Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Sustainable architecture: the new Goethe-Institut in Dakar
Back to the Future

3-D render of the new Goethe-Institut in Dakar. External view: Inner courtyard with baobab tree.
3-D render of the new Goethe-Institut in Dakar. External view: Inner courtyard with baobab tree. | Photo (detail): © Kéré Architecture

The Senegalese capital Dakar is the setting for the new Goethe-Institut designed by architect Francis Kéré from Burkina Faso. It embodies architecture as a cultural, societal and climatologically evolved term.

By Ruth Helmling

The award-winning architect can remember his first school well, even almost fifty years later: “It was dark. And hot!” Francis Kéré, who now lives and works in Berlin, grew up in a village in rural Burkina Faso with his 13 siblings. At the age of seven, his parents sent him to live with relatives in the nearest town so that he could go to school. His awareness of and sensitivity to the traditional architecture of his homeland began in his childhood and continued after he left school. In the 1980s he was awarded a scholarship to come to Germany, where he initially trained as a carpenter before studying architecture at the TU Berlin. Even before completing his studies, he returned to Gando, where he built a primary school – of traditional materials, with a modern design. Welcoming. Light-filled. And cool.

The entire village joined in with the work. And Kéré was awarded his first prize, the renowned Aga Khan Award for architecture. Many more were to follow.

Francis Kéré follows a holistic approach to architecture, which is both futurist and traditional. “Informed by tradition, we explore new forms of building whose foundations were laid a long time ago” – such is the philosophy of Kéré Architecture, the architectural office he set up in Berlin in 2005. His now numerous international projects show what this can look like in practice. He is currently working on a new building for the Goethe-Institut in Dakar. Kéré feels honoured to be contributing with this project to the contemporary revisioning of the city: “The capital of Senegal is one of the most important cultural hubs on the African continent.”

As with his school project in Gando, he will use compressed earth bricks for the institute in Dakar: These are a traditional material with a modern slant. Kéré and the Goethe-Institut agree that the use of local building materials makes sense, both ecologically and from an air-conditioning perspective.

For Francis Kéré, the message to be communicated by the new Goethe-Institut in Dakar extends far beyond the question of building materials: “On numerous levels, the design represents the values that both I myself and the Goethe-Institut share,” says Kéré. “When it came to issues like sustainability and climate protection, I not only met with an open and sympathetic response but was even encouraged to take things further.” The result is both sustainable and modern – there will be space for around 600 students and plenty of contemporary technology, among other things.

But thanks to its design and, not least, the building techniques which use loam and bioclimatic construction principles, the building is also rooted in Senegalese history and culture. “The Goethe-Institut is essentially a meeting place where dialogue and understanding which transcend borders and differences are encouraged,” continues Kéré. “This has parallels to my own work as an architect, because these are the fundamental values that have always characterised my buildings.”

There has been a Goethe-Institut in Senegal since 1978. The working methods of the institute will change with the new building, emphasises the director, Philip Küppers: “For our library, we have designed a new concept that combines the requirements of oral and literary history. At the heart of the library space will be a discussion circle surrounded by a combination of bookshelves, small recording studios to document the oral cultural tradition, and digital workspaces.” The design also draws on local features, such as the baobab tree that stands in the institute’s inner courtyard. In Senegalese oral culture this is traditionally the place where the local community meets – in the shade of its branches, discussions take place and decisions for the future are debated. This symbolism will run through the entire institute.

For Francis Kéré, the “proverbial jewel in the crown” of the project is the roof: “Just like the crown of a tree, this structure offers shade and protection. Here you can meet up with others or simply enjoy some quiet time to yourself.” There’s no better place for players and students to expand their knowledge of traditional and modern architecture in West Africa, exchange ideas for a more sustainable future and make plans. A “place for dreaming”, as the flyer for the new Goethe-Institut has it.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Nachhaltige Architektur: das neue Goethe-Institut in Dakar
Zurück in die Zukunft

Rendering des neuen Goethe-Instituts in Dakar. Außenansicht: Innenhof mit Baobab.
Rendering des neuen Goethe-Instituts in Dakar. Außenansicht: Innenhof mit Baobab. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Kéré Architecture

In Dakar entwirft der aus Burkina Faso stammende Architekt Francis Kéré das neue Goethe-Institut. Es verkörpert Architektur als kulturell, sozial und klimatologisch gewachsenen Begriff.

Von Ruth Helmling

Auch knapp fünfzig Jahre später kann sich der preisgekrönte Architekt noch gut an seine erste Schule erinnern: „Es war dunkel. Und heiß!“ Francis Kéré, der heute in Berlin lebt und arbeitet, wuchs mit seinen 13 Geschwistern in einem Dorf im ländlichen Burkina Faso auf. Damit er die Schule besuchen konnte, schickten seine Eltern den damals Siebenjährigen zu Verwandten in der nächsten Stadt. Die traditionelle Bauweise seiner Heimat begleitete ihn durch seine Kindheit und auch nach seiner Schulzeit. In den 80er Jahren brachte ihn ein Stipendium dann nach Deutschland, wo er zunächst eine Ausbildung zum Schreiner machte und dann an der TU Berlin Architektur studierte. Noch vor Abschluss seines Studiums führte ihn sein Weg zurück nach Gando. Er baute eine Grundschule – aus traditionellen Materialien, mit modernem Design. Freundlich. Hell. Und kühl.

Das ganze Dorf arbeitete daran mit. Und Kéré wurde mit seinem ersten Preis ausgezeichnet, dem renommierten Aga Khan Award for Architecture. Ihm sollten noch viele weitere Preise folgen.

Francis Kérés Ansatz ist ganzheitlich. Er ist zugleich futuristisch und traditionell. „Informiert durch Tradition, erkunden wir neue Formen des Bauens, deren Fundamente vor langer Zeit gelegt wurden“, so die Philosophie von Kéré Architecture, seinem 2005 gegründeten Architektur-Büro in Berlin. Wie das aussehen kann, zeigen seine inzwischen zahlreichen international vorhandenen Projekte. Aktuell arbeitet er an einem neuen Gebäude für das Goethe-Institut in Dakar. Kéré fühlt sich geehrt, durch das Projekt an der zeitgenössischen Gestaltung Dakars mitzuwirken: „Die Hauptstadt Senegals ist einer der wichtigsten Kulturknotenpunkte auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent.“

Wie für sein Schulprojekt in Gando wird er für das Institut in Dakar sogenannte BTC-Ziegel verwenden: Komprimierte Erdziegel, ein traditionelles Material in zeitgemäßem Gewand. Die Verwendung lokaler Baumaterialien ist sowohl ökologisch als auch klimatechnisch sinnvoll, darin sind sich Kéré und das Goethe-Institut in Senegal einig.

Für Francis Kéré geht die Botschaft des neuen Goethe-Instituts in Dakar weit über die Frage nach Baumaterialien hinaus: „Das Design steht auf mehreren Ebenen für die Werte, die das Goethe-Institut und ich teilen“, bemerkt Kéré. „Bei den Themen Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz bin ich nicht nur auf offene Ohren gestoßen, sondern wurde dazu aufgefordert, noch weiter zu gehen.“ Das Resultat ist nicht nur nachhaltig, es ist modern – unter anderen wird es Platz für rund 600 Student*innen und viel zeitgemäße Technologie geben.

Aber es ist durch sein Design, und nicht zuletzt durch die Lehmbau- und bioklimatischen Techniken, auch verwurzelt in der Geschichte und Kultur Senegals. „Das Goethe-Institut ist im Kern ein Begegnungsort, an dem Austausch und Verständnis über Grenzen und Unterschiede hinweg gefördert werden“, so Kéré weiter. „Darin erkenne ich meine eigene Arbeit als Architekt wieder, denn dies sind die Grundwerte, die meine Gebäude seit jeher prägen.“

Das Goethe-Institut gibt es im Senegal seit 1978. Mit dem neuen Gebäude wird sich auch die Arbeitsweise des Instituts verändern, betont sein Leiter Philip Küppers: „Für unsere Bibliothek haben wir ein neues Konzept entworfen, das die Bedürfnisse von Oralität und Literalität verbindet. Im Zentrum entsteht ein Diskussionskreis, der umgeben ist von einer Mischung aus Bücherregalen, kleinen Tonstudios zur Dokumentation des oralen Kulturerbes sowie digitalen Arbeitsplätzen.“ Man greife auch die örtlichen Begebenheiten auf – etwa den Baobab-Baum, der im Innenhof des Instituts stehe. Dieser ist in der senegalesischen, oralen Kultur traditionell der Ort, an dem sich die Ortsgemeinschaft trifft, in dessen Schatten diskutiert wird, Entscheidungen für die Zukunft verhandelt werden. Diese Symbolik wird sich durch das gesamte Institut ziehen.

„Sprichwörtliche Krönung“ des Projektes ist für Francis Kéré das Dach: „Wie die Krone eines Baumes spendet diese Struktur Schatten und Schutz. Hier kann man sich treffen, oder auch einfach zur Ruhe kommen.“ Wo besser könnten Akteur*innen und Studierende ihr Wissen über traditionelle und moderne Architektur in Westafrika erweitern, Ideen für eine nachhaltigere Zukunft austauschen und Pläne schmieden. Eine „Gelegenheit zum Träumen“, wie es in der Broschüre zum neuen Goethe-Institut heißt.

Top