Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Tramas Democráticas”
“Everyone benefits from this dialogue”

„Tramas Democráticas“
„Tramas Democráticas“ | Illustration: © Goethe-Institut

Democracy only functions when we work together. With Tramas Democráticas, the Goethe-Institut brings actors from South America and Germany together to strengthen democratic values.

By Anja Riedeberger

Between 1990 and 2020, more than 1,600 initiatives to promote democracy were initiated in South America, 40 percent of them by civil society organisations, according to a survey by the LATINNO project of the Berlin Social Science Centre. NGOs and smaller civil society initiatives in particular are experimenting with new methods and media on promoting democratic values and practices and thus advocating more transparency, participation and integration. What can these initiatives learn from each other? What are the common challenges in each of the countries? Which solutions can be transferred to other countries and contexts?

Between June 2020 and April 2021, civil society initiatives from Argentina, Brazil, Germany, Colombia and Venezuela are coming together to answer these questions as part of Tramas Democráticas. In workshops and public discussions, innovations in the field of democracy promotion as well as the transferability of approaches and closer cooperation are the focus.

The participants report here on their experiences:

Paula Peña, Colombia – Movilizatorio 
Disinformation is leading to polarisation and growing intolerance in Colombia. Paula Peña Paula Peña | Foto: © privat That’s why we created Movilizatorio, a laboratory for citizen participation and social innovation. We strengthen critical thinking and deepen knowledge about fake news and disinformation so that everyone can participate in democratic processes. At Tramas Democráticas we get to know similar initiatives from South America. It is wonderful to exchange experiences and perspectives on phenomena that influence the democratic and political processes all over Latin America.


Debora Albu, Brazil, Institute for Technology & Society of Rio de JaneiroITS Rio 
Especially now during the pandemic, technology is enabling access to public services and participation in political processes. Debora Albu Debora Albu | Foto: © privat But there is always the risk that certain groups will take advantage of technical platforms to poison the public sphere. We at ITS Rio counter this by providing information about the challenges and opportunities of digital technologies, for example with our project Redes Cordiais, an initiative aimed at combating disinformation in social media. We are, of course, very interested in how other initiatives tackle disinformation campaigns. That’s why we’ve been with Tramas Democráticas from the start and have gotten to know many actors from South America who are active in this area.


Juan Pablo Marín Dían, Colombia – DataSketch  
At DataSketch, we’re committed to combating lack of transparency, for example in the context of public spending. Juan Pablo Marín Dían Juan Pablo Marín Dían | Foto: © privat We visualise information to make it more accessible. Information cannot be a resource that only a few possess. Through our applications, anyone interested can discover information with just a few clicks. This way, we also support the work of journalists and activists. With our collaborative approach, we uncover previously inaccessible information and make it available to everyone, for example in the context of political campaign financing. Lack of transparency is a common problem in many South American countries, not just Colombia. We therefore benefit greatly from the international exchange – together we can develop countermeasures even more efficiently.


Sil Bahia, BrazilPretaLab 
With PretaLab we promote Black women in the field of technology and innovation. After all, they make up 28 percent of the Brazilian population and are severely underrepresented in technical fields. American civil rights activist Angela Davis says that when a Black woman moves in society, society moves with her. This is exactly what PretaLab is all about: We want to overcome inertia and get society moving. Technology is never neutral; it often serves the interests of business and politics. We therefore need more diversity in technological companies. This is not a Brazilian phenomenon; this underrepresentation is everywhere. It is important to share our knowledge and also to learn strategies from other initiatives on how we can counter this.


Nicolás Díaz Cruz, ColombiaExtituto 
We in South America live in one of the most unequal regions in the world, which is also reflected in the way decisions are made. In politics, negotiations often take place behind closed doors. Civil society needs access. Nicolás Díaz Cruz Nicolás Díaz Cruz | Foto: © privat
Here I’m reminded of an idea from Germany: transparency, symbolised by the glass dome of the Bundestag. In one of our current projects, we publish tax returns and assets of mayoral candidates in Bogotá and thus disclose possible conflicts of interest. The international exchange that Tramas Democráticas enables is very valuable to us, for example with associations like Asuntos del Sur and Democracia en Red in Argentina or the Instituto Update in Brazil, which have a similar approach to ours. Everyone benefits from this dialogue.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Tramas Democráticas“
„Von diesem Dialog profitieren alle“

„Tramas Democráticas“
„Tramas Democráticas“ | Illustration: © Goethe-Institut

Demokratie geht nur gemeinsam. Mit „Tramas Democráticas“ bringt das Goethe-Institut Akteure aus Südamerika und Deutschland zusammen, um demokratische Werte zu stärken. 

Von Anja Riedeberger

Zwischen 1990 und 2020 wurden in Südamerika mehr als 1.600 Initiativen zur Demokratieförderung initiiert, davon 40 Prozent von zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen, so eine Erhebung des Projekts „LATINNO“ des Wissenschaftszentrums Berlin für Sozialforschung. Es sind insbesondere NGOs und kleinere zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen, die zum Thema Förderung demokratischer Werte und Praktiken mit neuen Methoden und Medien experimentieren und so für mehr Transparenz, Partizipation und Integration eintreten. Was können diese Initiativen voneinander lernen? Welche gemeinsamen Herausforderungen gibt es in den einzelnen Ländern? Welche Lösungen lassen sich auf andere Länder, andere Kontexte übertragen?

Zu diesen Fragen kommen im Rahmen von „Tramas Democráticas“ zwischen Juni 2020 und April 2021 zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen aus Argentinien, Brasilien, Deutschland, Kolumbien und Venezuela zusammen. In Workshops und öffentlichen Diskussionen stehen Innovationen im Bereich Demokratieförderung sowie die Übertragbarkeit von Lösungsansätzen und die engere Zusammenarbeit im Vordergrund.

Die Teilnehmer*innen berichten hier von ihren Erfahrungen:

Paula Peña, Kolumbien – Movilizatorio 
Desinformation führt in Kolumbien zu Polarisierung und wachsender Intoleranz. Aus diesem Grund haben wir Movilizatorio gegründet, ein Laboratorium für Bürger­be­teiligung und soziale Innovation. Paula Peña Paula Peña | Foto: © privat Wir stärken kritisches Denken und vertiefen das Wissen über Fake News und Desinformation, damit alle an demokratischen Pro­zessen teilhaben können. Bei „Tramas Democráticas“ lernen wir ähnliche Initiativen aus Südamerika kennen. Es ist wunderbar, Erfahrungen und Perspektiven auszutauschen über Phänomene, die die demo­kra­tischen und politischen Prozesse überall in Latein­amerika beeinflussen.


Debora Albu, Brasilien, Institut für Technologie und Gesellschaft Rio de JaneiroITS Rio 
Gerade jetzt in der Pandemie ermöglicht Technologie Zugang zu öffentlichen Dienstleistungen und Teilnahme an politischen Prozessen. Es besteht aber immer die Gefahr, dass bestimmte Gruppen sich technische Plattformen zunutze machen, um die Sphäre des Öffentlichen zu vergiften. Debora Albu Debora Albu | Foto: © privat Wir beim ITS Rio begegnen dem, indem wir über Herausforderungen und Chancen von digitalen Technologien informieren, etwa mit unserem Projekt „Redes Cordiais“, eine auf die Bekämpfung von Desinformation in sozialen Medien gerichtete Initiative. Uns interessiert natürlich sehr, wie andere Initiativen gegen Desinformationskampagnen vorgehen. Daher sind wir von Anfang an bei „Tramas Democráticas“ dabei gewesen und haben viele Akteure aus Südamerika kennengelernt, die in diesem Bereich aktiv sind.


Juan Pablo Marín Dían, Kolumbien – DataSketch  
Bei DataSketch engagieren wir uns gegen Intransparenz, etwa im Kontext von öffentlichen Ausgaben. Wir visualisieren Informationen, um sie zugänglicher zu machen. Juan Pablo Marín Dían Juan Pablo Marín Dían | Foto: © privat Informationen dürfen keine Ressource sein, über die nur wenige verfügen. Durch unsere Anwendungen können alle Interessierten Informationen mit wenigen Klicks entdecken. Wir unterstützen damit auch die Arbeit von Journalist*innen und Aktivist*innen. Mit unserem kollaborativen Ansatz decken wir auch bisher nicht zugängliche Information auf und stellen sie allen zur Verfügung, etwa im Kontext der Finanzierung von politischen Kampagnen. Intransparenz ist ein verbreitetes Problem in vielen Ländern Südamerikas, nicht nur in Kolumbien. Daher profitieren wir sehr von dem internationalen Austausch – gemeinsam können wir noch effizienter Gegenmaßnahmen entwickeln.


Sil Bahia, BrasilienPretaLab 
Mit PretaLab fördern wir schwarze Frauen im Bereich Technologie und Innovation. Sie bilden immerhin 28 Prozent der brasilianischen Bevölkerung und sind in technischen Bereichen stark unterrepräsentiert. Die US-amerikanische Bürgerrechtlerin Angela Davis sagt, wenn eine schwarze Frau sich in der Gesellschaft bewegt, dann bewegt sich die Gesellschaft mit ihr. Genau darum geht es bei PretaLab: Wir wollen die Beharrungskräfte überwinden und die Gesellschaft in Bewegung bringen. Technologie ist nie neutral, sie dient oft den Interessen von Wirtschaft und Politik. Daher brauchen wir mehr Diversität in technologischen Unternehmen. Das ist kein brasilianisches Phänomen, diese Unterrepräsentation gibt es überall. Daher ist es wichtig, unser Wissen zu teilen und auch von anderen Initiativen Strategien zu lernen, wie wir dem entgegentreten können.


Nicolás Díaz Cruz, KolumbienExtituto 
Wir in Südamerika leben in einer der ungleichsten Regionen der Welt, was sich auch darin niederschlägt, wie Entscheidungen getroffen werden. Nicolás Díaz Cruz Nicolás Díaz Cruz | Foto: © privat
In der Politik finden Verhandlungen oft hinter ver­schlos­sen­en Türen statt. Die Zivil­ge­sell­schaft braucht Zugang. Hier denke ich an eine Idee der Deutschen: Transparenz, symbolisiert durch die gläserne Kuppel des Bundestages. Bei einem unserer aktuellen Projekte veröffentlichen wir Steuer­er­klä­rungen und Vermögen von Bür­ger­meister­kan­di­dat*in­nen in Bogotá und legen somit mögliche Interessens­konflikte offen. Der internationale Austausch, den „Tramas Democráticas“ ermöglicht, ist für uns sehr wertvoll, etwa mit Vereinen wie Asuntos del Sur und Democracia en Red in Argentinien oder dem Instituto Update in Brasilien, die einen ähnlichen Ansatz haben wie wir. Von diesem Dialog profitieren alle.

Top