Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Skilled Workers’ Training in Schwäbisch Hall
Day Care in the Morning, Language Class in the Afternoon – A Recipe for Success

María Prieto García working at the Schwäbisch Hall Kinderhaus Badtorweg.
María Prieto García working at the Schwäbisch Hall Kinderhaus Badtorweg. | Photo (detail): © Tanja Kurz

Faced with the current economic situation in Spain, 13 educators from Spain were drawn to Schwäbisch Hall where they are working in the city’s day-care centres while learning German at the Goethe-Institut.

By Tanja Kurz

Laura Jimenéz Segura (22) and Maria Prieto García (25) come from Spain. Despite their qualifications, the primary school teachers cannot find jobs due to the economic situation in their home country. The women therefore applied to the city of Schwäbisch Hall, which aims to counter its shortage of skilled workers in the city’s day-care centres by recruiting in Spain. In October 2020, 13 educators – two men and eleven women – arrived in Schwäbisch Hall, two of them even accompanied by their families.
 
In the morning, an internship in the day-care centre, in the afternoon, a language course at the Goethe-Institut is their daily work routine now. Mastering the German language is the most important prerequisite for the integration of the Spanish staff in the twelve day-care centres – and the most pressing problem. They previously completed their first language course in Spain; mainly at home at their computers due to the pandemic. “Learning a language that way is hard,” says Segura. García nods in agreement, adding, “Your concentration fades fast at the computer.”
 
Laura Jimenéz Segura was hired by the day-care centre in the district Gailenkirchen in Schwäbisch Hall. Laura Jimenéz Segura was hired by the day-care centre in the district Gailenkirchen in Schwäbisch Hall. | Photo (detail): © Tanja Kurz Fortunately, things are different in the course with Carmen Förtsch, the language teacher at the Schwäbisch Hall Goethe-Institut. The class is held in a large adjoining building of the institute with its own entrance, so teachers and students can keep the necessary distance. Today’s subject is media use then and now. Carmen Förtsch offers prompts, asks questions, writes vocabulary on the whiteboard. “We’re learning according to subject units,” explains the language teacher, “the vocabulary is embedded in the context.” At first, her students respond cautiously, but gradually the conversation begins to flow. Förtsch is understanding, noting, “They’re sometimes frustrated because they don’t understand as much or because they can’t express themselves as they wish.”

Learning and teaching German

Not all of them had already reached the B1 level, explains the language teacher. B1 enables them, for example, to understand main points and to express themselves simply and coherently on familiar topics. However, the aim of the language course at the Goethe-Institut is to reach language level B2. Those who pass the exam can understand complex texts and communicate spontaneously and fluently. “Only when the educators have reached that level are they counted towards the childcare ratio of the day-care centre,” assures Christoph Klenk, head of the department of early childhood education, schools and sport. After all, language teaching is a central task in day-care centres.
 
At the same time, the 13 Spaniards are going through a recognition process by the Stuttgart Regional Council, in which their educational expertise and work experience are assessed. “Some still have to provide various additional qualifications,” explains Monika Pietsch. Still, the city’s head of training assesses the start of the project positively, “Nationwide there’s a shortage of 250,000 to 300,000 professionals in the day-care centres, so the city is happy to invest heavily in language courses.”
 
Laura Jimenéz Segura and Maria Prieto García, who, like most of their colleagues, live in the Goethe guest house, met and became friends in Schwäbisch Hall. They are also accompanied by tandem partners that the Goethe-Institut has placed with them for their start in the new city. “We go for walks and talk with each other,” says Maria. “I’ve even been invited to dinner,” reports Segura. “Friendship is important,” the two agree, “It would be very, very difficult alone.”
 

Author

Tanja Kurz is a freelance journalist who previously worked as an editor for the Stuttgarter Nachrichten and as editor-in-chief of the Haller Tagblatt.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Fachkräftequalifizierung in Schwäbisch Hall
Vormittags in der Kita, nachmittags im Sprachkurs – ein Erfolgsrezept

María Prieto García arbeitet im Schwäbisch Haller Kinderhaus Badtorweg.
María Prieto García arbeitet im Schwäbisch Haller Kinderhaus Badtorweg. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Tanja Kurz

Angesichts der gegenwärtigen wirtschaftlichen Lage in Spanien zog es 13 pädagogische Fachkräfte aus Spanien nach Schwäbisch Hall. Hier arbeiten sie in Kin­der­ta­ges­ein­rich­tun­gen und lernen parallel am Goethe-Institut Deutsch.

Von Tanja Kurz

Laura Jimenéz Segura (22) und Maria Prieto García (25) kommen aus Spanien. Die Grundschullehrerinnen finden trotz ihrer Qualifikation aufgrund der wirt­schaftlichen Lage in der Heimat keine Anstellung. Daher haben sich die Frauen bei der Stadt Schwäbisch Hall beworben, die mit der Anwerbung in Spanien dem Fachkräftemangel in den städtischen Kindertageseinrichtungen entgegenwirken will. Im Oktober 2020 sind 13 pä­da­go­gische Fachkräfte – zwei Männer und elf Frauen – in Schwäbisch Hall an­ge­kommen, zwei sogar mit ihren Familien.
 
Vormittags Praktikum in der Kita, nachmittags Sprachkurs im Goethe-Institut: So sieht der Arbeitsalltag der Spanier*innen jetzt aus. Denn das Beherrschen der deutschen Sprache ist die wichtigste Voraussetzung für die Eingliederung der spanischen Fachkräfte in den zwölf Kindertageseinrichtungen – und das drängendste Problem. Einen ersten Sprachkurs haben sie zuvor in Spanien absolviert, Corona-bedingt hauptsächlich zu Hause vor dem Computer. „Eine Sprache auf diese Weise zu lernen ist schwer“, sagt Segura. García nickt zustimmend und ergänzt: „Die Konzentration lässt am Computer schnell nach.“
 
Laura Jimenéz Segura ist in der Kita im Schwäbisch Haller Teilort Gailenkirchen eingesetzt. Laura Jimenéz Segura ist in der Kita im Schwäbisch Haller Teilort Gailenkirchen eingesetzt. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Tanja Kurz Das ist im Kurs mit Carmen Förtsch, Sprachlehrerin am Haller Goethe-Institut, zum Glück anders. Die Klasse ist in einem großen Nebengebäude des Instituts mit eigenem Eingang untergebracht, so können Lehrerin und Schüler*innen die nötige Distanz wahren. An diesem Tag ist Mediennutzung früher und heute das Thema. Carmen Förtsch ermuntert, fragt nach, schreibt Vokabeln auf das Whiteboard. „Wir lernen nach Themeneinheiten“, erklärt die Sprachlehrerin, „die Vokabeln sind eingebettet in den Kontext.“ Anfangs reagieren ihre Schüler*innen zurückhaltend, doch nach und nach kommt das Gespräch in Fluss. Förtsch hat Verständnis: „Sie sind manchmal frustriert, weil sie nicht so viel verstehen oder sich nicht wie gewünscht ausdrücken können.“

Die deutsche Sprache lernen und vermitteln

Nicht alle hätten bereits das B1-Niveau erreicht, bedauert die Sprachlehrerin. B1 befähigt beispielsweise dazu, Hauptinformationen zu verstehen sowie sich einfach und zusammenhängend über vertraute Themen zu äußern. Ziel des Sprachkurses am Goethe-Institut ist jedoch das Sprachniveau B2. Wer diese Prüfung bestanden hat, kann komplexe Texte verstehen sowie sich spontan und fließend verständigen. „Erst wenn die pädagogischen Fachkräfte dieses Niveau erreicht haben, werden sie auf den Betreuungsschlüssel in der Kindertageseinrichtung angerechnet“, versichert Christoph Klenk, zuständiger Leiter des Fachbereichs Frühkindliche Bildung, Schulen und Sport. Sprachvermittlung ist schließlich eine zentrale Aufgabe in den Kitas.
 
Parallel durchlaufen die 13 Spanier*innen ein Anerkennungsverfahren durch das Regierungspräsidium Stuttgart, in dem ihr pädagogisches Fachwissen und die Arbeitserfahrung bewertet werden. „Verschiedene zusätzliche Qualifikationen müssen einige noch erbringen“, erklärt Monika Pietsch. Den Einstieg in das Projekt bewertet die städtische Ausbildungsleiterin dennoch positiv: „Bundesweit fehlen 250 000 bis 300 000 Fachkräfte im Bereich der Kitas, daher investiert die Stadt gerne und massiv in Sprachkurse.“
 
Laura Jimenéz Segura und Maria Prieto García, die wie die meisten Kolleg*innen im Goethe-Gästehaus leben, haben sich in Schwäbisch Hall kennengelernt und sind Freundinnen geworden. Begleitet werden sie beim Start in die neue Stadt übrigens von Tandempartner*innen, die das Goethe-Institut vermittelt hat. „Wir gehen gemeinsam spazieren und reden miteinander“, erzählt Maria. „Ich wurde sogar schon zum Essen eingeladen“, berichtet Segura. „Freundschaft ist wichtig“, sind sich die beiden einig: „Alleine wäre es sehr, sehr schwer.“
 

Autorin

Tanja Kurz ist freie Journalistin und arbeitete zuvor als Redakteurin bei den Stuttgarter Nachrichten und als Chefredakteurin des Haller Tagblatts.

Top