Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Online Conference “Preventing a Lost Generation 2.0”
A Jump Start for Youth

Building bridges for young people: The online conference “Preventing a Lost Generation 2.0”
Building bridges for young people: The online conference “Preventing a Lost Generation 2.0” | Photo (Detail): European Youth Forum

Will youth unemployment rise sharply in Europe due to the coronavirus health crisis? How can the European Union prevent this? These questions were posed during the online conference “Preventing a Lost Generation 2.0” by StartNet Europe, the trade union youth organisation CESI Youth, and the European Youth Forum on 7 July.

By Tanya Wittal-Düerkop and Benjamin Panten

Rising youth unemployment in the European Union, increased risk of poverty for children and young people, fewer educational opportunities – all this is feared in the coming years. In cooperation with the youth organisation of the European Confederation of Independent Trade Unions, CESI Youth, and the European Youth Forum, the StartNet project by the Goethe-Institut and Stiftung Mercator organised an online conference on July 7 under the motto “Preventing a Lost Generation 2.0.” Young people from all over Europe discussed questions about the future of their opportunities in education and on the job market with experts and policy-makers from the European institutions.

The central question was whether the EU’s Reinforced Youth Guarantee was an appropriate response to the challenges faced by young Europeans in the entry-level employment phase. The Youth Guarantee is a commitment by all EU Member States to ensure that all young people under 25 years of age get a high quality job offer, further training, an apprenticeship, or an internship within four months of becoming unemployed or completing their training.

Equal participation in the training and labour market

Jan Wilker, the project manager at StartNet Europe, is particularly concerned that “disadvantaged young people and those from structurally weaker regions are given opportunities to actively shape and thereby participate equally in the training and labour market.” In his opening speech, the EU Commissioner for Employment and Social Rights, Nicolas Schmit, emphasised, “Now we have to tackle necessary reforms, we have to support young people. We owe that to the millions of university graduates and young professionals. Our youth deserve the best possible opportunities to fully exploit their potential.”

Objective of the conference: Better opportunities for young people in training and on the job market. Objective of the conference: Better opportunities for young people in training and on the job market. | Photo (detail): Tanya Wittal-Düerkop

Breaking out of the cycle of temporary contracts

Kira Marie Peter-Hansen, a member of the European Parliament as part of the Green EFA Group, and at 22, the youngest member ever elected to the European Parliament, also advocated an expansion of the European Youth Guarantee in order to avoid rising youth unemployment in the EU. She noted that her generation in particular is in acute danger of being disconnected from the labour market. CESI youth representative Matthäus Fandrejewski emphasised that the European Commission’s current initiatives on youth employment support are good, but not sufficient. Rising youth unemployment is best prevented by a successful transition from training to work. He therefore welcomes the renewal of the European Youth Guarantee proposed by the European Commission and hopes for adequate budgeting in the next seven-year financial framework and for funds from the EU recovery plan. Frédéric Piccavet, board member of the European Youth Forum, added, “Young people are often stuck in a cycle of temporary contracts. Swift action is necessary to support our next generation wherever and however we can and to guarantee equal opportunities for everyone.”

The experiences from the StartNet project and this conference show that only if all actors – schools, businesses, teachers, parents, youth organisations, and trade unions – act together and preventively with the policy-makers at local, regional, national, and EU levels, will a bridge be built to the job market and to a bright future for all young people.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Online-Konferenz „Eine verlorene Generation 2.0?“
Starthilfe für die Jugend

Der Jugend eine Brücke bauen: Online-Konferenz „Eine verlorene Generation 2.0?“
Der Jugend eine Brücke bauen: Online-Konferenz „Eine verlorene Generation 2.0?“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): European Youth Forum

Wird die Jugendarbeitslosigkeit in Europa durch die Corona-Krise stark ansteigen? Wie kann die Europäische Union dies verhindern? Diesen Fragen ging die Online-Konferenz „Eine verlorene Generation 2.0?“ von StartNet Europe, der gewerkschaftlichen Jugendorganisation CESI Youth und dem Europäischen Jugendforum am 7. Juli nach.

Von Tanya Wittal-Düerkop und Benjamin Panten

Steigende Jugendarbeitslosigkeit in der Europäischen Union, erhöhtes Armutsrisiko für Kinder und Jugendliche, weniger Bildungschancen – das ist für die kommenden Jahre zu befürchten. Das Projekt StartNet des Goethe-Instituts und der Stiftung Mercator organisierte daher in Kooperation mit der Jugendabteilung des Europäischen Verbandes unabhängiger Gewerkschaften, CESI Youth, und dem Europäischen Jugendforum am 7. Juli eine Online-Konferenz unter dem Motto „Verlorene Generation 2.0?“. Junge Menschen aus ganz Europa diskutierten Zukunftsfragen zu ihren Chancen in der Bildung und auf dem Arbeitsmarkt mit Expert*innen und politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen aus den europäischen Institutionen.

Im Zentrum stand die Frage, ob die erweiterte EU-Jugendgarantie eine angemessene Reaktion auf die Herausforderungen junger Europäer*innen in der Berufseinstiegsphase sei. Die Jugendgarantie ist die Zusage aller EU-Mitgliedstaaten, zu gewährleisten, dass alle jungen Menschen unter 25 Jahren innerhalb von vier Monaten, nachdem sie arbeitslos geworden sind oder ihre Ausbildung abgeschlossen haben, ein hochwertiges Angebot für eine Beschäftigung, eine Weiterbildungsmaßnahme, einen Ausbildungsplatz oder ein Praktikum erhalten.

Eine gleichberechtigte Teilnahme am Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsmarkt

Jan Wilker, dem Projektleiter von StartNet Europe, liegt besonders am Herzen, dass „benachteiligte Jugendliche und jene aus strukturschwächeren Regionen Perspektiven erhalten und als aktive Gestalter*innen gleichberechtigt am Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsmarkt teilnehmen können.“ Der EU-Kommissar für Beschäftigung und soziale Rechte, Nicolas Schmit, betonte in seiner Eröffnungsansprache: „Jetzt müssen wir notwendige Reformen angehen, wir müssen junge Menschen unterstützen. Das sind wir den Millionen von Hochschulabsolventen und den Berufseinsteigern schuldig. Unsere Jugend verdient die bestmöglichen Chancen, um ihr Potenzial voll auszuschöpfen.“

Ziel der Konferenz: Bessere Chancen für Jugendliche in der Bildung und am Arbeitsmarkt. Ziel der Konferenz: Bessere Chancen für Jugendliche in der Bildung und am Arbeitsmarkt. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Tanya Wittal-Düerkop

Den Kreislauf von befristeten Zeitverträgen durchbrechen

Auch Kira Marie Peter-Hansen, als Teil der Grünen-EFA-Fraktion Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments und mit 22 Jahren die jüngste jemals ins Europäische Parlament gewählte Abgeordnete, plädierte für eine Ausweitung der Europäischen Jugendgarantie, um einen Anstieg der Jugendarbeitslosigkeit in der EU zu vermeiden. Gerade ihre Generation stehe in akuter Gefahr, vom Arbeitsmarkt abgekoppelt zu werden. CESI-Jugendvertreter Matthäus Fandrejewski betonte, die aktuellen Initiativen der Europäischen Kommission zur Unterstützung der Jugendbeschäftigung seien gut, aber nicht ausreichend. Eine steigende Jugendarbeitslosigkeit sei am besten durch einen gelungenen Übergang von der Bildung in den Beruf zu verhindern. Man begrüße daher die von der Europäischen Kommission vorgeschlagene Erneuerung der europäischen Jugendgarantie und hoffe auf eine angemessene Budgetierung im nächsten siebenjährigen Finanzrahmen sowie auf Mittel aus dem EU-Wiederaufbauplan. Frédéric Piccavet, Vorstandsmitglied des Europäischen Jugendforums, fügte hinzu: „Junge Menschen stecken oft in einem Kreislauf von befristeten Zeitverträgen fest. Rasches Handeln ist notwendig, um unsere nächste Generation zu unterstützen, wo und wie wir nur können, und Chancengleichheit für alle zu garantieren.“

Die Erfahrungen aus dem StartNet-Projekt und dieser Konferenz zeigen: Nur wenn alle Akteur*innen, also Schulen, Unternehmen, Lehrkräfte, Eltern, Jugendorganisationen und Gewerkschaften, gemeinsam und präventiv mit den politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen vor Ort, regional, national wie auch auf der EU-Ebene agieren, kann es gelingen, allen Jugendlichen eine Brücke in den Arbeitsmarkt und in eine gute Zukunft zu bauen.

Top