Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Flipping the Odds
Driving force for social cohesion

Secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert during the closing speech of the conference.
Secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert during the closing speech of the conference. | Photo (detail): Geert Vanden Wijngaert

On 28 and 29 January, a conference at the interface of culture, law and industry took place at the Brussels creative hub La Vallée. The event was organised by the EU project Creative FLIP and the European Commission. More than 230 stakeholders and decision-makers from the public and private sectors from all over Europe as well as actors from the cultural and creative industries took part.

By Tanya Wittal-Düerkop / Benjamin Panten

“Europe’s cultural and creative industries are at the top of my political agenda,” said European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth Mariya Gabriel at the Creative FLIP conference. Creative FLIP started in February 2019 with the aim of tapping growth potential for the European cultural and creative industries as well as creating appropriate and sustainable framework conditions in the areas of finance, learning, innovation and patenting for the cultural and creative industries in Europe. Growth and development capacities are to be strengthened through improved access to finance and intellectual property rights. The conference provided the opportunity to present the progress made in these areas since 2019 not only to political bodies, but also to a broad public and to coordinate further joint steps. Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, emphasised the efforts to continue to work towards the expansion of a common cultural, European region, noting, “For us, the cultural and creative industries are important not only from an economic point of view, but above all with a view to their social impact as a driving force for social cohesion in a modern and innovative Europe.”

Location and future factor

Everyone agrees that the cultural and creative sector has experienced an incredible boom in the past ten years. Expectations on the industry are high. Its cross-sectoral potential should generate synergy effects and positive impulses for sustainable jobs, social cohesion and innovation. Therefore, it also plays an increasingly important role for politics, as the 2018 European Cultural Agenda or programmes such as Creative Europe show. This is where Creative FLIP comes in with a wide range of sensitisation, networking, competence and training measures, which are implemented by the Creative Hub Network and the Goethe-Institut. The conference acted as a mid-term review of the programmes that are still running until mid-2021, offered deep insights into tangible practical examples as well as transfer of skills and methods, and also created a creative, free-spirited atmosphere for proactive networking.
The audience at the Flipping the Odds conference. The audience at the Flipping the Odds conference. | Photo (detail): Tanya Wittal-Düerkop

Diversity, fragmentation, condensation

Statistics and studies prove that the European creative and cultural sector is booming. Nevertheless, it suffers more than other branches of industry from restrictions in its particularly fragmented fields of action. One of the issues that was often addressed at the conference was the small-scale nature of the sector, which is an obstacle to organised and concerted representation of interests across the EU. On the other hand, the industry is subject to strong condensation phenomena and constant changes in the markets, especially in the area of platform and streaming services. This is a major threat to its own framework for action and to EU cultural diversity in general.
“To truly support creators we need to build bridges, feed each other’s creativity – learn from each other.” Mariya Gabriel, EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth. “To truly support creators we need to build bridges, feed each other’s creativity – learn from each other.” Mariya Gabriel, EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth. | Photo (detail): Geert Vanden Wijngaert

Financing environment and new business models

The results of two surveys on intellectual property and access to finance in the cultural and creative sectors were also presented. Although the industry is seen as an innovation booster par excellence, it still faces crippling financing bottlenecks. Thanks to recent initiatives at EU but also at country and regional level, new and alternative business models and new forms of financing for the culture and creative industries are currently being tested. Nevertheless – as many conference participants reported – there are still too many cultural and creative companies being rejected by investors.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Flipping the odds
Treibende Kraft für gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt

Der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, während der Abschlussrede der Konferenz.
Der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, während der Abschlussrede der Konferenz. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Geert Vanden Wijngaert

Am 28. und 29. Januar fand im Brüsseler Creative Hub „La Vallée“ eine Konferenz an der Schnittstelle von Kultur, Recht und Wirtschaft statt. Die Veranstaltung wurde organisiert vom EU-Projekt „Creative FLIP“ und der Europäischen Kommission. Mehr als 230 Stakeholder*innen und Ent­schei­dungs­trä­ger*in­nen aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor aus ganz Europa sowie Akteur*innen der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft nahmen daran teil.

Von Tanya Wittal-Düerkop / Benjamin Panten

„Europas Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft steht auf meiner politischen Agenda ganz oben“, sagte die EU-Kommissarin für Innovation, Forschung, Kultur, Bildung und Jugend, Mariya Gabriel, auf der „Creative FLIP“-Konferenz. „Creative FLIP“ startete im Februar 2019 mit dem Ziel, Wachstumspotenziale für die europäische Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft zu erschließen sowie angemessene und nachhaltige Rahmenbedingungen in den Bereichen Finanzen, Lernen, Innovation und Patentierung für die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Europa zu schaffen. Wachstums- und Entwicklungskapazitäten sollen durch einen verbesserten Zugang zu Finanzmitteln und Rechten am geistigen Eigentum gestärkt werden. Die Konferenz bot Gelegenheit, die Fortschritte auf diesen Gebieten seit 2019 nicht nur politischen Gremien, sondern auch einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren und weitere gemeinsame Schritte abzustimmen. Der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, betonte die Bemühungen, sich weiterhin für den Ausbau eines gemeinsamen kulturellen, europäischen Raumes einzusetzen: „Für uns ist Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft nicht nur unter ökonomischen Aspekten wichtig, sondern vor allem auch mit Blick auf ihre gesellschaftliche Wirkung als treibende Kraft für gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt in einem modernen und innovativen Europa.“

Standort- und Zukunftsfaktor

Darin sind sich alle einig: Der Kultur- und Kreativsektor erlebte in den letzten zehn Jahren einen unglaublichen Boom. Die Erwartungen an die Branche sind hoch. Ihr sektorübergreifendes Potential soll Synergieeffekte und positive Impulse für nachhaltige Jobs, soziale Kohäsion und Innovation erwirken. Daher spielt sie auch für die Politik eine immer wichtigere Rolle, wie die europäische Kulturagenda 2018 oder Programme wie „Kreatives Europa“ zeigen. Hier setzt „Creative FLIP“ mit vielfältigen Sensiblisierungs-, Vernetzungs-, Kompetenz- und Qualifikationsmaßnahmen an, die vom Creative Hub Netzwerk sowie vom Goethe-Institut implementiert werden. Die Konferenz fungierte als Halbzeitbilanz der noch bis Mitte 2021 laufenden Programme, bot vertiefte Einblicke in konkrete Praxisbeispiele sowie Kompetenz- und Methodentransfer und schaffte zudem eine kreativ-freigeistige Atmosphäre für proaktives Networking.
Das Publikum der Konferenz „Flipping the odds“. Das Publikum der Konferenz „Flipping the odds“. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Tanya Wittal-Düerkop

Vielfalt, Fragmentierung, Konzentration

Dass die europäische Kreativ- und Kulturbranche boomt, belegen Statistiken und Studien. Dennoch leidet sie mehr als andere Wirtschaftszweige unter Restriktionen in ihren besonders stark fragmentierten Handlungsfeldern. Eine vielfach auf der Konferenz problematisierte Thematik war daher die Kleinteiligkeit des Sektors, die für eine organisierte und konzertierte Interessensvertretung EU-weit hinderlich ist. Auf der anderen Seite ist die Branche starken Konzentrationsphänomen und einer ständigen Veränderung der Märkte ausgesetzt, vor allem im Bereich der Plattform- und Streamingdienste. Dies ist eine große Gefahr für ihren eigenen Aktionsrahmen sowie allgemein für die kulturelle Vielfalt in der EU.
„Um wirklich unsere schöpferischen Kräfte zu unterstützen, müssen wir Brücken bauen, passende Rahmenbedingungen schaffen und voneinander lernen.“ Mariya Gabriel, EU-Kommissarin für Innovation, Forschung, Kultur, Bildung und Jugend. „Um wirklich unsere schöpferischen Kräfte zu unterstützen, müssen wir Brücken bauen, passende Rahmenbedingungen schaffen und voneinander lernen.“ Mariya Gabriel, EU-Kommissarin für Innovation, Forschung, Kultur, Bildung und Jugend. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Geert Vanden Wijngaert

Finanzierungsumfeld und neue Geschäftsmodelle

Ebenfalls präsentiert wurden die Ergebnisse zweier Umfragen zu geistigem Eigentum sowie zum Zugang zu Finanzmitteln im Kultur- und Kreativsektor. Obwohl die Branche als Innovationsverstärker schlechthin gilt, sieht sie sich immer noch mit lähmenden Finanzierungsengpässen konfrontiert. Dank der jüngsten Initiativen der EU, aber auch auf Länder- und auf regionaler Ebene, werden derzeit neue und alternative Geschäftsmodelle sowie neuartige Finanzierungformen für die Kultur- und Kreativbranche erprobt. Dennoch – so berichteten viele Konferenzteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmer – gibt es immer noch zu viele Kultur- bzw. Kreativbetriebe, die von Investoren zurückgewiesen werden.

Top