Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Friendly Confrontations”
Clear the Ring!

Scene in front of the Charles Quartey Boxing Foundation from the film “Lionhearted”
Scene in front of the Charles Quartey Boxing Foundation from the film “Lionhearted” | Photo (detail): © Antje Drinnenberg

How can cultural institutions do justice to the diverse worlds of experience of people in a globalised world? From 16 January, the Friendly Confrontations festival by the Münchner Kammerspiele and the Goethe-Institut will investigate this question. The kick-off event will be held at the head office of the Goethe-Institut.

This month, the Münchner Kammerspiele will be the scene of a friendly boxing match. Athletes from Germany and Ghana will step into the ring together. The match is an expression of an intercontinental sporting friendship and stands for dialogue, discussion and the meeting of different perspectives.

Competition meets science

During the „Friendly Confrontations“ festival, from 16 to 19 January 2020 artists, athletes and thinkers will explore the role of cultural institutions for a diverse society. Visual art meets performance, competition meets science, alternative history meets virtual reality.
The dance performance “Being Pink Ain't Easy” on 18 and 19 January explores gender issues The dance performance “Being Pink Ain't Easy” on 18 and 19 January explores gender issues | Photo (detail): © Zombie Nanny
On 16 January 2020 at 6 pm the festival starts with a round table in the canteen of the Goethe-Institut headquarters, moderated by Julia Voss (Leuphana University Lüneburg). After the welcome by Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut, representatives of various Munich institutions will discuss restitution, collections and other dispositives in a globalized world under the title "The Institutional Heritage". Stefanie Peter will speak for the Goethe-Institut. Among others, Uta Werlich (Director Museum Fünf Kontinente), Anke Hoffsten (Deputy Director NS-Dokumentationszentrum), Anna Schneider (Curator Haus der Kunst) are invited. Matthias Mühling is also expected to represent the Lenbachhaus. Admission is free of charge.

With the temporary radio room "Kammer80000", the public can also immerse themselves in a global auditory cultural world from 17 to 19 January from 8 am until the early hours of the morning at www.radio80k.de: from Global Pop to Karachi Beach Radio to the Pan African Space Station.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Friendly Confrontations“
Ring frei!

Szene vor der Charles Quartey Boxing Foundation aus dem Film „Lionhearted“
Szene vor der Charles Quartey Boxing Foundation aus dem Film „Lionhearted“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Antje Drinnenberg

Wie können Kulturinstitutionen den diversen Erfahrungswelten von Menschen in einer globalisierten Welt gerecht werden? Dieser Frage geht ab dem 16. Januar das Festival „Friendly Confrontations“ der Münchner Kammerspiele und des Goethe-Instituts nach. Die Auftaktveranstaltung findet in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts statt.

Die Münchner Kammerspiele werden in diesem Monat zum Schauplatz eines freundschaftlichen Boxkampfes: Sportler*innen aus Deutschland und Ghana steigen gemeinsam in den Ring. Der Kampf ist Ausdruck einer interkontinentalen Sportfreundschaft und steht für Dialog, Diskussion und das Aufeinandertreffen verschiedener Perspektiven.

Wettkampf trifft auf Wissenschaft

Während des Festivals „Friendly Confrontations“ beschäftigen sich Kunstschaffende, Sportler*innen und Denker*innen vom 16. bis zum 19. Januar 2020 mit der Rolle der Kulturinstitutionen für eine diverse Gesellschaft. Bildende Kunst trifft auf Performance, Wettkampf auf Wissenschaft, Alternative History auf Virtual Reality.
Die Tanzperformance „Being pink ain't easy“ am 18./19. Januar dreht sich um Genderfragen Die Tanzperformance „Being pink ain't easy“ am 18./19. Januar dreht sich um Genderfragen | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Zombie Nanny
Am 16. Januar 2020 um 18 Uhr startet das Festival in der Kantine der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts mit einem Round Table, moderiert von Julia Voss (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg). Nach der Begrüßung durch Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, diskutieren Vertreter*innen verschiedener Münchner Institutionen unter dem Titel „Das Institutionelle Erbe“ über Restitution, Sammlungen und andere Dispositive in einer globalisierten Welt. Für das Goethe-Institut wird Stefanie Peter sprechen. Unter anderem sind Uta Werlich (Direktorin Museum Fünf Kontinente), Anke Hoffsten (Stellvertretende Direktorin NS-Dokumentationszentrum), Anna Schneider (Kuratorin Haus der Kunst) geladen. Erwartet wird außerdem Matthias Mühling als Vertreter des Lenbachhauses. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Mit dem temporären Radioraum „Kammer80000“ kann das Publikum vom 17. bis 19. Januar zudem jeweils von 8 Uhr bis in die frühen Morgenstunden unter www.radio80k.de eintauchen in eine globale auditive Kulturwelt: von Global Pop über Karachi Beach Radio zu der Pan African Space Station.
 

Top