Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Opening of the “Studio Bosporus” festival
“A unique opportunity to engage in dialogue”

Media installation "Digital Twin" by the artists Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: view of the embassy grounds and the Bosporus from the west.
Media installation "Digital Twin" by the artists Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: view of the embassy grounds and the Bosporus from the west. | Illustration (detail): © Mona Mahall

The Tarabya Cultural Academy aims to use the “Studio Bosporus” festival to deepen German-Turkish dialogue. It was for this purpose that artists Mona Mahall and Asli Serbest developed the “Digital Twin” media installation.

By Annette Walter

What do you associate with the “Studio Bosporus” festival and the Tarabya Art Academy?
 
Asli Serbest: For us as artists, the Tarabya Art Academy is a unique opportunity and an invitation to engage in dialogue by gathering, living and working here together. Our collaborative projects range from art to architecture and investigate how practices, institutions, the past and the present materialise in the (built) environment. From this perspective, Tarabya, as an embassy site, is a very interesting place; traces of political relations and conflicts, eclectic architecture and garden art from colonial times intersect with the present-day representational and security requirements of an embassy site. This is what we worked on for “Studio Bosporus”. In concrete terms, it enabled us to exchange ideas in the “Digital Twin” with artists, activists and curators from Turkey.
 
The “Digital Twin” is an interactive, online model of the embassy residence in Tarabya developed by the two of you during the coronavirus pandemic, which is now being shown at the Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien exhibition space. Can you tell us more about it?
 
Mona Mahall: We’ve developed a digital twin, a 3D model, into which we’ve incorporated observations made on the ground. Visitors can enter the model with a digital avatar as in a computer game and move through the environment we’ve designed. Rather than being a photorealistic image of Tarabya, it’s a look-alike that reflects certain aspects and can even appear uncanny. Our aim is to ask questions of the embassy site on the Bosporus and its institutional conditions in relation to the present-day city. After all, very few people have access to the actual embassy site.
 
Asli Serbest: With the “Digital Twin” we also want to point out Tarabya’s potential as an open platform that interacts closely with the city. The pandemic has reinforced the existing separation, which is represented spatially by the surrounding wall, and fundamentally altered our accustomed relationship to the space and those who inhabit it. All of us had to move into the digital space, and we wanted to explore the scenarios that were possible there.
 
Mona Mahall: The digital space presents both opportunities and limitations. We perceive each other two-dimensionally through the screen and know many of our interlocutors only as digital twins. 

Media installation "Digital Twin" by the artists Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: view from the digital model of the embassy grounds in the direction of the Bosphorus. Media installation "Digital Twin" by the artists Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: view from the digital model of the embassy grounds in the direction of the Bosphorus. | Illustration (detail): © Mona Mahall
But you’ve developed more than just the digital model, haven’t you?
 
Mona Mahall: Exactly. We invited artists, activists and curators who live in Turkey rather than in Germany, as required by Tarabya Cultural Academy bursaries, to contribute to this model. It therefore represents an inversion or reflection of the real Tarabya and, above all, complements the exhibition at Kreuzberg/Bethanien with locations that come from the city of Istanbul.
 
Asli Serbest: Out of nine contributions so far, Onur Akgül and Fulya Erdemci, for example, have addressed the ecological destruction caused by incessant construction throughout the city, which threatens its very existence as well as its clean air and water. 
Architect and activist Merve Bedir, on the other hand, explores the German-Turkish colonial past in her project based on the Baghdad Railway. There are also projects by numerous other participants, such as Halil Altindere with architect Deyvi Papo, Banu Cennetoğlu, Kevser Güler / Duygu Doğan, Manaf Halbouni and Yasemin Özcan.
 
How do you, as artists, perceive the relationship between Germany and Turkey?
 
Asli Serbest: Our personal relationship as a German-Turkish duo is close; we both see ourselves as detached from identities based on national allegiance. Our critical feminist perspective has led us to be concerned and upset about current repressive political and social processes in both countries. By this I mean, for example, the Turkish withdrawal from the Istanbul Convention or the demand for a ban on prostitution by the Women’s Union. Since we currently live in Germany and teach at German universities, it’s very important for us to address our relationship to people with a migrant background in the context of academic institutions. We observe discrimination based on names, appearance and language. I don’t speak German as a mother tongue myself and often feel intimidated as a result. We want to change this situation.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Eröffnung des Festivals „Studio Bosporus“
„Eine einzigartige Möglichkeit der Auseinandersetzung“

Medieninstallation „Digital Twin“ / ttaarraabbyyaa (2020, fortlaufend) des Künstlerinnen-Duos Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: Ansicht auf das Botschaftsgelände und den Bosporus von Westen.
Medieninstallation „Digital Twin“ der Künstlerinnen Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: Ansicht auf das Botschaftsgelände und den Bosporus von Westen. | Illustration (Ausschnitt): © Mona Mahall

Die Kulturakademie Tarabya will mit dem Festival „Studio Bosporus“ den deutsch-türkischen Dialog vertiefen. Das Künstlerinnen-Duo Mona Mahall und Asli Serbest hat dafür die Medieninstallation „Digital Twin“ entwickelt.

Von Annette Walter

Was verbinden Sie mit dem Festival „Studio Bosporus“ und der Kunstakademie Tarabya?
 
Asli Serbest: Für uns als Künstlerinnen ist die Kunstakademie Tarabya eine einzigartige Möglichkeit und Aufforderung der Auseinandersetzung, indem wir an diesem Ort zusammenkommen, leben und arbeiten. Unsere kollektiven Projekte bewegen sich zwischen Kunst und Architektur und untersuchen, wie sich Praktiken, Institutionen, Geschichte und Gegenwart in der (gebauten) Umwelt materialisieren. Als Botschaftsgelände ist Tarabya unter dieser Perspektive ein sehr interessanter Ort; an ihm überlagern sich Spuren politischer Beziehungen und Konflikte, eklektizistische Architektur und Gartenkunst aus kolonialer Zeit mit den heutigen Repräsentations- und Sicherheitsanforderungen an ein Botschaftsgelände. Darüber haben wir für „Studio Bosporus“ gearbeitet. Es hat uns konkret ermöglicht, den Austausch mit Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Kurator*innen aus der Türkei im „Digital Twin“ zu realisieren.
 
Der „Digital Twin“ ist ein von Ihnen beiden während der Corona-Pandemie entwickeltes interaktives, online zugängliches Modell der Botschaftsresidenz in Tarabya, das nun im Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien gezeigt wird. Was genau hat es damit auf sich?
 
Mona Mahall: Wir haben einen digitalen Zwilling, ein 3D-Modell entwickelt, in das wir Beobachtungen vor Ort einfließen lassen. Die Besucher*innen können mit einem digitalen Avatar hineingehen wie in einem Computerspiel und sich so durch die Umgebung bewegen, die wir gebaut haben. Es ist kein fotorealistisches Abbild von Tarabya, sondern ein Doppelgänger, der widerspiegelt und sogar unheimlich erscheinen kann. Wir möchten das Botschaftsgelände am Bosporus und die institutionellen Bedingungen im Verhältnis zur aktuellen Stadt befragen. Zum Botschaftsgelände haben ja nur wenige Menschen Zugang.
 
Asli Serbest: Mit dem „Digital Twin“ möchten wir auch auf Tarabyas Potential als eine offene Plattform verweisen, die eng mit der Stadt interagiert. Die Pandemie hat die bestehende Distanz, die räumlich besonders durch die umlaufende Mauer zum Ausdruck kommt, nochmals verstärkt und unser gewohntes Verhältnis zum Raum und denen, die sich darin bewegen, insgesamt verändert. Wir mussten alle in den digitalen Raum ausweichen und wollten untersuchen, welche Szenarien dort möglich sind.
 
Mona Mahall: Der digitale Raum bringt Möglichkeiten, aber auch Limitationen mit sich. Wir nehmen uns zweidimensional durch den Bildschirm wahr und kennen viele nur noch als digitalen Zwilling. 

Medieninstallation „Digital Twin“ der Künstlerinnen Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: Sicht aus dem digitalen Modell des Botschaftsgeländes in Richtung Bosporus. Medieninstallation „Digital Twin“ der Künstlerinnen Asli Serbest / Mona Mahall: Sicht aus dem digitalen Modell des Botschaftsgeländes in Richtung Bosporus. | Illustration (Ausschnitt): © Mona Mahall
Sie haben aber noch mehr als nur das digitale Modell entwickelt, richtig?
 
Mona Mahall: Genau. Wir haben Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Kurator*innen, die in der Türkei leben und eben nicht in Deutschland, wie für Kulturakademie Tarabya-Stipendien vorausgesetzt, zu Beiträgen für dieses Modell eingeladen. Es stellt also eine Umkehrung oder Spiegelung des realen Tarabyas dar und ergänzt die Ausstellung im Bethanien vor allem mit Positionen, die aus der Stadt Istanbul kommen.
 
Asli Serbest: Von bisher neun Beiträgen behandeln etwa Onur Akgül und Fulya Erdemci 
die ökologische Zerstörung, die durch die unaufhörliche Bautätigkeit in der ganzen Stadt verursacht wird und die Existenz der Stadt, ihre saubere Luft und ihr Wasser gefährdet. Die Architektin und Aktivistin Merve Bedir untersucht wiederum in ihrem Projekt die koloniale deutsch-türkische Vergangenheit anhand der Bagdadbahn. Daneben gibt es Projekte von zahlreichen weiteren Beteiligten: Halil Altindere mit dem Architekten Deyvi Papo, Banu Cennetoğlu, Kevser Güler / Duygu Doğan, Manaf Halbouni und Yasemin Özcan.
 
Wie nehmen Sie als Kreativschaffende das Verhältnis zwischen Deutschland und der Türkei wahr?
 
Asli Serbest: Unser persönliches Verhältnis als deutsch-türkisches Duo ist eng, wir sehen uns beide in Distanz zu nationalstaatlich begründeten Identitäten. Aus unserer kritischen feministischen Perspektive heraus sind wir besorgt und wütend angesichts gegenwärtiger repressiver politischer und sozialer Prozesse in beiden Ländern. Damit meine ich etwa den türkischen Austritt aus der Istanbul-Konvention oder auch die Forderung nach einem Verbot der Prostitution durch die Frauen-Union. Weil wir momentan in Deutschland leben und an deutschen Hochschulen lehren, ist es für uns sehr wichtig, im Kontext akademischer Institutionen unser Verhältnis zu Personen mit Migrationshintergrund zu thematisieren. Wir beobachten Diskriminierungen aufgrund von Namen, Erscheinung und Sprache. Ich spreche selbst Deutsch nicht als Muttersprache und fühle mich dadurch oft eingeschüchtert. Dieses Verhältnis wollen wir ändern.

Top