Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Parasol”
Longing for Summer

Ayzit Bostan's installation “Parasol” at Palais Galliera.
Ayzit Bostan's installation “Parasol” at Palais Galliera. | Photo (detail): © Fabian Frinzel

Artist Ayzit Bostan presented her art installation “Parasol” as part of the series “Munich Unique” by the Goethe-Institut in Paris. Guests included the German ambassador Hans-Dieter Lucas and the mayor of the 16th arrondissement, Francis Szpiner.

By Franz Paul Helms

It’s a rainy July day in Paris. Guests huddle under the porch of the Palais Galliera to attend the unveiling of Ayzit Bostan’s art installation “Parasol”. ‘It would have been better to hold the exhibition in summer’, joked Francis Szpiner, mayor of Paris’ 16th arrondissement, in his opening speech.
 
Bostan’s installation was inspired by abandoned beach umbrellas at the end of a summer season; without further ado she transferred them from a sandy to an urban environment. Embedded in a concrete base, the umbrellas can now be seen in the garden of the stately Palais Galliera. Resembling clouds, the four ecru-coloured fabric umbrellas create shade and an oasis of calm in the centre of the Parisian hustle and bustle. ‘It represents my personal longing for summer that I have brought into the public sphere’, says Bostan about her work.
 
The fact that Bostan’s artwork is not hiding behind panes of plexiglass or thick museum walls, but is freely accessible as an installation in the garden of the Palais Galliera, has a special symbolic character. “Parasol” creates a bridge between concealment and recently recaptured public life. The work becomes a place of retreat that recalls the light-heartedness of warm summer days and invites people to take a seat and pause for a while. ‘Bostan’s work facilitates an exchange that has become particularly precious during the corona pandemic’, said the German ambassador Hans-Dieter Lucas.

Ayzit Bostan's installation “Parasol” at Palais Galliera. Ayzit Bostan's installation “Parasol” at Palais Galliera. | Photo (detail): © Fabian Frinzel

At the interface between design and art

The installation should actually have been unveiled two years’ ago in Paris, but the opening had to be postponed owing to the pandemic. ‘We are delighted that we have finally been able to start this magnificent project’, says Laura Sanchez Serrano from the Department of Arts and Culture in Munich. ‘The project “Munich Unique” allows us to present our cultural scene to an international public. In this way, the artists can also develop a network in Paris.’ The fact that so many visitors defied the rain to attend the exhibition shows that this experiment has been successful.
 
The Palais Galliera, which is a museum of the history of fashion, is a particularly suitable place for Bostan’s artwork: ‘We were naturally particularly pleased to welcome the work of a fashion designer on our premises’, remarks Miren Arzalluz, director of the Palais Galliera. A trained dressmaker and pattern cutter, Bostan’s work is a coalescence of design and art. Based in Munich, Bostan’s activities often take place in the public sphere: She recently decorated the billboard of the Department of Arts and Culture on Lenbachplatz; in 2012 she presented the art installation “Replika” in the Munich Hofgarten together with Gerhardt Kellermann.
 
Even if the weather hasn’t played along today, “Parasol” will have an opportunity to provide shade for its public: The installation can be viewed until 29th August in the garden of the Palais Galliera in Paris. It then moves to Munich.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Parasol“
Sommersehnsucht

Ayzit Bostans Installation „Parasol“ im Palais Galliera.
Ayzit Bostans Installation „Parasol“ im Palais Galliera. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Fabian Frinzel

Die Künstlerin Ayzit Bostan stellte im Rahmen von „Munich Unique“ des Goethe-Instituts ihre Installation „Parasol“ in Paris vor. Zu den Gästen gehörten der Deutsche Botschafter Hans-Dieter Lucas und der Bürger­meister des XVI. Arrondissements Francis Szpiner.

Von Franz Paul Helms

Es ist ein regnerischer Tag im Juli in Paris. Die Gäste drängen sich unter das Vordach des Palais Galliera, um der Einweihung von Ayzit Bostans Installation „Parasol“ beizuwohnen. „Eine Ausstellung im Sommer wäre wohl besser gewesen“, scherzt der Bürgermeister des XVI. Arrondissements von Paris, Francis Szpiner, in seiner Eröffnungsrede.
 
Für ihre Installation ließ sich Bostan von verlassenen Strandschirmen am Ende einer Sommersaison inspirieren und holte diese kurzerhand vom Meer in den urbanen Raum. Eingelassen in einen Betonsockel sind die Schirme nun im Garten des imposanten Palais Galliera zu sehen. Wolkengleich spenden die vier ecrufarbenen Stoffschirme Schatten und schaffen einen Ruhepol inmitten des Pariser Großstadtgeschehens. „Für mich persönlich ist das eine Sommersehnsucht, die in den öffentlichen Raum transferiert ist“, sagt Bostan über ihr Werk.
 
Dass Bostans Kunstwerk nicht hinter Plexiglasscheiben oder dicken Museumswänden, sondern frei zugänglich als Installation im Garten des Palais Galliera steht, hat besonderen Symbolcharakter. Denn „Parasol“ schafft einen Übergang zwischen Geborgenheit und einer kürzlich wiedereroberten Öffentlichkeit. So wird das Werk zu einem Rückzugsort, der an die Unbeschwertheit warmer Sommertage erinnert und die Menschen dazu einlädt, sich niederzulassen und zu verweilen. „Bostans Werk schafft einen Austausch, der gerade in der Corona-Zeit so kostbar geworden ist“, so der Deutsche Botschafter Hans-Dieter Lucas.

Ayzit Bostans Installation „Parasol“ im Palais Galliera. Ayzit Bostans Installation „Parasol“ im Palais Galliera. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Fabian Frinzel

An der Schnittstelle zwischen Design und Kunst

Eigentlich sollte die Installation schon vor zwei Jahren ihren Platz in Paris finden, doch durch die Pandemie musste die Eröffnung verschoben werden. „Wir sind sehr froh, dass wir jetzt endlich mit diesem großartigen Projekt starten konnten“, sagt Laura Sanchez Serrano vom Kulturreferat der Stadt München. „Das Projekt ‚Munich Unique‘ ermöglicht es, unsere Kulturszene einem internationalen Publikum zu präsentieren. Auf diese Weise können sich die Künstler*innen auch ein Netzwerk in Paris aufbauen.“ Dass so viele Besucher*innen dem Regen getrotzt haben, um der Eröffnung beizuwohnen, zeugt davon, dass dieser Versuch gelungen ist.
 
Dabei ist das Palais Galliera als Museum für Modegeschichte ein besonders passender Ort für Bostans Werk: „Wir haben uns natürlich besonders gefreut, die Arbeit einer Modedesignerin bei uns willkommen zu heißen“, bemerkt Miren Arzalluz, Leiterin des Palais Galliera. Denn als ausgebildete Damenschneiderin und Schnittdirectrice verorten sich Bostans Werke an der Schnittstelle zwischen Design und Kunst. Immer wieder intervenierte die Münchenerin auch im öffentlichen Raum: Zuletzt bespielte sie das Billboard des Kulturreferats am Lenbachplatz, 2012 präsentierte sie gemeinsam mit Gerhardt Kellermann die Installation „Replika“ im Hofgarten.
 
Auch wenn das Wetter heute noch nicht mitgespielt hat, „Parasol“ wird seinem Publikum noch einigen Schatten spenden können: Bis zum 29. August ist die Installation im Garten des Palais Galliera in Paris zu sehen. Danach kommt sie nach München.

Top