Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

„AfriCourage“
The Power of Music

The Senegalese singer Baaba Maal performs.
The Senegalese singer Baaba Maal performs. | Photo (detail): © Alhagie Manka

“AfriCourage” is the first music festival from sub-Saharan Africa to be broadcast live by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). In December 2019, artists including Baaba Maal, Smockey and the Ensemble Modern joined Gambian stars on stage at the event in Banjul co-organised by the Goethe-Institut.

By Petra Kilian

“Let us join forces and give the young generation of Africa the support they need. Because they are the future!” calls Baaba Maal from the Gambia’s largest stage at Independence Stadium Bakau. Together with the Burkinabe rapper and activist Smockey, Gambian stars like Rapper Killa Ace, kora virtuoso Tatadindin Jobarteh and Afro manding star Sambou Suso, the Finnish Sami duo Wimme & Rinne and the Ensemble Modern from Germany, the Senegalese singer celebrated the power of music at the “AfriCourage” festival for almost eight hours on 28 December. One of the female artists performing on stage. One of the female artists performing on stage. | Photo (detail): © Alhagie Manka

Moving out of the comfort zone

“We want to demonstrate the power culture can have when it comes to strengthening civil society, freedom of expression and democracy,” explains Philip Küppers, director of the Goethe-Institut Senegal, which organised the festival together with its Gambian partner Black Lynx Entertainment.

“AfriCourage” is on the programme for the second day of the OpenMicFest, a Gambian music event that has been organised by Black Lynx Entertainment for over ten years. What started as a street action is today the best-known hip-hop festival in the country and an important space for civil society actors. “We want change and international cooperation. The only question is whether we’re ready for it,” says Badman Waagan, co-founder of Black Lynx Entertainment. “We have to move out of our comfort zone. ‘AfriCourage’ offers the opportunity to prove that change is there and that we welcome and shape it.” The OpenMicFest brings together around 15,000 people annually. The OpenMicFest brings together around 15,000 people annually. | Photo (detail): © Alhagie Manka

Rap and restitution

“AfriCourage”’s message of promoting cooperation, engagement, participation, tolerance and democracy is made audible by the „Liberation Orchestra of Inverted Traditions“ What is more appropriate than an orchestra made up of European and West African artists – including a Gambian hip-hop activist and a Senegalese academic? Known for his role in the restitution debate and his book Afrotopia, at “AfriCourage”, Felwine Sarr works for collaboration and participation as a singer and guitarist.

“Direct dialogue between people from different cultures is incredibly important,” says Philip Küppers, who heads the Goethe-Institut Senegal. “With the ‘AfriCourage’ Festival in Gambia, we therefore want to establish a model for local and international collaboration in the creative industries.” Felwine Sarr took part in the festival as well. Felwine Sarr took part in the festival as well. | Photo (detail): © Alhagie Manka

Europe-wide livestream

In addition to Black Lynx Entertainment, the Goethe-Institut works locally with the United Nations Youth Empowerment Project (YEP). Together, they organised Workshops for Gambian journalists, bloggers, activists and sound engineers who report on the festival and the Gambian music scene.

Thanks to the partnership with Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (rbb) and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), “AfriCourage” can be experienced internationally: radio stations broadcasted the stage programme live across Europe. In the coming weeks, TV and radio stations will show further concert recordings and documentaries.

“We’ve provided the proof,” says Johannes Theurer from rbb. “With good partners and modern technology, we can internationally implement high-quality productions with manageable effort and thus offer our listeners access to cultural scenes in a way that was previously not possible in such a direct way.” A look behind the scenes at the festival. A look behind the scenes at the festival. | Photo (detail): © Alhagie Manka

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„AfriCourage“
Die Macht der Musik

Der senegalesische Sänger Baaba Maal bei seinem Auftritt.
Der senegalesische Sänger Baaba Maal bei seinem Auftritt. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Alhagie Manka

„AfriCourage“ ist das erste Musikfestival aus Subsahara-Afrika, das von der Europäischen Rundfunkunion (EBU) live übertragen wurde: Im Dezember 2019 standen bei der vom Goethe-Institut mitorganisierten Veranstaltung Künstler*innen wie Baaba Maal, Smockey und das Ensemble Modern mit gambischen Stars auf der Bühne in Banjul.

Von Petra Kilian

„Lasst uns unsere Kräfte vereinen und der jungen Generation Afrikas die Unterstützung geben, die sie braucht. Denn sie ist die Zukunft!“, ruft Baaba Maal von der größten Bühne Gambias im Independence Stadium Bakau. Gemeinsam mit dem burkinischen Rapper und Aktivisten Smockey, gambischen Stars wie Rapper Killa Ace, Kora-Virtuosen Tatadindin Jobarteh und Afro-Manding-Star Sambou Suso, dem finnischen Sami-Duo Wimme & Rinne und dem Ensemble Modern aus Deutschland feiert der senegalesische Sänger am 28. Dezember beim Musikfestival „AfriCourage“ fast acht Stunden lang die Macht der Musik.

Eine der Künstlerinnen während ihres Konzerts. Eine der Künstlerinnen während ihres Konzerts. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Alhagie Manka

Raus aus der Komfortzone

„Wir wollen zeigen, welche Kraft Kultur haben kann, wenn es um die Stärkung der Zivilgesellschaft, Meinungsfreiheit und Demokratie geht“, erklärt Philip Küppers, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Senegal, das gemeinsam mit dem gambischen Partner Black Lynx Entertainment das Festival organisiert hat.

„AfriCourage“ bildet den zweiten Tag des OpenMicFests, einem gambischen Musikevent, das seit über zehn Jahren von Black Lynx Entertainment veranstaltet wird. Was als Straßen-Aktion begann, ist heute das bekannteste Hip-Hop-Festival des Landes und ein wichtiger Raum für Akteur*innen der Zivilgesellschaft. „Wir wollen Wandel und internationale Zusammenarbeit. Die Frage ist nur, ob wir bereit dafür sind“, sagt Badman Waagan, Mitgründer von Black Lynx Entertainment. „Wir müssen raus aus unserer Komfortzone. „AfriCourage“ bietet die Chance, zu beweisen, dass der Wandel da ist und wir ihn willkommen heißen und gestalten.“
Das OpenMicFest bringt jährlich etwa 15.000 Menschen zusammen. Das OpenMicFest bringt jährlich etwa 15.000 Menschen zusammen. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Alhagie Manka

Rap und Restitution

Mit dem „Liberation Orchestra of Inverted Traditions“ soll die Botschaft von „AfriCourage“ hörbar werden: gemeinsames Engagement, Partizipation, Toleranz und Demokratie zu fördern. Was wäre dafür geeigneter als ein Orchester aus europäischen und westafrikanischen Künstler*innen – inklusive eines gambischen Hip-Hop-Aktivisten und eines senegalesischen Akademikers: Felwine Sarr. Eigentlich bekannt für seine Rolle in der Restitutionsdebatte und sein Buch „Afrotopia“ setzt er sich bei „AfriCourage“ als Sänger und Gitarrist für Zusammenarbeit und Partizipation ein.

„Der direkte Austausch zwischen Menschen verschiedener Kulturen ist unglaublich wichtig“, sagt Philip Küppers, der das Goethe-Institut Senegal leitet. „Mit dem „AfriCourage“- Festival in Gambia wollen wir daher auch ein Modell für lokale und internationale Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Kreativwirtschaft etablieren.“
Auch Felwine Sarr (rechts) war bei „AfriCourage“ dabei. Auch Felwine Sarr (rechts) war bei „AfriCourage“ dabei. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Alhagie Manka

Europaweiter Livestream

Lokal arbeitet das Goethe-Institut im Projekt neben Black Lynx Entertainment mit dem United Nations Youth Empowerment Project (YEP) zusammen. Gemeinsam wurden Workshops für gambische Journalist*innen, Blogger*innen, Aktivist*innen und Tontechniker*innen organisiert, welche über das Festival und die gambische Musikszene berichten.

Dank der Kooperation mit dem Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (rbb) und der European Broadcasting Union (EBU) ist „AfriCourage“ international erlebbar: Europaweit strahlten Radiosender das Bühnenprogramm live aus. In den nächsten Wochen werden TV- und Radiostationen weitere Konzertmitschnitte und Dokumentationen veröffentlichen.

„Der Beweis ist erbracht“, freut sich Johannes Theurer vom rbb. „Mit guten Partnern und moderner Technik können wir international hochwertige Produktionen mit überschaubarem Aufwand umsetzen und unseren Hörerinnen und Hörern so den Zugang zu Kulturszenen bieten, der bisher in dieser Direktheit nicht möglich war.“
Einblick hinter die Kulissen des Festivals. Einblick hinter die Kulissen des Festivals. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Alhagie Manka

Top