Goethe Medal

Goethe Medal Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca
Zwischenraum

About the Goethe Medal Once a year, the Goethe-Institut awards the Goethe Medal, an official decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany. This medal honours luminaries who have performed outstanding service for the German language and for international cultural relations.

The candidates for the Goethe Medal are nominated every year by the Goethe-Instituts abroad in close collaboration with Germany’s diplomatic representation offices. The Goethe Medal Conferment Commission, consisting of persons from the fields of science, the arts and culture, pre-selects the awardees who must then be confirmed by the Board of Trustees. At present, the chairperson of the Goethe Medal Conferment Commission is the cultural scientist and vice president of the Goethe-Institut Christina von Braun.

The Goethe Medal was established by the executive committee of the Goethe-Institut in 1954 and acknowledged as an official decoration by the Federal Republic of Germany in 1975. From 1992 until 2008, the award ceremony was held annually on the anniversary of the death of Goethe in Weimar. Since 2009, it has taken place on 28 August, Goethe's birthday. Thus, the ceremony fits seamlessly into the Weimar Kultursommer and one of its highlights, the Kunstfest Weimar. Together with the Kunstfest, the Goethe-Institut organizes a fringe programme that rounds off the festivities for the conferment of the Goethe Medal and offers further opportunities to meet the three awardees.

Since it was first awarded in 1955, a total of 335 figures from 62 countries have been honoured. The awardees have included Adonis, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell AKA John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Agnés Heller, György Ligeti, Ariane Mnouchkine, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Billy Wilder and Helen Wolff.

Goethe-Medaille

Goethe-Medaille Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca
Zwischenraum

Einmal jährlich verleiht das Goethe-Institut die Goethe-Medaille, eine offizielle Auszeichnung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Mit dieser Medaille werden Persönlichkeiten geehrt, die sich in besonderer Weise um die Vermittlung der deutschen Sprache sowie den internationalen Kulturaustausch verdient gemacht haben.

Die Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten für die Goethe-Medaille werden jedes Jahr von den Goethe-Instituten in aller Welt in enger Abstimmung mit den deutschen Auslandsvertretungen nominiert. Die Kommission zur Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille, die sich aus Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft, Kunst und Kultur zusammensetzt, trifft eine Vorauswahl, die anschließend vom Präsidium des Goethe-Instituts bestätigt werden muss. Den Vorsitz der Kommission zur Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille hat derzeit die Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Vize-Präsidentin des Goethe-Instituts Christina von Braun inne.

Die Goethe-Medaille wurde 1954 vom Vorstand des Goethe-Instituts gestiftet und 1975 von der Bundesrepublik Deutschland als offizieller Orden anerkannt. Von 1992 bis 2008 wurde sie jährlich an Goethes Todestag in Weimar verliehen. Seit 2009 findet die Verleihung am 28. August, dem Geburtstag Goethes, statt. So fügt sich der Festakt nahtlos ein in den Weimarer Kultursommer, zu dessen Höhepunkten das Kunstfest Weimar gehört. Gemeinsam mit dem Kunstfest richtet das Goethe-Institut ein Begleitprogramm aus, das die Feierlichkeiten zur Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille abrundet und weitere Möglichkeiten zur Begegnung mit den Preisträgern bietet.

Seit der ersten Verleihung 1955 sind insgesamt 335 Persönlichkeiten aus 62 Ländern geehrt worden. Zu den Preisträgern gehören unter anderen Adonis, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell alias John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Ágnes Heller, György Ligeti, Ariane Mnouchkine, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Billy Wilder oder Helen Wolff.