Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Hatathon” in Ukraine
Hacking for the Culture

The goal of the Hatathon was to find solutions for cultural projects together.
The goal of the Hatathon was to find solutions for cultural projects together. | Artwork: Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Last weekend at the Goethe-Institut’s “Hatathon Hack the Culture”, over a thousand participants developed solutions to the challenges faced by cultural workers during the coronavirus crisis. They did it all online, of course.

By Katharina Görig/Bettina Wenzel

Cancelled festivals, empty stages, closed theatres: the curfews due to the COVID-19 pandemic are impacting the cultural scene worldwide. Creativity, actionism, and the relocation of events to the virtual world can’t hide the fact that many institutions, artists, and freelancers are fighting for financial survival.

Supporting the cultural scene

The pandemic is also affecting the work of the Goethe-Institut. Almost all of the institutes worldwide are closed to the public. Many employees are working online from home and experimenting with new digital formats. In this difficult situation, the team at the Goethe-Institut Ukraine wondered how to support the country’s cultural scene.

Also a challenge: How do you photograph an online event? Also a challenge: How do you photograph an online event? | Photo: Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Strength in unity

In cooperation with the EU’s “House of Europe” programme, the online ideathon “Hatathon Hack the Culture” was created. “Hata” is Ukrainian for “house” or “home”. We were inspired by the #WirVsVirus hackathon, which took place five weeks ago under the patronage of the Federal government. It sought innovative ideas to help society emerge stronger from the situation caused by COVID-19.

Weekend full of ideas

From Friday to Sunday evening, 130 mentors and 100 teams from the Ukrainian cultural, tech, and business scenes developed solutions and ideas with European participation. Submissions could be for the areas of “collaboration transformation”, “events transformation”, and “business models transformation”. The ten best projects were pitched live on Sunday evening; three of them were awarded. The 20 best teams can apply to the “House of Europe” for a follow-up grant.

Voices from the events


Denisas Kolomyckis, artist, curator and activist (Lithuania) Photo: Denisas Kolomyckis Denisas Kolomyckis
Artist, curator and activist (Lithuania)


“As a mentor, I had discussions with Ukrainian cultural activists, managers, and artists. I shared my experience and expertise with them to further develop the project ideas. Participation in the Hatathon again confirmed my impression that in the most challenging times, creative people always manage to unite for a larger cause and to solve problems in order to contribute to the good of society. The Hatathon was a great way to feel that.”

Niki Théron, international projects manager, Frankfurt Book Fair (Germany) Photo: Niki Théron Niki Théron
International projects manager, Frankfurt Book Fair (Germany)


“For us as event organisers, the crisis is a major challenge and a danger to the future of our sector. All of the springtime fairs were cancelled. We continue to prepare for the Frankfurt Book Fair and for our projects, which will take place in autumn, but at the same time are considering digital alternatives. I’m inspired by the variety of innovative formats for cultural projects that were presented at the Hatathon. The quality of the ideas submitted is a very positive signal for the future of the Ukrainian cultural scene. I had a lot of fascinating conversations and video talks about specific projects and pitches.”

Andrew Palatnyi, “Gogolfest”, multidisciplinary international festival of contemporary art and cinema (Ukraine) Photo: Andrew Palatnyi Andrew Palatnyi, “Gogolfest”
Multidisciplinary international festival of contemporary art and cinema (Ukraine)


“Today, we independent institutions have to completely change our strategy and steer it in new, different directions. We had planned ten festivals in Ukraine this year – at the moment the status of all of them is unclear. All of our local, regional, and international activities are also standing still. At the same time, we are intensively exploring digital formats.”

Anton Ovchinnikov
President of Ukraine’s Contemporary Dance Platform and founder of the Zelyonka Festival (Ukraine)


“Our team of four artists and managers from Ukraine and Germany (PostTheater, Berlin) is developing the ALTStage project. It aims to develop augmented reality technologies for a new way of presenting online events to a larger audience. We are taking part in the Hatathon with this project in order to gain insights from local artists and managers and to find new partners to work with.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Hatathon“ in der Ukraine
Hacking für die Kultur

Ziel des Hatathons war es, gemeinsam Lösungen für Kulturprojekte zu finden.
Ziel des Hatathons war es, gemeinsam Lösungen für Kulturprojekte zu finden. | Grafik: Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Beim „Hatathon Hack the Culture“ des Goethe-Instituts entwickelten am vergangenen Wochenende über tausend Teilnehmer*innen Lösungen für die Herausforderungen der Kulturschaffenden in der Corona-Krise – und das alles natürlich online.

Von Katharina Görig/Bettina Wenzel

Abgesagte Festivals, leere Bühnen, geschlossene Theater: Die Ausgangsbeschränkungen aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie betreffen die Kulturszene weltweit. Kreativität, Aktionismus und die Verlagerung von Veranstaltungen in die virtuelle Welt täuschen nicht darüber hinweg, dass viele Institutionen, Künstler*innen und Freiberufler*innen ums finanzielle Überleben kämpfen.

Die Kulturszene unterstützen

Die Pandemie wirkt sich auch auf die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts aus: Fast alle Institute weltweit sind für den Publikumsverkehr geschlossen. Zahlreiche Mitarbeiter*innen arbeiten online von zu Hause aus und experimentieren mit neuen digitalen Formaten. In dieser schwierigen Lage fragte sich das Team des Goethe-Instituts Ukraine, wie man die Kulturszene im Land unterstützen kann.

Auch eine Herausforderung: Wie fotografiert man ein Online-Event? Auch eine Herausforderung: Wie fotografiert man ein Online-Event? | Foto: Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Gemeinsam stärker werden

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem EU-Programm „House of Europe“ entstand dabei der Online-Ideathon: „Hatathon Hack the Culture“. „Hata“ bedeutet auf Ukrainisch „Haus, Zuhause“. Inspiriert wurden die Mitarbeiter*innen durch den #WirVsVirus Hackathon. Dieser fand vor fünf Wochen unter der Schirmherrschaft der Bundesregierung statt; dabei wurden innovative Ideen gesucht, die der Gesellschaft dabei helfen, gestärkt aus der durch Covid-19 bedingten Situation hervorzugehen.

Wochenende voller Ideen

Von Freitag- bis Sonntagabend entwickelten 130 Mentor*innen und 100 Teams aus der ukrainischen Kultur-, Tech- und Business-Szene mit europäischer Beteiligung Lösungen und Ideen. Diese konnten in den Bereichen „Transformation der Zusammenarbeit“, „Transformation von Veranstaltungen“ und „Transformation von Geschäftsmodellen“ eingereicht werden. Die zehn besten Projekte wurden am Sonntagabend in einer Live-Übertragung gepitcht; drei davon wurden ausgezeichnet. Die 20 besten Teams können sich beim „House of Europe“ um einen Follow-Up Grant bewerben.

Stimmen von der Veranstaltung


Denisas Kolomyckis, Künstler, Kurator und Aktivist (Litauen) Foto: Denisas Kolomyckis Denisas Kolomyckis
Künstler, Kurator und Aktivist (Litauen)


„Als Mentor habe ich Gespräche mit ukrainischen Kulturaktivist*innen, Manager*innen und Künstler*innen geführt. Ich habe meine Erfahrung und Expertise mit ihnen geteilt, um die Projektideen weiterzuentwickeln. Die Teilnahme am Hatathon hat meinen Eindruck noch einmal bestätigt: In den herausforderndsten Zeiten schaffen es die Kreativen immer wieder, sich für eine größere Aufgabe zu vereinen und Probleme zu lösen, um zum Wohl der Gesellschaft beizutragen. Der Hatathon war eine großartige Möglichkeit, dies zu spüren.“

Niki Théron, Managerin International Projects, Frankfurter Buchmesse (Deutschland) Foto: Niki Théron Niki Théron
Managerin International Projects, Frankfurter Buchmesse (Deutschland)


„Für uns als Eventorganisator*innen ist die Krise eine große Herausforderung und eine Gefahr für die Zukunft unseres Sektors. Alle Messen im Frühling wurden abgesagt. Wir bereiten weiterhin die Frankfurter Buchmesse sowie unsere Projekte, die im Herbst stattfinden, vor und denken gleichzeitig über digitale Alternativen nach. Ich bin inspiriert von der Vielfalt an innovativen Formaten für Kulturprojekte, die beim Hatathon präsentiert wurden. Die Qualität der eingereichten Ideen ist ein sehr positives Signal für die Zukunft der ukrainischen Kulturszene. Ich hatte viele interessante Unterhaltungen und Videogespräche zu spezifischen Projekten und Pitches.“

Andrew Palatnyi, „Gogolfest“, Multidisziplinäres internationales Festival für zeitgenössisches Kunst und Film (Ukraine) Foto: Andrew Palatnyi Andrew Palatnyi, „Gogolfest“
Multidisziplinäres internationales Festival für zeitgenössisches Kunst und Film (Ukraine)


„Heute müssen wir als unabhängige Institutionen unsere Strategie völlig ändern und sie in verschiedene neue Richtungen lenken. Für dieses Jahr haben wir zehn Festivals in der Ukraine geplant – vorerst sind alle in einem unklaren Status. Auch alle unsere lokalen, regionalen und internationalen Aktivitäten stehen still. Gleichzeitig erkunden wir intensiv digitale Formate.“

Anton Ovchinnikov
Präsident der ukrainischen Vereinigung „Contemporary Dance Platform” und Gründer des Zelyonka Festivals (Ukraine)


„Unser Team von vier Künstler*innen und Manager*innen aus der Ukraine und Deutschland (PostTheater, Berlin) entwickelt das „ALTStage-Projekt“. Es zielt darauf ab, Augmented Reality-Technologien für eine neue Art der Präsentation von Online-Events für ein größeres Publikum zu entwickeln. Wir nehmen mit diesem Projekt am Hatathon teil, um Einblicke von lokalen Künstler*innen und Manager*innen zu erhalten und neue Partner*innen für die Zusammenarbeit zu finden.“

Top