Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Operation Shamrock

Publication of “The Children from Operation Shamrock” by Monica Brandis

The Goethe-Institut Irland is delighted to support the publication of “The Children from Operation Shamrock – Historical Context, Testimonies and Fictionalized Memory Fragments” by Monica Brandis. The book has been published in November 2020 as part of the series ‘Irish-German Studies’ (Volume 14) with the Centre for Irish-German Studies, University of Limerick by Wissenschaftsverlag Trier.

The Children from Operation Shamrock (C) Wissenschaftsverlag Trier Operation Shamrock was part of a wider humanitarian project set up by the Red Cross for children from war-torn Europe. It placed more than 400 German children in the care of Irish families in the aftermath of the Second World War. The children were aged between four and ten years old and many of them came from the Rhein-Ruhr area of Germany, a British occupied zone and area with a high Catholic population. The first group of participants arrived in Ireland on 27 July 1946 and for most of them, the roughly three-year stay, dotted in rural homes and cities throughout the country was a positive, in some cases even life-saving experience. Some children, however, suffered strongly from the separation from their families or were mistreated by their foster parents. Although some of the children had lost their parents during the war, many returned in 1949 to German families who were still dealing with the socio-economic impacts of the war. In such cases where the German family was unable to care for the returning child or the child wished to stay with their foster family, exceptions were made and around fifty children remained in Ireland permanently.
 
Based on the author’s exhibition The Children from Operation Shamrock, which has travelled extensively across Germany and Ireland since 2015, this book consists of interviews with eighteen participants as well as an historical analysis of the origins, circumstances and participants of Operation Shamrock. In addition, short stories based on real incidents yet creatively transformed add an emotional dimension to the participants’ early childhood experiences of separation and loss but also affection and healing. In-depth research, interviews and short stories combined facilitate a deeper understanding of an important part of Irish-German relations and the European war and postwar experience.
 
Whilst the scheduled book launch in November 2020 has had to be postponed due to current Covid measures, a series of events by the Goethe-Institut Irland to celebrate the launch of the book have been planned for 2021 to mark the 75th anniversary of the arrival of the first Operation Shamrock children in Ireland. Further details will be published on our website in due course. In the meantime, the book is available via Wissenschaftsverlag Trier and bookshops across Germany (ISBN 978-3-86821-876-3, 18 images, 166 pp, €25,00).

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Operation Shamrock

Publikation von “The Children from Operation Shamrock” von Monica Brandis

Das Goethe-Institut ist erfreut, die Publikation von Monica Brandis‘ „The Children from Operation Shamrock – Historical Context, Testimonies and Fictionalized Memory Fragments” zu unterstützen. Das Buch wurde im November 2020 vom Wissenschaftsverlag Trier als Teil der Reihe ‚Irish-German Studies‘ (Band 14) gemeinsam mit dem Zentrum für Deutsch-Irische Studien der University of Limerick veröffentlicht.

The Children from Operation Shamrock (C) Wissenschaftsverlag Trier ‚Operation Shamrock‘ war Teil eines größeren humanitären Projektes vom Roten Kreuz für Kinder aus dem kriegsgeprägten Europa. Mehr als 400 deutsche Kinder wurden nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg in die Pflege irischer Familien gegeben. Diese Kinder waren zwischen vier und zehn Jahre alt; viele von ihnen aus dem Ruhrgebiet, das britisch besetzt war und einen hohen katholischen Bevölkerungsanteil hatte. Die ersten Teilnehmer trafen am 27. Juli 1946  in Irland ein und wurden sowohl in ländlichen Gebieten als auch in Städten untergebracht. Für die meisten von ihnen war der ca. dreijährige Aufenthalt eine positive, in manchen Fällen sogar lebensrettende Erfahrung. Einige Kinder litten jedoch stark unter der Trennung von ihren Familien oder sie wurden von den Pflegeeltern misshandelt. Obwohl einige der Kinder im Krieg ihre Eltern verloren hatten, kehrten viele im Jahr 1949 zu ihren deutschen Familien zurück, die immer noch mit den sozio-ökonomischen Folgen des Krieges zu kämpfen hatten. Bei Fällen, in denen die deutschen Familien sich nicht um die Kinder kümmern konnten oder die Kinder bei der Pflegefamilie bleiben wollte, griff eine Ausnahmeregelung, wodurch ungefähr 50 Kinder dauerhaft in Irland verblieben.
 
Basierend auf Brandis’ Ausstellung „Kinder der ‚Operation Shamrock‘“, welche seit 2015 weitläufig durch Deutschland und Irland gereist ist, besteht dieses Buch aus Interviews mit 18 Teilnehmern, sowie einer historischen Analyse der Ursprünge, Umstände und Teilnehmer von ‚Operation Shamrock‘. Zusätzlich enthalten sind Kurzgeschichten, die auf realen Ereignissen basieren und doch kreativ gestaltet sind. Sie geben den frühen Kindheitserinnerungen von Trennung, Verlust, Zuneigung und Heilung eine emotionale Dimension. Die Kombination aus gründlicher Recherche, Interviews und Kurzgeschichten ermöglichen ein tiefgehendes Verständnis für einen wichtigen Teil der deutsch-irischen Beziehungen, sowie für europäische Kriegs- und Nachkriegserfahrungen.
 
Da die geplante Buchpremiere im November 2020 aufgrund aktueller Covid-Maßnahmen verschoben werden musste, ist am Goethe-Institut Irland, anlässlich des 75. Jahrestages der ersten Ankunft von Operation-Shamrock-Kindern in Irland, für 2021 eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen geplant, um die Buchpremiere zu feiern. Weitere Informationen werden auf unsere Webseite zu gegebener Zeit veröffentlicht. In der Zwischenzeit ist das Buch beim Wissenschaftsverlag Trier und in Buchhandlungen in Deutschland verfügbar (ISBN 978-3-86821-876-3, 18 Bilder, 166 S., € 25,-).

Top