Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Everything Passes Except the Past”
Debate Festival on Postcolonialism

Decolonial city tour with Kalvin Soiresse Njall from the collective Mémoire coloniale et Lutte contre les Discriminations.
Decolonial city tour with Kalvin Soiresse Njall from the collective Mémoire coloniale et Lutte contre les Discriminations. | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut, Caroline Lessire

As part of the Goethe-Institut’s international post-colonialism project "Everything Passes Except the Past", a virtual debate festival will take place on 17 October. The art historian Bénédicte Savoy will open it with a key-note lecture. 

By Benjamin Panten and Tanya Wittal-Düerkop

Public awareness of racist violence and historical injustice is growing. Colonial monuments, ethnographic collections and film archives are not only being de-mythicised and de-glorified, but also made the focus of political and social debates. The Everything Passes Except the Past debate festival takes up such current discourses.

Considering power structures …

Bénédicte Savoy will speak about historical and present-day “amnesia” in her lecture. As her most recent research shows, the restitution of colonial collections to Africa was discussed over 40 years ago but then those talks fizzled out. They were forgotten or successfully made forgotten, which Savoy regards as the most important lesson from the European restitution debate of the past three years. In addition to Paris and Berlin, there are also entire bundles of files in administrative and press archives as well as bequests in Lagos, Dakar and Nairobi that show that the debate about colonial collections in European museums already took place in detail. They peaked between 1978 and 1982.

… designing prospects for the future

After the opening lecture by Bénédicte Savoy, activists, artists, experts, curators and scholars from Africa, Latin America and Europe will discuss the delicate subject of (neo-) colonial entanglements. The contributions highlight the challenge of decolonising ethnological museum collections, public space and film archives, and bring positions from the global north and the global south into an intensive dialogue.
Performance “Healing the Museum” with Grace Ndiritu at the Africa Museum in Tervuren. Performance “Healing the Museum” with Grace Ndiritu at the Africa Museum in Tervuren. | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut, Caroline Lessire

Live stream of the debates

The festival is part of the two-year international project "Everything Passes Except the Past" by the Goethe-Institut Brussels, which organised various workshops and events in Belgium, France, Portugal and Spain in 2019. During the festival, many of the participating artists and experts will present works and statements that were developed during this research period. An exhibition on the project opened in mid-September at the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo in Turin and a publication of the results in book form is planned for October 2020.
 
The virtual debates of "Everything Passes Except the Past" will be streamed live on the project website of the Goethe-Institut Belgium on 17 October from 11:00 to 18:30 hours (CET). Registration is not required, simultaneous translation into English and Italian is available.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“
Debattenfestival zum Postkolonialismus

Dekolonialer Stadtrundgang mit Kalvin Soiresse Njall vom Kollektiv „Mémoire coloniale et Lutte contre les Discriminations“.
Dekolonialer Stadtrundgang mit Kalvin Soiresse Njall vom Kollektiv „Mémoire coloniale et Lutte contre les Discriminations“. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut, Caroline Lessire

Im Rahmen des internationalen Postkolonialismus-Projekts „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ des Goethe-Instituts findet am 17. Oktober ein virtuelles Debattenfestival statt. Die Kunsthistorikerin Bénédicte Savoy eröffnet es mit dem Vortrag „Amnesie. 40 Jahre Debatte über das afrikanische Kulturerbe in europäischen Museen“. 

Von Benjamin Panten und Tanya Wittal-Düerkop

Das öffentliche Bewusstsein für rassistische Gewalt und historische Ungerechtigkeit wächst. Kolonialdenkmäler, ethnografische Sammlungen und Filmarchive werden nicht nur entmythisiert und entglorifiziert, sondern in den Mittelpunkt politischer und sozialer Debatten gerückt. Das Debattenfestival „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ greift solche aktuellen Diskurse auf.

Machtstrukturen reflektieren …

Bénédicte Savoy wird in ihrem Vortrag von historischem und aktuellem „Vergessen“ sprechen. Wie ihre jüngste Forschung darlegt, wurde bereits vor über 40 Jahren über die Restitution kolonialer Sammlungsbestände nach Afrika diskutiert. Doch die damaligen Gespräche verliefen im Sande. Sie wurden vergessen oder erfolgreich vergessen gemacht, was Savoy als die wichtigste Lektion aus der europäischen Restitutions-Debatte der letzten drei Jahre betrachtet. Neben Paris und Berlin liegen auch in Lagos, Dakar oder Nairobi ganze Aktenkonvolute in Verwaltungs- und Pressearchiven sowie Nachlässen, aus denen hervorgeht, dass die Debatte um kolonialzeitliche Sammlungen in europäischen Museen schon einmal ausführlich stattgefunden hat. Sie erreichte ihren Höhepunkt zwischen 1978 und 1982.

… Zukunftsaussichten entwerfen

Nach dem Eröffnungsvortrag von Bénédicte Savoy werden Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen, Expert*innen, Kurator*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen aus Afrika, Lateinamerika und Europa das sensible Feld (neo-)kolonialer Verstrickungen diskutieren. Die Beiträge beleuchten die Herausforderung, ethnologische Museumssammlungen, den öffentlichen Raum und Filmarchive zu dekolonisieren, und bringen Positionen aus dem globalen Norden und dem globalen Süden in einen intensiven Dialog.
Performance “Healing the Museum” mit Grace Ndiritu im Afrika Museum Tervuren. Performance “Healing the Museum” mit Grace Ndiritu im Afrika Museum Tervuren. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut, Caroline Lessire

Live-Stream der Debatten

Das Festival ist Teil des zweijährigen internationalen Projekts „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ des Goethe-Instituts Brüssel, das 2019 verschiedene Workshops und Veranstaltungen in Belgien, Frankreich, Portugal und Spanien organisiert hatte. Viele der teilnehmenden Künstler*innen und Expert*innen präsentieren während des Festivals Werke und Statements, die während dieser Forschungsperiode entwickelt wurden. Eine Ausstellung zum Projekt eröffnete Mitte September in der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo in Turin und eine Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse in Buchform ist für Oktober 2020 in Planung.
 
Die virtuellen Debatten von „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ werden am 17. Oktober von 11:00 bis 18:30 Uhr (MEZ) auf der Projektwebsite des Goethe-Instituts Belgien live gestreamt. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich, Eine Simultanübersetzung in Englisch und Italienisch wird angeboten.

Top