Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Goethe Medal ceremony
“Accepting contradiction – the fruits of contradiction”

The recipients: Zukiswa Wanner, Elvira Espejo Ayca and Ian McEwan
The recipients: Zukiswa Wanner, Elvira Espejo Ayca and Ian McEwan | Photos: f.l.t.r.: © Brian Otieno, © Michael Dunn, © Annalena McAfee

On August 28, the Goethe-Institut will hold a digital ceremony to present the Goethe Medal to Zukiswa Wanner, Elvira Espejo Ayca and Ian McEwan. Watch the stream of the event with film portraits, talks and musical performances at 11 a.m. (CET).

The Federal Republic of Germany’s official honour is conferred by the Goethe-Institut every year on individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to international cultural exchange. The theme of this year’s awards is “Accepting contradiction – the fruits of contradiction.” The recipients are outstanding examples of the power of critical, reflective art.

“In 2020, the Goethe-Institut is honouring two women and one man who have made a strong commitment to a culture of contradiction,” says Christina von Braun, chair and committee spokesperson and Cultural Studies expert at Humboldt-Universität in Berlin. “Whether they stand up for pro-European politics like the Englishman Ian McEwan or, like the Bolivian museum director, singer and poet Elvira Espejo Ayca, are committed to the defense of indigenous traditions or, like the South African writer Zukiswa Wanner, speak out for women’s rights – what they all have in common is that they have shown courage and at the same time demonstrated the political power that culture can exert.”
 

Digital Goethe Medal ceremony in two languages

This year, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the recipients are not able to travel to the official ceremony in Weimar, which traditionally takes place on 28th August, the birthday of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The Goethe-Institut is therefore working with Deutsche Welle to organise a digital ceremony for a global audience. The Goethe-Institut will show the award ceremony for the Goethe Medal at 11 a.m. CET on its website and on the YouTube channel, Deutsche Welle will broadcast the ceremony in English on its YouTube channel.

“The corona crisis is more than a virological phenomenon,” says Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe-Institut. “It changes societies through isolation, disinformation and contradictions. We want to defy this development and not forego the award of the Goethe Medal. We are strengthening what is unifying with a cross-border digital network of culture and will thus gain new alternatives and processes as a result of the contradiction”.

The ceremony centres on three short films presenting the recipients and their places of work in Bolivia, England and South Africa as well as a discussion between Klaus-Dieter Lehmann and the three recipients. Three renowned individuals will pay tribute to the recipients: Barbara Göbel, an ethnologist at the Ibero-American Institute in Berlin, talks about Elvira Espejo Ayca, the journalist and author Franziska Augstein about Ian McEwan and writer Zoë Beck about Zukiswa Wanner.

Students and teachers from the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar, led by Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, will present musical compositions that they have chosen and created especially for the medal recipients.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille
„Widerspruch ertragen – der Ertrag des Widerspruchs“

Die Preisträger*innen: Zukiswa Wanner, Elvira Espejo Ayca und Ian McEwan
Die Preisträger*innen: Zukiswa Wanner, Elvira Espejo Ayca und Ian McEwan | Fotos: v.l.n.r.: © Brian Otieno, © Michael Dunn, © Annalena McAfee

Am 28. August veranstaltete das Goethe-Institut einen digitalen Festakt zur Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille an Zukiswa Wanner, Elvira Espejo Ayca und Ian McEwan. 

Mit der Goethe-Medaille, dem offiziellen Ehrenzeichen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, ehrt das Goethe-Institut herausragendes Engagement im internationalen Kulturaustausch. In diesem Jahr stand die Preisvergabe unter dem Motto „Widerspruch ertragen – der Ertrag des Widerspruchs“ und ehrte drei Künstler*innen, deren Werke einzigartige Beispiele für die Kraft kritisch reflektierender Kunst sind.

„Das Goethe-Institut ehrt im Jahr 2020 zwei Frauen und einen Mann, die sich für eine Kultur des Widerspruchs stark gemacht haben“, begründet Christina von Braun, Vorsitzende des Präsidiums und Kulturwissenschaftlerin an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Wahl. „Ob sie sich wie der Engländer Ian McEwan für eine europafreundliche Politik einsetzen oder sich wie die bolivianische Museumsleiterin, Sängerin und Dichterin Elvira Espejo Ayca für die Verteidigung der indigenen Traditionen engagieren oder wie die südafrikanische Schriftstellerin Zukiswa Wanner den Frauenrechten das Wort reden – allen ist gemeinsam, dass sie Mut gezeigt und zugleich bewiesen haben, welche politische Kraft die Kultur ausüben kann.“
 

 

Digitaler Festakt in zwei Sprachen

Traditionell wird die Goethe-Medaille am 28. August, dem Geburtstag Johann Wolfgang von Goethes, in Weimar vergeben. In diesem Jahr richtete das Goethe-Institut in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Welle einen digitalen Festakt für ein weltweites Publikum aus, der ab 11 Uhr (MEZ) auf der Webseite und dem YouTube-Kanal des Goethe-Instituts sowie in englischer Sprache auf dem YouTube-Kanal der Deutschen Welle übertragen wurde.

„Die Corona-Krise ist mehr als ein virologisches Phänomen“, so Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts. „Sie verändert durch gegenseitige Abschottung, Desinformation und Widersprüche die Gesellschaften. Dieser Entwicklung wollen wir trotzen und nicht auf die Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille verzichten. Wir verstärken das Verbindende mit einem grenzüberschreitenden digitalen Netzwerk der Kultur und werden so als Ertrag des Widerspruchs neue Alternativen und Prozesse gewinnen.“

Während des digitalen Festakts, durch den die DW-Moderatorin Karin Helmstaedt führt, werden die Preisträger*innen mit Kurzfilmen und im Gespräch mit Klaus-Dieter Lehmann vorgestellt. Drei prominente Laudatorinnen würdigen sie: Barbara Göbel, Ethnologin und Direktorin des Ibero-Amerikanischen Instituts Berlin, spricht über Elvira Espejo Ayca, die Journalistin und Autorin Franziska Augstein über Ian McEwan sowie die Schriftstellerin und Verlegerin Zoë Beck über Zukiswa Wanner.

Besondere musikalische Einlagen bieten Studierende und Lehrende der Musikhochschule Franz Liszt Weimar aus Mosambik, Brasilien, Australien und Bolivien, unter Leitung von Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, mit Kompositionen, die sie speziell für die Preisträger*innen ausgesucht und geschaffen haben.

Top