Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Deutschland Express” Virtual Festival
Virtual rail replacement service

Virtual exhibition preview of artworks by the Russian artist Ustina Yakovleva with German artists Various & Gould as part of the festival “Deutschland-Express”.
Virtual exhibition preview of artworks by the Russian artist Ustina Yakovleva with German artists Various & Gould as part of the festival “Deutschland-Express”. | Illustration (detail): © Goethe-Institut hb

The “Deutschland-Express” organised by the Goethe-Institut in Moscow toured for a full six weeks as an online festival. Its purpose was to make Russian-German exchange possible during the pandemic.

By Tatjana Brode

“From the Goethe-Institut’s point of view, it’s not a question of if but more a question of when we will feel at home with these digital cultural spaces. Artists and creatives will play an important role here because they will design these cultural spaces in the future”, said Johannes Ebert, General Secretary of the Goethe-Institut, in his speech on the virtual “Deutschland-Express”. He was speaking in the shape of an avatar in a virtual 3D exhibition room on the platform Mozilla Hubs. Somewhat unusual – but digital cultural technology has been developing at breath-taking speed during the pandemic.

Since 18 May 2021, the “Deutschland-Express” virtual festival has broadcast 48 events via various platforms to mark the Germany Year in Russia: streams via social media channels and the website, live events and encounters in the 3D train. Above all, it’s about encouraging people from two countries to enter into dialogue and cooperate with one another. “We have been able to use the virtual festival to intensify networking between people in Russia and Germany, despite the difficult pandemic situation”, said Dr. Heike Uhlig, head of the Goethe-Institut in Moscow. “We are particularly delighted about the interest and desire for exchange on the part of the Russian public, who went on this journey with us in various digital formats.”

Thousands of passengers in six weeks

The team at the Goethe-Institut in Moscow and the Playersjourney agency combined the most interesting digital formats generated by the accelerated digitalisation during the corona pandemic. The festival programme included sketchnoting workshops, taster German language courses, poetry slams, theatre performances and a DJ set on the radio. Three exhibitions in 3D show artworks by artists from both countries that feature visual connection lines. Each of these exhibitions started with a virtual preview during which the guests could speak directly with each other and the artists – as avatars. German and Russian writers, experts and creative artists met in talk shows that incorporated questions and comments from the public.

More than 5,000 “passengers” visited the wagons of the virtual “Deutschland-Express”. The contributions can be called up in the Mediathek. The idea for the project came from Minister of State Michelle Müntefering, who had developed it for the Germany Year before the pandemic: a train filled with German creative artists and experts was supposed to travel through Russia, with many stopping-off places. Instead of this, they met up with their public in the digital expanses of the internet.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Virtuelles Festival „Deutschland-Express“
Virtueller Schienenersatzverkehr

Virtuelle Vernissage der russischen Künstlerin Ustina Yakovleva gemeinsam mit den deutschen Künstlern Various & Gould im Rahmen des Festivals „Deutschland-Express“
Illustration (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut hb

Der vom Goethe-Institut Moskau organisierte „Deutschland-Express“ reiste sechs Wochen lang in Form eines Onlinefestivals. Er stand im Dienst eines russisch-deutschen Austauschs in Zeiten der Pandemie.

Von Tatjana Brode

„Aus Sicht des Goethe-Instituts ist es nicht die Frage Ob, sondern vielmehr die Frage Wann wir mit diesen digitalen Kulturräumen vertraut werden. Künstler*innen und Kultur­schaffende werden hierbei eine wichtige Rolle spielen, denn sie werden diese Kultur­räume in der Zukunft gestalten“, sagt Johannes Ebert, General­sekretär des Goethe-Instituts, in seiner Ansprache im virtuellen „Deutschland-Express“. Er spricht in Gestalt eines Avatars in einer virtuellen Ausstellung im 3D-Raum auf der Plattform Mozilla Hubs. Etwas ungewohnt, aber in Zeiten der Pandemie entwickeln sich digitale Kulturtechniken rasant weiter.

Seit dem 18. Mai 2021 hat das virtuelle Festival „Deutschland Express“ im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahres in Russland 48 Veranstaltungen über verschiedene Plattformen ausgestrahlt: Streams über Social-Media-Kanäle und die Website, Live-Veranstaltungen und Begegnungen im 3D-Zug. Vor allem ging es darum, Menschen aus beiden Ländern in einen Dialog zu bringen und das Miteinander zu fördern. „Mit dem virtuellen Festival haben wir trotz der nicht einfachen Pandemie-Situation die Vernetzung von Menschen aus Russland und Deutschland intensivieren können“, sagt Dr. Heike Uhlig, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Moskau. „Wir freuen uns vor allem über das Interesse und die Lust am Austausch des russischen Publikums, das mit uns diese Reise in verschiedene digitale Formate unternommen hat.“

Tausende Mitreisende in sechs Wochen

Das Team am Goethe-Institut Moskau und die Agentur Playersjourney kombinierten die interessantesten digitalen Formate, die die beschleunigte Digitalisierung während der Corona-Pandemie hervorgebracht hat. Zum Festival-Programm gehörten Sketchnote-Workshops, Schnupperstunden für Deutschlerner*innen, Poetry-Slams, Theater­auf­führungen und ein DJ-Set im Radio. Drei Ausstellungen in der 3D-Umgebung zeigen jeweils Werke von Künstler*innen aus beiden Ländern, die visuelle Verbindungs­linien aufweisen. Jede dieser Ausstellungen startete mit einer virtuellen Vernissage, bei der die Gäste direkt miteinander und mit den Künstler*innen sprechen konnten – als Avatare. In Gesprächsrunden kamen deutsche und russische Literat*innen, Expert*innen und Kultur­schaffende zusammen, die auf Fragen und Kommentare des Publikums reagierten.

Mehr als 5.000 Besucher*innen haben die Waggons des virtuellen „Deutschland-Express“ besucht. Die Beiträge sind in der Mediathek abrufbar. Das Projekt geht im Übrigen auf eine Idee von Staatsministerin Michelle Müntefering zurück, die sie vor der Pandemie für das Deutschlandjahr in Russland entwickelte: Ein Zug voller deutscher Kulturschaffender und Expert*innen sollte mit vielen Stationen durch Russland reisen. Stattdessen begegneten sie ihrem Publikum in den digitalen Weiten des Internets.

Top