Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

beuys on/off
Beuys on, Beuys off

Banner for the project “beuys on/off”
Banner for the project “beuys on/off” | Illustration (detail): © Goethe-Institut Tokyo/ Dainippon Type Organization

Joseph Beuys travelled to Tokyo in 1984. “Eurasia,” the utopian unity of Europe and Asia, formed an important point of reference for his artistic work. For his centenary this year, the Goethe-Institut Tokyo is launching the project “beuys on/off”.

Since the early 1960s, ideas about Eurasian unity played an important role in Beuys’s work. He coined the term “Eurasia” to describe a unity of Europe and Asia that would resolve the contrasts between Western and Eastern cultures. During a visit to Japan in 1984, Beuys held discussions with Japanese students and organised a performance with the South Korean composer Nam June Paik. “beuys on/off” is a response to Joseph Beuys from a “Eurasian” perspective for which artists, activists, practitioners and scholars come together for a critical examination of Beuys.
 
“What if Beuys were alive in the internet age?” During the opening discussion on 4 April 2021, everything will revolve around this question. Artistic director Mizuki Takahashi will meet Dominique Chen, associate professor at Waseda University, Sakiko Sugawa, co-founder of the Centre for Reproductive Work, the artists Gulnara Kasmalieva and Muratbek Djumaliev, Taeyoon Choi, artist, educator and co-founder of the School for Poetic Computation, and Jung-Yeon Ma, film and media scholar as well as dj sniff, musician and curator, who will present the individual project parts of beuys on/off.
 
The event will be streamed on 4 April from 10 am (CEST) on the Facebook page and the YouTube channel of the Goethe-Institut Tokyo.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„beuys on/off“
Beuys an, Beuys aus

Banner zum Projekt „beuys on/off“
Banner zum Projekt „beuys on/off“ | Illustration (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut Tokyo/ Dainippon Type Organization

1984 reiste Joseph Beuys nach Tokyo. „Eurasien“ als utopische Einheit von Europa und Asien bildete einen wichtigen Bezugspunkt seiner künstlerischen Arbeit. Zu seinem 100. Geburtstag in diesem Jahr startet das Goethe-Institut Tokyo das Projekt „beuys on/off“.

Seit den frühen 1960er Jahren spielen in Beuys‘ Werk Vorstellungen über eine eurasische Einheit eine wichtige Rolle. Hierfür prägte Beuys den Begriff „Eurasien“ – eine Einheit von Europa und Asien, in der die Gegensätze zwischen westlicher und östlicher Kultur aufgelöst sein sollten. Während eines Japan-Besuchs im Jahr 1984 hielt Beuys Diskussionen mit japanischen Student*innen ab und organisierte eine Performance mit dem südkoreanischen Komponisten Nam June Paik. „beuys on/off“ ist eine Erwiderung auf Joseph Beuys aus einer „eurasischen“ Perspektive – Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Praktiker*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen kommen für eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Beuys zusammen.
 
„Was, wenn Joseph Beuys im Internetzeitalter gelebt hätte?“ Während des Eröffnungsgesprächs am 4. April 2021 dreht sich alles um diese Fragestellung. Hierbei trifft die künstlerische Leiterin Mizuki Takahashi auf Dominique Chen, außerordentlicher Professor an der Waseda-Universität, Sakiko Sugawa, Mitbegründerin des Zentrums für Reproduktive Arbeit, die Künstler*innen Gulnara Kasmalieva und Muratbek Djumaliev, Taeyoon Choi, Künstler, Erzieher und Mitbegründer der „School for Poetic Computation“, und Jung-Yeon Ma, Film- und Medienwissenschaftlerin sowie dj sniff, Musiker und Kurator, die die einzelnen Projektteile von „beuys on/off“ vorstellen.
 
Die Veranstaltung wird am 4. April ab 10 Uhr (MESZ) über die Facebook-Seite und den Youtube-Kanal des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo gestreamt.

Top