Network of Secondary and Third Level German Education in Ireland

CO-OPERATION BETWEEN SECONDARY AND THIRD LEVEL

The consequences of Britain leaving the EU exposes Ireland to a wide range of political and economic challenges. Irish business has to diversify and seek new markets and is therefore increasingly looking to European markets, especially Germany.

Promo Video

The Department of Education and Skills (DES) is also committed to meeting these challenges by ensuring that Irish students are prepared for a future in Europe where foreign language skills will play an increasingly important role. Starting in 2017, the Goethe-Institute began by encouraging collaboration between secondary and third level institutions in order to promote and support new developments in this area. This was welcomed by German lecturers and teachers, as well as the DES.
 
Starting with the academic year 2019/2020, we continued to support cooperation between institutions by encouraging more regional networking and other activities or projects which promoted German in secondary and higher education. 

In autumn 2019, we supported several workshops which were designed for pupils of secondary schools and students of third level education. The aim was to enable pupils to come into the universities to familiarize them with the university environment and to break down and reduce potential fears and fears. These workshops also allowed pupils to learn about German language and culture as taught in higher education and to increase their interest and motivation in learning a modern language. 

One example from Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LyIT) was the invitation for local secondary school pupils to attend a series of activities in the institute to meet and interact with Erasmus students from Germany. Together with the programme Bridge21 based in Trinity College, we supported the provision of some modules for inner-city schools, including German language. 

Another example of an activity at the Institute of Technology in Sligo was the participation of the Goethe-Institut in a German Week, where we assisted with workshops on environmental issues. 
The Goethe-Institut also supported the development of online materials at Technical University Dublin. These were originally designed for students in Higher Education and are now being adapted for use in secondary schools. All online materials are available through anyone4german.com.

An end of year networking event at the residency of the German Ambassador allowed teachers, lecturers and decision-makers from various educational institutions to re-connect with people and institutions they had worked with in the past as well as creating new links and making plans for future collaboration.

  • Residenz Robert Gericke
  • Residenz2 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz3 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz4 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz5 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz6 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz7 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz8 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz9 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz10 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz11 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz12 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz13 © Robert Gericke
  • Resudenz14 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz15 © Robert Gericke

Vernetzung vom Sekundär - und Tertiärbereich für Deutsch in Irland

VERNETZUNG VON SEKUNDÄR UND TERTIÄRBEREICH

Durch die politischen und ökonomischen Veränderungen in Irland, die sich aus den Folgen des Brexit-Verhandlungen ergeben werden, stehen in Irland nicht nur Unternehmen vor der Herausforderung neue Märkte zu erschließen und sich deswegen vermehrt in Richtung der europäischen Länder, insbesondere auch Deutschland zu orientieren.

Promo Video

Auch im Bildungsbereich ist das Department of Education and Skills (DES) daran interessiert, diesen Veränderungen zu begegnen und Schüler*innen und Studierende auf eine Zukunft vorzubereiten, in der auch Fremdsprachenkenntnisse eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielen. Deswegen wurde bereits 2017 die Vernetzung des Sekundarbereichs mit dem Tertiärbereich angestoßen und stieß sowohl auf Seiten der Deutschlehrenden, als auch auf Seiten des Erziehungsministeriums auf großes Interesse.

Um diese Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit weiterzuführen, haben wir zum Start des akademischen Jahres 2019/2020 dazu beigetragen, die aufgebauten Strukturen und angestoßenen Projekte auch in den ländlichen Regionen Irlands zu unterstützen.

Im Herbst 2019 unterstützten wir mehrere Workshops, die für Schüler*innen und Studierende entwickelt wurden. Das Ziel dieser Workshops war es, Schüler*innen an Universitäten einzuladen und sie auf diese Weise mit der universitären Umgebung vertraut zu machen und potentielle Ängste und Befürchtungen aufzubrechen und abzubauen. Diese Workshops erlaubten den Schüler*innen auch einen ersten Einblick in Unterrichtsmethoden und sollten das Interesse und die Motivation eine moderne Fremdsprach zu erlernen steigern.

Am Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LyIT) nahmen beispielsweise Schüler*innen aus lokalen Schulen an mehreren Aktivitäten teil, bei denen sie Erasmusstudierende aus Deutschland treffen und sich mit ihnen zu unterschiedlichen Themen aus Deutschland austauschen konnten.

Weitere Workshops, die speziell für innerstädtische Schulen konzipiert waren, fanden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bridge21, einem Programm am Trinity College Dublin, statt.

Zusätzlich konnten mehrere Aktionen finanziell gefördert werden: Institute of Technology Sligo beispielsweise fanden im Rahmen der German Week mehrere Workshops zu Umweltthemen statt, die vom Goethe-Institut Irland unterstützt werden konnten. Zusätzlich unterstützen wir die Erstellung und Anpassung von digitalen Materialien für den deutschen Sprachunterricht an der Technischen Universität Dublin. Ursprünglich wurden diese Materialien für den Gebrauch an Hochschulen erstellt und nun für die Verwendung an Sekundarschulen angepasst und sind unter anyone4German.com zugänglich.

Bei einem Netzwerktreffen in der Residenz der Deutschen Botschafterin konnten sich Vertreter*innen und Entscheidungsträger*innen aus den verschiedenen Bildungsbereichen schließlich zum Projektabschluss über Entwicklungen austauschen, alte Kontakte wieder aufgreifen und in angenehmer Atmosphäre Pläne für neue Kooperationen schmieden.

  • Residenz © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz2 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz3 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz4 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz5 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz6 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz7 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz8 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz9 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz10 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz11 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz12 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz13 © Robert Gericke
  • Resudenz14 © Robert Gericke
  • Residenz15 © Robert Gericke