunities already mentioned, there are a large number of independent and private actors in Boston. The density of productivity is more concentrated than in Berlin or New York, while at the same time getting to know and cooperating with one another is unpretentious. For us, working in Cambridge provides an ultra-compressed research, learning and production environment.

Künstlerresidenz Mouse on Mars Komponieren über Bande

Jan St. Werner von Mouse on Mars beim Komponieren über Bande
Jan St. Werner von Mouse on Mars beim Komponieren über Bande | Foto: Michael Akstaller

Wohin bloß mit dem Klang? Das Elektro-Dou Mouse on Mars ist mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts in einer Künstlerresidenz des MIT in Boston zu Gast. Es erforscht neues Sound Design und Mixing Technologien. Ein Interview mit Jan St. Werner über das multiperspektivische Experimentieren und Komponieren.

Seit Anfang März sind Mouse on Mars zu Gast am MIT. Was habt ihr dort vor?

Wir arbeiten an einer Raumklangumsetzung unseres neuen Albumprojekts Dimensional People. Zum einen werden wir dafür eine Lautsprecheranlage aufbauen, die Klänge durch sogenannte Wellenfeldsynthese punktgenau im Raum verteilen kann, zum anderen wollen wir mit Anthropologen, Kulturwissenschaftlerinnen, Psychologen, Ethnologinnen, Physikern, Bildenden Künstlerinnen und anderen Soundinteressierten an einer alternativen Genealogie von Klang arbeiten, in der unterschiedliche Aspekte eines anderen Verständnisses von Klang diskutiert werden. Das heißt, wir arbeiten an der Dekonstruktion von Musik in räumlichen, technischen und theoretischen Kontexten, wir komponieren über Bande.

 

Wie sich Klang bewegt

Wie sieht denn der Alltag in so einer Künstlerresidenz aus? Womit beschäftigt ihr euch?

Musikalisch arbeiten wir direkt über eine Spatialsoundanlage der Firma d&b Audiotechnik, die in einem Warehouse in Somerville aufgebaut wird. Wir experimentieren mit der Verräumlichung und räumlichen Bewegung von Klängen, der Wahrnehmung von Klängen und wie sie sich in unserem Bewusstsein verändern.  Wir werden uns mit unterschiedlichen Gästen austauschen, die mit ähnlichen Experimenten arbeiten. Zum Beispiel mit Ben Bloomberg, der neue Diffusionstechniken erfindet, oder Nicole L’Huillier, die an einem interaktiven Raum arbeitet, der auch Soundinstrument und Lichtobjekt ist. Weitere Gäste erkunden kulturhistorische Bedeutungen von Klang, Raum, Tanz, Bewegung und Wellen.

Ihr seid mit eurer Musik sehr experimentierfreudig: Was sind die besonderen Möglichkeiten, die euch am MIT geboten werden?

Die Offenheit gegenüber Experimenten, deren Anwendungen noch nicht exakt zu definieren sind, ist am MIT groß. Hier finden sich sowohl junge als auch erfahrene Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die ihr Wissen teilen wollen und aufgeschlossen gegenüber neuen Technologien und Forschungsansätzen sind. Als experimentelle Popgruppe bieten sich bei Mouse on Mars einige Anknüpfungspunkte. Da ich ja bereits schon mehrmals am MIT gelehrt habe und die Strukturen des Instituts kenne, können wir unkompliziert eine große Gruppe von Interessierten erreichen und neue Verfahren des multiperspektivischen Experimentierens und Komponierens entwickeln.

Andi Toma und Jan St. Werner von Mouse on Mars Andi Toma und Jan St. Werner von Mouse on Mars | Foto: Michael Akstaller

Experimentelle Impulse und Soundinterventionen

Ihr richtet auch das Dissolve Music Symposium mit aus. Worum geht es da?

Zusammen mit Ian Condry, Professor am Global Studies und Languages Department, habe ich vor ca. einem Jahr begonnen, Pläne für ein Sound Symposium zu entwickeln, bei dem Akademikerinnen und Akademiker aus der ganzen Welt zusammenkommen, um von Sound ausgehend neue experimentelle, gesellschaftliche und technische Modelle zu diskutieren. Auch meine Studenten der Klasse Dynamische Akustische Forschung der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg werden sich mit eigens entwickelten Soundinterventionen am Programm beteiligen.

Bei einer Künstlerresidenz geht es auch darum, neue Kontakte zu knüpfen und Ideen in neuen Kontexten zu betrachten. Inwiefern hat euch der Ortswechsel inspiriert und was nehmt ihr mit nach Hause?

Neben den bereits genannten technischen und akademischen Möglichkeiten findet man in Boston eine große Anzahl unabhängiger und privater Akteure. Die Dichte an Produktivität ist konzentrierter als in Berlin oder New York, und gleichzeitig ist das Kennenlernen und Kooperieren unprätentiös. Für uns bietet das Arbeiten in Cambridge eine ultrakomprimierte Forschungs-, Lern- und Produktionsumgebung.