Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Interview to the exhibition “This Is Not Lebanon”
“The Lebanese people are lost”

Curator, performance and media artist Rabih Mroué.
Curator, performance and media artist Rabih Mroué. | Photo (detail): © Rabih Mroué

The festival “This Is Not Lebanon” will be presenting very different artistic perspectives on the situation in the hard-hit country from August 26 to September 12 in Frankfurt. One of the curators is the performance and media artist Rabih Mroué.

By Annette Walter

Mr. Mroué, could you please describe the current situation in Beirut right now? You live in Berlin since eight years, but you are in Beirut at the moment.

Rabih Mroué: Exactly. I still have an apartment in Beirut, my family und many connections. Over the years since 1990, we have been suffering from the government, who act like warlords. Since October 2019, we call it a revolution, an uprising against the corrupt situation. The economy collapsed. At present there is a very severe and harsh crisis. The Lebanese currency, the pound, has lost 200 per cent of its value. Someone who got for instance 3000 Pounds a month, is now getting an equivalent of 200 Pounds. Prices are going up.

What does that mean for the population?

Rabih Mroué: People are fighting for their daily needs. They have to find fuel for their cars. There is not always water and electricity, except from private generators.

How does the government react to this situation?

Rabih Mroué: The government is absent and does not exist. They transfer their money outside the country. The bank system is aligned with the corrupt government. All the money people own is confiscated by the banks, and the banks are protected by the government. We have no access to the money we own. The banks gives the people 100 or 200 Dollar a month which is exchanged into the Lebanese currency – they steal money.

What are the feelings of your family and friends?

Rabih Mroué: The Lebanese people are lost, waiting for what will come. Every day brings worse things. Hope is almost zero - however, there is hope. The city of Beirut is very sad.

The festival is called “This Is Not Lebanon”. What is the intention of the title?

Rabih Mroué: We want to convey an alternative perspective. There are simplifying reports about the situation in Lebanon. The situation is contrary to the reports we read in the Western media.

How do you want to change the perception of Lebanon in the Western media with the festival?

Rabih Mroué: When we have a festival, you can learn something about Lebanon. We bring people to talk about and represent the situation in Lebanon. However, the title says: Don’t expect us to bring people to represent the Lebanese. Those artists and writers who come to this festival, they only come to represent themselves as individuals. This is very important because it is very problematic to talk “in the tongue” of the Lebanese or to represent the Lebanese – it’s very dangerous. So it is like a very individual point of view.

Can you tell us more about the programme of the festival?

Rabih Mroué: Very different artists perform at the festival. For example, a world premiere by Lawrence Abu Hamdan, one of the currently most interesting artists in Lebanon, who creates audiovisual installations and performances, but also Marwa Arsanios, star of the last Berlin Biennale, with a feminist and performative video installation. The Ensemble Modern is developing a music program. There is also a concert of Bo Nasser Toufar, one of the distinguished rappers in Lebanon.

All of the artists will be able to share their thoughts, their ideas with other people, without simplifying the topic and not to teach, but to open a discussion. They try to change the clichés and norms spread by the media and to make it more complex to the audience. The situation in this region is not difficult to understand, but it needs an effort to understand it. We don’t want to simply divide it into good and evil, into this simple dichotomy. It is much more complex than this. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Interview zur Ausstellung „This Is Not Lebanon“
„Die Menschen im Libanon fühlen sich verloren“

Kurator, Performance- und Medienkünstler Rabih Mroué.
Kurator, Performance- und Medienkünstler Rabih Mroué. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Rabih Mroué

Das dreiwöchige Festival „This Is Not Lebanon“ präsentiert vom 26. August bis 12. September in Frankfurt am Main ganz unterschiedliche künstlerische Per­spek­tiven auf die Situation in dem schwer getroffenen Land. Einer der Kuratoren ist der Performance- und Medienkünstler Rabih Mroué.

Von Annette Walter

Herr Mroué, könnten Sie die aktuelle Situation in Beirut beschreiben? Sie leben seit acht Jahren in Berlin, aber im Moment sind Sie in Beirut.

Rabih Mroué: Genau. Ich habe noch eine Wohnung in Beirut, meine Familie und viele Verbindungen. Im Laufe der Jahre seit 1990 haben wir unter der Regierung gelitten, sie verhalten sich wie Kriegsherren. Seit Oktober 2019 sprechen wir von einer Revolution gegen die korrupte Situation. Die Wirtschaft begann zu kollabieren. Derzeit gibt es eine sehr schwere und harte Krise. Die libanesische Währung hat 200 Prozent ihres Wertes verloren. Jemand, der zum Beispiel 3000 Pfund im Monat bekommen hat, erhält jetzt äquivalent nur noch 200 Pfund. Und das, obwohl die Preise steigen.

Was bedeutet das für die Bevölkerung?

Rabih Mroué: Die Menschen kämpfen für ihre täglichen Bedürfnisse. Sie müssen Benzin für ihre Autos auftreiben. Es gibt nicht überall Wasser oder Strom, von privaten Genera­toren mal abgesehen.

Wie reagiert die Regierung auf diese Situation?

Rabih Mroué: Die Regierung ist abwesend und existiert nicht. Sie überweisen ihr Geld ins Ausland. Das Bankensystem ist ganz auf die korrupte Regierung ausgerichtet. Das gesamte Geld der Menschen wird von den Banken beschlagnahmt, die von der Regierung geschützt werden. Die Libanesen haben keinen Zugriff auf das Geld, das sie besitzen. Die Banken geben uns monatlich nur 100 oder 200 Dollar, die in die libanesische Währung getauscht werden – sie stehlen uns Geld.

Wie fühlen sich Ihre Familie und Freunde?

Rabih Mroué: Die Stadt Beirut ist sehr traurig. Das libanesische Volk ist verloren und wartet auf das, was kommt. Jeder Tag bringt Schlimmeres. Die Hoffnung geht gegen null – aber es gibt noch Hoffnung.

Der Titel des Festivals lautet „Das ist nicht der Libanon“. Was genau ist damit gemeint?

Rabih Mroué: Wir wollen eine alternative Perspektive vermitteln. Über die Lage im Libanon gibt es sehr häufig vereinfachende Berichte in den Medien. Die Situation stellt sich aber in Wirklichkeit anders dar als in den Berichten, die wir in den westlichen Medien lesen.

Inwiefern kann das Festival zu einer Änderung der Vorstellungen über den Libanon führen?

Rabih Mroué: Wir bringen Menschen dazu, über die Situation im Libanon zu sprechen und sie darzustellen. Der Titel bedeutet für mich: Erwarten Sie nicht, dass die Künstler*innen des Festivals alle Libanes*innen vertreten. Die Künstler*innen kommen nur, um sich als Individuen darzustellen. Dies ist sehr wichtig, da es sehr problematisch ist, für alle Libanesen zu sprechen oder den Libanesen an sich zu vertreten – es ist sehr gefährlich. Es ist also eine sehr individuelle Sichtweise.

Können Sie das Programm des Festivals genauer erläutern?

Rabih Mroué: Beim Festival treten ganz unterschiedliche Künstler*innen auf. Etwa eine Uraufführung von Lawrence Abu Hamdan, einem der derzeit interessantesten Künstler*innen des Libanons, der audiovisuelle Installationen und Performances erschafft, aber auch Marwa Arsanios, Star der letzten Berlin Biennale, mit einer feministischen und performativen Videoinstallation. Das Ensemble Modern entwickelt ein Musik­pro­gramm. Außerdem gibt es ein Konzert von Bo Nasser Toufar, einem der angesehensten Rapper im Libanon.

Alle Künstler*innen wollen ihre Gedanken, ihre Ideen mit anderen Menschen teilen, ohne das Thema zu vereinfachen oder wie Lehrer*innen zu unterrichten, sondern um  eine Diskussion zu eröffnen. Sie versuchen, die von den Medien verbreiteten Klischees und Normen zu verändern und für das Publikum komplexer zu machen. Die Situation in dieser Region ist nicht schwer zu verstehen, aber es bedarf der Anstrengung, sie nicht nur in Gut und Böse zu unterteilen, in diese unzulängliche Dichotomie. Die Realität ist viel kom­plexer.

Top