President and Executive committee

The President is head of the Board of Trustees, which is reponsible for supervising the business conducted by the Goethe-Institut as well as making decisions in matters of fundamental importance. The Board is elected for a term of four years.

The Board of Directors manages the Goethe-Institut's business affairs and represents the association externally together with the President. It is made up of the General Secretary (Chairman of the Board of Directors) and the Commercial Director. The term of office is five years for each board member.

Prof. Dr. Carola Lentz Photo: Goethe-Institut / Loredana La Rocca

Prof. Dr. Carola Lentz

Johannes Ebert Photo: Martin Ebert

Secretary General
Johannes Ebert

Rainer Pollack Photo: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Business Director
Rainer Pollack