bauhaus imaginista A Mosaic of Fragments

Alice Creischer, “To Philipp Tolziner,” 2018 (Detail)
Alice Creischer, “To Philipp Tolziner,” 2018 (Detail) | Photo: Silke Briel

The next bauhaus imaginista exhibition Moving Away – The Internationalist Architect has opened at Moscow’s Garage Museum of Contemporary Art. In it, the curatorial team illuminates the forgotten work of the former Bauhaus director Hannes Meyer.

The bauhaus imaginista project traces the tradition of the Bauhaus beyond its working history in Weimar, Dessau and Berlin from 1919 to 1933. Using a multi-perspective approach, it understands the Bauhaus – a phenomenon that would fundamentally shape modernity – as a complex international fabric. The focus is on diverse but long-neglected relationships of European Modernism and movements in Asia, Africa, North and South America. The aim is to depart from the Eurocentric narrative perspective and thus make new narratives visible. 

Marion von Osten and Grant Watson, curators of bauhaus imaginista Marion von Osten and Grant Watson, curators of bauhaus imaginista | Photo: Silke Briel

Escape to the Soviet Union

Each bauhaus imaginista exhibition is based on a specific object developed by Bauhaus masters and students. The Moscow chapter Moving Away – The Internationalist Architect takes a collage by Marcel Breuer as a starting point for how the Bauhaus, with its maxims of design, but also its political orientation, was further developed by actors in the former Soviet Union.
 
The exhibition centres on the architect and urban planner Hannes Meyer. As successor to Walter Gropius, he had taken over the office of director of the Bauhaus in 1928, but was fired in 1930 because of his ideological and political activities, and then emigrated to the Soviet Union together with a group of Bauhaus students.

Artist Doreen Mende uses the “Reading Area” by Tatiana Efrussi and Daniel Talesnik Artist Doreen Mende uses the “Reading Area” by Tatiana Efrussi and Daniel Talesnik | Photo: Silke Briel

Between the Lines

In the ensuing years, Meyer worked as a leading figure in communist urban planning. Defamed by Gropius and others as a traitor to Bauhaus ideas and long depicted by researchers as a technocratic functionalist, the exhibition in Moscow expands our view of the complexity and ambiguity of his work. It shows a number of his works on paper influenced by artistic developments such as Suprematism, but also highlights his questionable role within the ruling political Soviet system.
 
To trace Meyer’s story, curators Marion von Osten and Grant Watson and their team drew upon scattered, archival source materials across Europe, often reading between the lines. The story is thus a mosaic of fragments of the work of Hannes Meyer, long ignored by historians.


 Visitors at the opening of Moving Away: The Internationalist Architect Visitors at the opening of Moving Away: The Internationalist Architect | Photo: Silke Briel

Basic research in architectural history

One genuine find shown in the exhibition is the work “Hamhung’s Two Orphans” (2018) by Doreen Mende. In overlapping fields of images and texts, she traces the unknown work of Bauhaus student Konrad Püschel in North Korea in the 1950s. The group later known in the GDR as the “Red Bauhaus Brigade” was responsible for the reconstruction of the cities of Hamhung and Hungnam, which had been destroyed in the Korean War – buildings that still stand today and that characterise the two North Korean city centres.
 
They symbolise the need to interpret the binary world order of the Cold War with its classic fronts of Washington and Moscow as a narrative of multifarious actors in changing, complex relationships. Mende’s work here accomplishes basic research in architectural history and, through poetic photographic documents from the files of Konrad Püschel, provides insights into a barely known period of North Korean history.

Anastasia Mityushina, Kuratorin im Garage Museum of Contemporary Art Anastasia Mityushina, Kuratorin im Garage Museum of Contemporary Art | Foto: Silke Briel Last but not least, the exhibition space, the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, is worth a visit: The bold, frosted glass bar by OMA / Rem Koolhaas (2011-2015) basically builds on a pavilion erected in the 1960s using prefabricated concrete modules and makes the Communist past visible through a large wall mosaic and other set pieces.

bauhaus imaginista Ein Mosaik aus Bruchstücken

Alice Creischer, To Philipp Tolziner, 2018 (Detail)
Alice Creischer, To Philipp Tolziner, 2018 (Detail) | Foto: Silke Briel

Im Moskauer Garage Museum of Contemporary Art eröffnet die nächste „bauhaus imaginista“-Ausstellung „Moving Away – The Internationalist Architect“. Das Kuratoren-Team beleuchtet das in Vergessenheit geratene Werk des ehemaligen Bauhaus-Direktors Hannes Meyer.

Das Projekt „bauhaus imaginista“ verfolgt die Traditionslinien des Bauhauses über seine Wirkungsgeschichte in Weimar, Dessau und Berlin von 1919 bis 1933 hinaus. Mit einem multiperspektivischen Blick versteht es das Bauhaus – ein die Moderne fundamental prägendes Phänomen – als komplexes internationales Gefüge. Im Fokus stehen vielfältige, aber lange unbeachtete Beziehungen der europäischen Moderne zu Bewegungen in Asien, Afrika, Nord- und Südamerika. Ziel ist es, die eurozentrische Erzählperspektive zu verlassen und damit neue Narrative sichtbar werden zu lassen.

Marion von Osten und Grant Watson, Kuratorin und Kurator von „bauhaus imaginista“ Marion von Osten und Grant Watson, Kuratorin und Kurator von „bauhaus imaginista“ | Foto: Silke Briel

Flucht in die Sowjetunion

Jede „bauhaus imaginista“-Ausstellung geht von einem spezifischen Objekt aus, das von Bauhausmeistern und -studierenden entwickelt wurde. Das Moskauer Kapitel „Moving Away – The Internationalist Architect“ nimmt eine Collage von Marcel Breuer als Ausgangspunkt dafür, wie das Bauhaus mit seinen Maximen der Gestaltung, aber auch seiner politischen Ausrichtung von Akteuren in der ehemaligen Sowjetunion weiterentwickelt wurde.
 
Im Zentrum der Ausstellung steht der Architekt und Stadtplaner Hannes Meyer. Als Nachfolger von Walter Gropius hatte er 1928 die Direktorenstelle des Bauhauses übernommen, wurde aber 1930 aufgrund seiner politisch-ideologischen Aktivitäten geschasst und emigrierte anschließend zusammen mit einer Gruppe von Bauhaus-Studenten in die Sowjetunion.

Künstlerin Doreen Mende nutzt die „Reading Area“ von Tatiana Efrussi und Daniel Talesnik Künstlerin Doreen Mende nutzt die „Reading Area“ von Tatiana Efrussi und Daniel Talesnik | Foto: Silke Briel

Zwischen den Zeilen

In den nächsten Jahren arbeitete Meyer als führende Figur der kommunistischen Stadtplanung. Von Gropius und anderen als Verräter der Bauhausideen diffamiert und in der Forschung lange als technokratischer Funktionalist stilisiert, weitet die Ausstellung in Moskau den Blick auf die Komplexität und Zwiespältigkeit seines Werkes. Sie zeigt sowohl eine Reihe seiner von künstlerischen Entwicklungen wie dem Suprematismus beeinflussten Papierarbeiten, stellt aber auch seine fragwürdige Rolle innerhalb des herrschenden politischen Sowjetsystems heraus.
 
Um Meyers Geschichte nachzuzeichnen, schöpften die Kuratorin und der Kurator Marion von Osten und Grant Watson gemeinsam mit ihrem Team aus in ganz Europa verstreutem, in Archiven liegendem Quellenmaterial, und lasen dafür oftmals zwischen den Zeilen. Die Geschichte ist so ein Mosaik aus Bruchstücken des von Historikerinnen und Historikern lange ignorierten Werks von Hannes Meyer.

Besucherinnen und Besucher bei der Eröffnung von „Moving Away: The Internationalist Architect“ Besucherinnen und Besucher bei der Eröffnung von „Moving Away: The Internationalist Architect“ | Foto: Silke Briel

architekturhistorische grundlagenforschung

Eine echte Entdeckung ist die in der Ausstellung zu sehende Arbeit „Hamhung’s Two Orphans“ (2018) von Doreen Mende. In überlagernden Bild- und Textfeldern zeichnet sie die unbekannte Arbeit des Bauhausschülers Konrad Püschel in Nordkorea in den 1950er-Jahren nach. Die in der DDR später unter dem Namen „Rote Bauhaus Brigade“ bekannte Gruppe war maßgeblich für den Wiederaufbau der durch den Koreakrieg zerstörten Städte Hamhung und Hungnam verantwortlich – Bauten, die bis heute existieren und die beiden nordkoreanischen Stadtzentren prägen.
 
Sie stehen zeichenhaft dafür, dass die binäre Weltordnung des Kalten Kriegs mit der klassischen Frontstellung Washington–Moskau als eine Erzählung von mannigfaltigen Akteuren in wechselvollen, komplexen Beziehungen gelesen werden muss. Mendes Arbeit leistet hier architekturhistorische Grundlagenforschung und ermöglicht durch poetische Fotodokumente aus dem Archiv von Konrad Püschel Einblicke in eine kaum bekannte Zeit der nordkoreanischen Geschichte.

Anastasia Mityushina, Kuratorin im Garage Museum of Contemporary Art Anastasia Mityushina, Kuratorin im Garage Museum of Contemporary Art | Foto: Silke Briel Nicht zuletzt der Ausstellungsort, das Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, lohnt den Besuch: Der kühne, milchgläserne Riegel von OMA / Rem Koolhaas (2011-2015) baut im Kern auf einem in den 1960er-Jahren mit vorgefertigten Betonmodulen errichteten Pavillon auf und lässt die kommunistische Vergangenheit anhand eines großen Wandmosaiks und anderer Versatzstücke sichtbar.