Voices of Memory
A Riverside Sound Art Installation

  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Location of the sound art installation in the Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Location of the sound art installation in the Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Location of the sound art installation in the Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Location of the sound art installation in the Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Klangbrücke Standort GoogleMaps Data 2016
    The sound installation Distant Voices is located in the Irish National War Memorial Park at the southern banks of the Liffey. Distance to Heuston Station: 2km; accessibility by car from Con Colbert Road and South Circular Road. Busses number 25, 51D and 67, stop Con Colbert Road, next to the park. Karte: GoogleMaps Data 2016
  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens

Audio wird geladen
Voices of Memory by Christina Kubisch began as an idea in 2014 when the Goethe-Institut Irland, impressed by the idea that Dublin City Council was commissioning sound art as a Public Art Commission, invited Christina Kubisch on an exploratory visit to Dublin to see if she would be interested in making an artwork at Islandbridge. The impact of seeing Ireland’s Memorial Records 1914-1918, illustrated by the Irish artist Harry Clarke, and the setting by the River Liffey was the beginning of a journey which led to the sound artwork Voices of Memory. The commission developed into a profound remembrance of the Irish killed in the First World War. It was inaugurated on 29 June 2016 on the occasion of the centenary of the Battle of the Somme and officially ended in November 2018 to coincide with the centenary of the end of the First World War. In June 2018, a new iteration of the original sound installation was launched in the form of a double CD under the same title, Voices of Memory.

During 2015 and 2016, just over 42,000 names were recorded by volunteers. These recordings became the basic material for Voices of Memory. The volunteer readers were composed of different ages, sex, nationalities, and occupations. The sound installation was based on the flow of these male and female voices playing over the banks of the river. The names can be heard in alphabetical order, and every name, even when repeated, corresponds to a different person. The artist did not intervene much in the recordings other than to vary the density, rhythm and flow of names in this four-channel installation. Along with small breaks of silence, the composition includes sounds of underwater recordings made in the Liffey; the rhythm of the passing rowing boats, the hidden natural world of small insects and animals, and the flow of water itself.

A publication, Voices of Memory was produced by Dublin City Council and the Goethe-Institut Irland in 2019. It is concerned with the realisation of the project and an insight into Irish history from the perspective of Christina Kubish, academics, artists and those who volunteered to read. It is available to download below.
 

Royal Ulster Rifles at the Somme Source: commens.wikimedia.org

Historical Background

Retired professor of Modern History at Trinity College Dublin David Fitzpatrick portrays Ireland during World War One, focusing on 1916. He writes about the greatest military deployment in Irish history, and refers to the battles at Gallipoli and the Somme.

The Art Project

Besides artist Christina Kubisch many other people also played an important role for the realisation of the sound art project. Almost 200 volunteers came to the recording sessions and lent their voices to the piece by reading out more than 40,000 of the Irish soldiers’ names.

Sound Art in Public Spaces

The renowned sound artist Sven Anderson discusses Christina Kubisch’s “Voices of Memory” and the role of sound art in public spaces in Dublin. He refers to his encounters with Kubisch’s work as well as with other sound artists, thus, drawing on his years of experience.

Postcard sent to Michael Nugent Source: Marie McLoughlin

Behind the Voices

Behind each of the ten thousands of names, which are read in the sound installation, are personal fates of the soldiers, who died in WW I. Here, these stories, which have sometimes been forgotten, are to be unveiled with the help of their relatives.

In Cooperation with

This commission would not have come about without the partnership, support and enthusiasm of many people and organisations. The endorsement of the commission by the Trustees of the Irish National War Memorial Gardens and the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht were significant and the involvement of the OPW invaluable.
 
Artistic concept: Christina Kubisch
Sound engineering and technical director: Eckehard Güther
Voice recordings: Fergus Kelly
Technical advisor: Manfred Fox
Project management: Ruairí Ó Cuív, DCC Public Art Officer, Curator
Dr. Thomas Lier, Director, Goethe-Institut Irland
Mechtild Manus, Goethe-Institut Irland
Barbara Ebert, Goethe-Institut Irland
Dr. Julie Deering-Kraft, Goethe-Institut Irland
Project assistance: Olivia Laumenech, Dublin City Council
Kate McBride, Dublin City Council
Heidrun Rottke, Goethe-Institut Irland
Franziska Hülshoff, Project Coordination and Project Website
Anna Labudde, Project Development Support
Clara Sölch, Project Development Support

Voices of Memory: Kooperationspartner Voices of Memory: Kooperationspartner

Voices of Memory
A Riverside Sound Art Installation

  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Ort der Klangkunst Installation in den Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Ort der Klangkunst Installation in den Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Ort der Klangkunst Installation in den Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Ort der Klangkunst Installation in den Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens
  • Klangbrücke Standort GoogleMaps Data 2016
    Die Klanginstallation Voices of Memory befindet sich im Irish National War Memorial Park, am Südufer der Liffey. Entfernung von Heuston Station: 2km, Zugang per Auto über Con Colbert Road und South Circular Road. Busse vom Zentrum: Nr. 25, 51D und 67, Haltestelle Con Colbert Road, direkt am Park. Karte: GoogleMaps Data 2016
  • Irish National War Memorial Gardens Goethe-Institut / Eugene Langan
    Irish National War Memorial Gardens

 

Audio wird geladen
Die Idee zu Voices of Memory von Christina Kubisch entstand im Jahr 2014, als das Goethe-Institut Irland vorschlug, Christina Kubisch zu einem Arbeitsaufenthalt nach Dublin einzuladen. Diese Einladung basierte auf einer Reihe von Klangkunstarbeiten im Öffentlichen Raum, die das das Dublin City Council in Auftrag gegeben hatte, und der Überlegung, eine Klangkunstinstallation in den Irish National War Memorial Gardens zu entwickeln. Die Ireland’s Memorial Records 1914–1918, illustriert vom irischen Künstler Harry Clarke, sowie die Lage des Parks am Fluss beeindruckten die Künstlerin zutiefst, was den Beginn der Reise markierte, die zum Klangkunstwerk Voices of Memory führte. Diese Auftragsarbeit hat sich zu einer tiefgründigen Erinnerung an die Iren, die im Ersten Weltkrieg umgekommen sind, entwickelt. Es wurde am 29. Juni 2016 anlässlich des hundertsten Jahrestages der Schlacht an der Somme eingeweiht und endete offiziell im November 2018 zum hundertsten Jahrestag des Endes des Ersten Weltkrieges. Im Juni 2018 wurde eine neue Wiederholung der ursprünglichen Klanginstallation in Form einer CD unter dem gleichen Titel Voices of Memory veröffentlicht.

In den Jahren 2015 und 2016 wurden knapp über 42.000 Namen von Freiwilligen aufgezeichnet. Diese Aufnahmen wurden das Grundmaterial für das Projekt. Die freiwilligen Leser*innen bestanden aus verschiedenen Alterngruppen, Geschlechtern, Nationalitäten und Berufen. Die Klanginstallation basierte auf dem Klangfluss dieser männlichen und weiblichen Stimmen, die am Ufer der Liffey erklingen. Die Namen können in alphabetischer Reihenfolge hören. Es gibt viele Personen mit identischem Namen, die aber alle einzeln gelesen werden. Die Künstlerin veränderte die Aufnahmen nicht wesentlich, sie variierte nur die Dichte, den Rhythmus und den Namensfluss in dieser Vierkanal-Installation. Kurze stille Momente werden durch Unterwasseraufnahmen von der Liffey unterbrochen, wie zum Beispiel dem Rhythmus der vorbei fahrenden Ruderboote, den Tönen der verborgenen Welt der dort lebenden Insekten und Tiere, und natürlich dem Flusslauf selber.

Voices of Memory wurde im Jahr 2019 zur Veröffentlichung von Dublin City Council und Goethe-Institut Irland freigegeben. Es befasst sich mit der Durchführung des Projekts und einem Einblick in die irische Geschichte aus der Sicht der Christina Kubish, Akademiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Freiwillige*innen. Nachfolgend ist die Veröffentlichung zum Download bereitgestellt.
 

Royal Ulster Rifles an der Somme Quelle: commens.wikimedia.org

Historischer Hintergrund

David Fitzpatrick, emeritierter Professor für Neuere Geschichte am Trinity College Dublin, portraitiert Irland im Ersten Weltkrieg mit Fokus auf 1916. Er spricht über den größten militärischen Einsatz in der irischen Geschichte und bezieht sich auf die Schlachten auf Gallipoli und an der Somme. 

Das Kunstprojekt

Neben der Künstlerin Christina Kubisch spielten auch andere Akteure eine entscheidende Rolle für die Umsetzung des Klangkunstprojekts. Knapp 200 Freiwillige kamen zu den Aufnahmeterminen und gaben der Installation ihre Stimmen, indem sie über 40,000 Namen irischen Soldaten lasen.

Klangkunst im öffentlichen Raum

Der renommierte Klangkünstler Sven Anderson diskutiert Christina Kubischs „Voices of Memory“ und die Rolle der Klangkunst im öffentlichen Raum Dublins. Er bezieht sich auf seine Begegnungen mit Kubischs Werk und dem anderer Klangkünstler und greift damit auf seine jahrelange Erfahrung in der Klangkunstszene zurück.

Postkarte an Michael Nugent Quelle: Marie McLoughlin

Hinter den Stimmen

Hinter den zehntausenden Namen, die in der Klangkunstinstallation gelesen werden, stehen persönliche Schicksale der Soldaten, die im Ersten Weltkrieg gefallen sind. Ihre Geschichten, die manchmal in Vergessenheit geraten sind, sollen hier mit Hilfe ihrer Verwandten aufgedeckt werden.

Kooperationspartner

Die Installation hätte niemals realisiert werden können ohne die Partnerschaft mit und Unterstützung und Begeisterung vieler Beteiligter und Organisationen. Die Aufgeschlossenheit der Trustees of the Irish National War Memorial Gardens und des Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht gegenüber einer solchen Installation sowie die Mitwirkung des OPW waren unschätzbar für die Realisierung des Unternehmens.

künstlerisches Konzept: Christina Kubisch
Tontechnik und technischer Leiter: Eckehard Güther
Sprachaufzeichnungen: Fergus Kelly
technischer Berater: Manfred Fox
Projektleitung: Ruairí Ó Cuív, DCC Public Art Officer, Kurator
Dr. Thomas Lier, Goethe-Institut Irland
Mechtild Manus, Goethe-Institut Irland
Barbara Ebert, Goethe-Institut Irland
Dr. Julie Deering-Kraft, Goethe-Institut Irland
Projektunterstützung: Olivia Laumenech, Dublin City Council
Kate McBride, Dublin City Council
Heidrun Rottke, Goethe-Institut Irland
Franziska Hülshoff, Projektkoordination und Webseite
Anna Labudde, Projektunterstützung
Clara Sölch, Projektunterstützung
 

Voices of Memory: Kooperationspartner Voices of Memory: Kooperationspartner