Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Net September” Social Technologies Conference
Dance of the Algorithms

Performance by Av3ry, a virtual character that creates music, poetry and picture.
Performance by Av3ry, a virtual character that creates music, poetry and picture. | Photo (detail): Maria Pospelova

In early September, Teplitsa. Technologies for Social Good and the Goethe-Institut Moscow held an online conference on the social implications of digitisation: “Net September” dealt with the challenges and possibilities of new technologies.

Algorithms are increasingly influencing our decisions and have an impact on almost all parts of our lives: on social and political processes, finance, the world of work, our perceptions and communications. How can algorithms be designed so that their use is transparent and traceable and serves the common good of society? And how can people be made aware of this issue, its opportunities and risks?
 
“Net September” was divided up so that two tracks were conceived by the educational project Teplitsa. Technologies for Social Good, which focused on digital civil rights and the effects of digitisation on NGOs. The other two tracks were designed and programmed by the Goethe-Institut Moscow: “Dance of the Algorithms”. Two experts from Germany, Michael Puntschuh and Fabio Chiusi, were invited to take part in it.

Dr Ekaterina Sivyakova talked about regulating algorithms for the common good. Dr Ekaterina Sivyakova talked about regulating algorithms for the common good. | Photo (detail): Maria Pospelova
They took part in a joint panel discussion and gave workshops on the subject of algorithms and the  “Algo.Rules”, which Michael Puntschuh helped to develop. The “Algo.Rules” are nine design criteria developed by Bertelsmann Stiftung and the iRights.Lab. They establish a basis for ethical considerations and for the implementation and enforcement of legal frameworks. The Goethe-Institut’s EU project “The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media” on the subject of media literacy and Mediale Pfade was also on board with a workshop.
 
As a platform, “Dance of the Algorithms” offered experts as well as an interested public a forum and aimed to bring different perspectives – whether from art, journalism and media, sociology or political science, philosophy, business or IT – into a constructive dialogue.
 
The central questions were: How do digitisation and artificial intelligence change processes in the world of work, in the media and in art? What influence do the internet and social media have on communication, perception and social cohesion? What does digitisation mean for our democracies?
Tanzen zu Algorithmen auf dem „Algorave“. Dancing to algorithms at the “Algorave.” | Photo (detail): Maria Pospelova
The project offered a productive interface to the digital communication of the Goethe-Institut in Moscow: media professionals, journalists, bloggers, disseminators and influencers from the cultural and media sectors were won over to blog live from the conference, to tweet or produce recordings and share them on their channels. Media partnerships with colta.ru and Postnauka were implemented so that the topics and questions, discussions and findings found their way to the public.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Konferenz für soziale Technologien „Netz September“
Tanz der Algorithmen

Auftritt von Av3ry, einem virtuellem Charakter, der Musik, Gedichte und Bilder schafft.
Auftritt von Av3ry, einem virtuellem Charakter, der Musik, Gedichte und Bilder schafft. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Maria Pospelova

Anfang September veranstalteten Teplitsa. Technologies for Social Good und das Goethe-Institut Moskau eine Onlinekonferenz zu den gesellschaftlichen Implikationen von Digitalisierung: „Netz September” beschäftigte sich mit Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten neuer Technologien.

Algorithmen bestimmen zunehmend unsere Entscheidungen und haben Einfluss auf nahezu alle Bereiche unseres Lebens – auf gesellschaftliche und politische Prozesse, Finanzwirtschaft, Arbeitswelten, Wahrnehmung und Kommunikation. Wie können Algorithmen so gestaltet werden, dass ihr Einsatz transparent und nachvollziehbar ist und dem gesellschaftlichen Gemeinwohl dient? Und wie lassen sich Menschen für dieses Thema, seine Chancen und Risiken sensibilisieren?
 
„Netz September“ war so aufgeteilt, dass zwei Tracks vom Bildungsprojekt Teplitsa. Technologies for Social Good gestaltet wurden, die sich auf digitale Bürger*innenrechte und die Auswirkungen von Digitalisierung auf NGOs fokussierten. Die beiden übrigen Tracks wurden vom Goethe-Institut Moskau gestaltet und programmiert: „Tanz der Algorithmen“. Hierfür wurden zwei Experten aus Deutschland eingeladen, Michael Puntschuh und Fabio Chiusi.

Dr. Jekaterina Siwjakowa sprach über die Regulierung von Algorithmen fürs Gemeinwohl. Dr. Jekaterina Siwjakowa sprach über die Regulierung von Algorithmen fürs Gemeinwohl. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Maria Pospelova
Sie nahmen an einer gemeinsamen Paneldiskussion teil und gaben Workshops zum Thema Algorithmen und den „Algo.Rules“, die von Michael Puntschuh mitentwickelt wurden. Mit den „Algo.Rules“ hat die Bertelsmann Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem iRights.Lab neun Gestaltungskriterien entwickelt. Sie legen eine Grundlage für ethische Erwägungen und für die Um- und Durchsetzung rechtlicher Rahmenbedingungen fest. Ebenso mit an Bord war das EU-Projekt „The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?“ des Goethe-Instituts zum Thema Medienkompetenz und Mediale Pfade mit einem Workshop.
 
Als Plattform bot „Tanz der Algorithmen“ Fachleuten ebenso wie einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit ein Forum für den Austausch und zielte darauf ab, verschiedene Perspektiven in einen konstruktiven Dialog zu bringen – ob aus Kunst, Journalismus und Medien, Soziologie oder Politikwissenschaften, Philosophie, Wirtschaft oder IT.
 
Die zentralen Fragestellungen lauteten: Wie verändern Digitalisierung und Künstliche Intelligenz Abläufe in der Arbeitswelt, in den Medien und im Kunstschaffen? Welchen Einfluss haben das Internet und Social Media auf Kommunikation, Wahrnehmung und gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt? Was bedeutet die Digitalisierung für unsere Demokratien?
Tanzen zu Algorithmen auf dem „Algorave“. Tanzen zu Algorithmen auf dem „Algorave“. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Maria Pospelova
Das Projekt bot eine produktive Schnittstelle zur digitalen Kommunikation des Goethe-Instituts in Moskau: Medienschaffende, Journalist*innen, Blogger*innen, Multiplikator*innen und Influencer*innen des Kultur- und Medienbereichs wurden dafür gewonnen, aus der Konferenz heraus live zu bloggen, zu twittern oder Mitschnitte zu produzieren und in ihren Kanälen zu teilen. Medienpartnerschaften mit colta.ru und Postnauka wurden realisiert, damit die Themen und Fragestellungen, Diskussionen und Erkenntnisse ihren Weg in die Öffentlichkeit fanden.

Top