Year of Germany in the USA Our American Friends

Mutual launch of the Year of Germany in the USA in Washington, DC
Mutual launch of the Year of Germany in the USA in Washington, DC | Photo: John Harrington

A warm late summer evening on German Unity Day in Washington, DC offered Federal Foreign Minister Heiko Maas the perfect setting to open the Year of Germany in the USA in the garden of the German Ambassador’s residence. “For us Germans, America is and will remain our most important partner outside Europe.” 

Work must be done on this partnership, Maas continued, saying, “That means creating new networks and promoting bonds that we have neglected for too long.” For since Donald Trump’s presidency at the latest, German-American friendship is no longer taken for granted. When the US president talks about Germany, it’s mostly about trade tariffs and defense spending. Trump and his constituents seem to have little interest in time-honoured alliances.

Heiko Maas talks about German-American partnership Heiko Maas talks about German-American partnership | Photo: John Harrington

German-American friendship  

 
And to take account of this fact, the Goethe-Institut, as project leader, has focused not only on the liberal cities on the east and west coasts, but also on the nation’s interior. Until the end of 2019, around 200 partners from both countries will participate; more than 1,000 events in all 50 US states are on the agenda. The Federal Foreign Office is funding this unique project with support from the Federation of German Industries.

Light installation by the Bremen artists’ collective URBANSCREEN Light installation by the Bremen artists’ collective URBANSCREEN | Photo: John Harrington Education, science, culture and business are among the wide range of interests aiming to provide for an exchange with American civil society. The motto “Wunderbar Together” is based on common values such as democracy and freedom, which have shaped and united Germany and the USA in their post-war history more than ever. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut, emphasised this in his speech and made it clear that it would be almost impossible to unravel the interdependence that has grown over the centuries, even if one or another stakeholder were to drop out.
 

Dialogue with US civil society

 
It is therefore only natural for the Goethe-Institut in the USA to expand its projects beyond its locations in Boston, Chicago, New York, Washington, San Francisco and Los Angeles. So Goethe Pop Ups will be opened in cities such as Houston, Kansas City, Seattle and Minneapolis with the aim of reaching those Americans in particular who have no relationship to Germany, or not beyond the clichés of German beer and football, with actions and events in the fields of education, culture and business.

Dance performance by the Flying Steps in front of the Lincoln Memorial Dance performance by the Flying Steps in front of the Lincoln Memorial | Photo: Nicole Glass Speaking of beer: With his “Wiesn in a Box,” Berlin designer Steen T. Kittl ties in with the Oktoberfest, which is extremely popular in the States. In cooperation with local beer gardens and bars, mini-Oktoberfests will be held throughout the year, with German beer and pretzels, of course. The German language will be brought to American high schools and universities by educational professionals in the “WanderbUS,” which will travel through 48 states to encourage pupils and students to learn German.
 

An important initiative at the right time

 
What can such dialogues achieve in this new era? Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, sees it this way: “Educational and cultural programmes in particular are effective means for addressing difficult issues in the German-American relationship and to achieve a common understanding. ‘Wunderbar Together’ is therefore an important initiative at just the right time.” 

Johannes Ebert conversing with Michelle Müntefering, Minister of State for International Cultural Policy Johannes Ebert conversing with Michelle Müntefering, Minister of State for International Cultural Policy | Photo: Marcus Sporkmann

Deutschlandjahr USA Der amerikanische Freund

Gemeinsamer Startschuss des Deutschlandjahres USA in Washington
Gemeinsamer Startschuss des Deutschlandjahres USA in Washington | Foto: John Harrington

Ein warmer Spätsommerabend am Deutschen Einheitstag in Washington bot Bundesaußenminister Heiko Maas den perfekten Rahmen, um im Garten der Residenz der deutschen Botschafterin das Deutschlandjahr USA zu eröffnen: „Für uns Deutsche ist und bleibt Amerika unser wichtigster Partner außerhalb Europas.“ 

An dieser Partnerschaft müsse man arbeiten, so Maas. „Das bedeutet, neue Netzwerke herzustellen und Bindungen zu fördern, die wir zu lange versäumt haben.“ Denn spätestens seit Donald Trumps Präsidentschaft gilt die deutsch-amerikanische Freundschaft nicht mehr als selbstverständlich. Wenn der US-Präsident über Deutschland spricht, geht es meist um Handelszölle und Verteidigungsausgaben. Und für althergebrachte Allianzen scheinen Trump und seine Wähler sich ohnehin wenig zu interessieren.

Heiko Maas über die deutsch-amerikanische Partnerschaft Heiko Maas über die deutsch-amerikanische Partnerschaft | Foto: John Harrington

Deutsch-amerikanische Freundschaft

 
Um diesem Umstand auch Rechnung zu tragen, hat sich das Goethe-Institut als Projektleiter nicht nur auf die liberalen Städte an der Ost- und Westküste, sondern auch auf das Innere des Landes konzentriert. Bis Ende 2019 beteiligen sich rund 200 Partner aus beiden Ländern; mehr als 1000 Veranstaltungen in allen 50 US-Bundesstaaten stehen auf dem Programm. Das Auswärtige Amt fördert dieses einzigartige Vorhaben, unterstützt vom Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie.

Lichtinstallation des Bremer Künstlerkollektivs URBANSCREEN Lichtinstallation des Bremer Künstlerkollektivs URBANSCREEN | Foto: John Harrington Bildung, Wissenschaft, Kultur und Wirtschaft gehören zu der breiten Palette, die für einen Austausch mit der amerikanischen Zivilgesellschaft sorgen soll. Das Motto „Wunderbar Together“ setzt an den gemeinsamen Grundwerten wie Demokratie und Freiheit an, die Deutschland und die USA in der Nachkriegsgeschichte mehr denn je geprägt und verbunden haben. Das bekräftigte auch Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, in seiner Ansprache und verdeutlichte, dass es schier unmöglich sei, die jahrhundertelang gewachsenen Verflechtungen zu entflechten, auch wenn der eine oder andere Akteur ausfalle.
 

Austausch mit der amerikanischen Zivilgesellschaft

 
Daher liegt es nahe, dass das Goethe-Institut in den USA mit eigenen Projekten über seine bereits existierenden Standorte in Boston, Chicago, New York, Washington, San Francisco und Los Angeles hinausgeht. Zum Beispiel werden in weiteren Städten wie Houston, Kansas City, Seattle und Minneapolis sogenannte „Goethe Pop Ups“ eröffnet, die mit Aktionen und Veranstaltungen aus den Bereichen Bildung, Kultur und Wirtschaft gerade diejenigen Amerikanerinnen und Amerikaner erreichen sollen, die keinen Bezug zu Deutschland haben beziehungsweise über die Klischees vom deutschen Bier und Fußball nicht hinausgehen.

Auftritt der Tanzgruppe Flying Steps vor dem Lincoln Memorial Auftritt der Tanzgruppe Flying Steps vor dem Lincoln Memorial | Foto: Nicole Glass Apropos Bier: Mit seinen „Wiesn in a Box“ knüpft der Berliner Designer Steen T. Kittl an das bei den Amerikanern äußerst beliebte Oktoberfest an. In Kooperation mit lokalen Biergärten und Bars werden über das ganze Jahr Mini-Wiesn ausgeführt, mit deutschem Bier und Brezn, versteht sich. Die deutsche Sprache wiederum wird mit dem „WanderbUS“ an amerikanische High-Schools und Universitäten gebracht. Quer durch 48 Bundesstaaten sollen Bildungsprofis Schüler und Studentinnen zum Deutschsprechen anregen.  
 

Eine wichtige Initiative zur richtigen Zeit

 
Was können solche Dialoge in diesen neuen Zeiten bewirken? Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, sieht es so: „Gerade Bildungs- und Kulturprogramme sind wirksam, um auch kritische Punkte im deutsch-amerikanischen Verhältnis anzusprechen und eine gemeinsame Verständigung zu erreichen. ‚Wunderbar Together‘ ist daher eine wichtige Initiative zur genau richtigen Zeit.“

Johannes Ebert im Gespräch mit Michelle Müntefering, Staatsministerin für internationale Kulturpolitik Johannes Ebert im Gespräch mit Michelle Müntefering, Staatsministerin für internationale Kulturpolitik | Foto: Marcus Sporkmann